It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Comprehensive reference collection (dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies etc.) for all academic disciplines.
Credo Reference provides a complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotation books, bilingual dictionaries, measurement conversions, and more.
Websites and Search Engines
These free sites are recommended starting points for learning about scientific topics.
BHL is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL).
The Biota of North America Program has produced an online version of its Synthesis of the North American Flora, including local plant distributions, a polyclave or computer key to the families, and a plant image database. The online version allows users to create plant lists of North American Plants, create an online plant set for a location, an online plant list for attribute keying, and research distributions, attributes, and images. The website works best in Mozilla Firefox, is free to use, and contains hundreds of fully populated data fields and millions of vouchered plant references for American counties.
Access to articles in nearly 10,000 open access journals.
The Directory of Open Access Journals now contain nearly 10,000 journals and well over 155,000 articles. Over 5,600 journals are searchable at the journal or article level. Only journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access are included in DOAJ.
These sites are a good source of information about science news and issues.