Library Databases
- WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new windowDatabase of sources for news and legal information.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of more than 2,000 journals and the Congressional Record.
WESTLAW and citing secondary sources
To export a citation in WESTLAW to a citation style manual such as REFWorks,, APA Central, EndNote, etc., please use the following steps. I select "Secondary sources" under the View option. I open the Search within the results, I type in my topic enclosing the terms in quotations " juvenile." I read an article, I check the box next to the number of the article. At the top of the page we see the term Set Default, I select the icon with the arrow pointing down, the term Deliver Menu" appears, select Download, under Format select PDF. Select Download, now your article has pages.
Using Google Scholar for Law Cases
- Google Scholar“Google Scholar allows you to search and read published opinions of US state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950, US federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923 and US Supreme Court cases since 1791. In addition, it includes citations for cases cited by indexed opinions or journal articles which allows you to find influential cases (usually older or international) which are not yet online or publicly available.”
When you are on the Google Scholar homepage select the CASE LAW button. You are then given choices of what type of type of court you wish to search, Federal Court, New Jersey Court and the last select courts. If you have the court citation you can type that into the search box or the names involved in the case.
You can add RefWorks to any Google Scholar search by selecting the 3 lines command, then select Settings, then select Bibliography Manager, show links to import citations into---then select RefWorks.
Landmark Supreme Court Cases
Contemporary Supreme Court Cases: Landmark Decisions since Roe V. Wade by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781440837135Publication Date: 2016-02-22With its blend of accessible writing and actual excerpts from Court opinions, this book serves to explain the legal and cultural underpinnings of landmark U.S. Supreme Court decisions of the past 35 years--and to illuminate how these decisions have shaped the trajectory and character of modern American society.
OYEZ
- OyezOyez (pronounced oh-yay), a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Chicago-Kent College of Law and Justia.com, is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is a complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full text Supreme Court opinions. Oyez also provides detailed information on every justice throughout the Court’s history and offers a panoramic tour of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of several justices.