Finding Books on Radio, Television, and Film
In-depth and introductory material may be found in online and print books on a variety of topics. Books take much longer to write (and read) and are designed for in-depth explanations of entire fields and larger issues. Use Library Search or the box below to find print and electronic books in Rowan's collection.
Subject headings are descriptions of the content of library materials using precise language. You can click on them in a relevant catalog record or search for them in advanced searches. Note that for film, the term that is usually used is "motion picture," although certain genres use the term "film," like "comedy films."
Following is a list of examples of Subject Headings that might be useful for finding materials on theatre and related topics in Library Search, EZBorrow, and Worldcat:
|
Campbell Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to organize its books, using call numbers to place items on a physical shelf.
You can find books on radio, television, and film under these call numbers on the fourth floor of Campbell Library:
PN 1990 - PN 1992.92 -- Broadcasting
PN 1991 - PN 1991.9 -- Radio broadcasts
PN 1992 - PN 1992.92 -- Television broadcasts
PN 1992.93 - PN 19 92.95 -- Nonbroadcast video recordings
PN 1993 -- motion pictures in general, by country
PN 1994 -- film theory
PN 1995 -- specific themes, topics or genres
PN 1996 -- screenwriting
PN 1997 -- screenplays
PN 1998 -- biographies of and works about directors, producers,etc.
PN 2061 - PN 2071 -- Art of acting
TK 5101 - TK 6720 -- Telecommunication Including telegraphy, telephone, radio, radar, television
TR 1 - TR 1050 -- Photography
TR 250 - TR 265 -- Cameras
TR 590 - TR 620 -- Lighting
TR 845 - TR 899 -- Cinematography. Motion pictures
TR 925 - TR 1050 -- Photomechanical processes
You can find books on related topics under these call numbers in the Performing Arts Collection on the second floor of Campbell Library:
PN 1560 - PN 1590 -- The performing arts. Show business
PN 1600 - PN 3307 -- Drama
PN 1635 - PN 1650 -- Relation to, and treatment of, special subjects
PN 1660 - PN 1693 -- Technique of dramatic composition (includes playwriting)
Reference Sources for Radio, Television, and Film
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory by
The Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theoryclearly and accessibly explains the major theoretical approaches now deployed in the study of the moving image, as well as defining key theoretical terms. This dictionary provides readers with the conceptual apparatus to understand the often daunting language and terminology of screen studies. Entries include: *audience * Homi K. Bhabha * black cinema * the body * children and media * commodification * cop shows * deep focus * Umberto Eco * the gaze * Donna Haraway * bell hooks * infotainment * master narrative * medical dramas * morpheme * myth * panopticon * pastiche * pleasure * real time * social realism * sponsorship * sport on television * subliminal * third cinema * virtual reality Consultant Editors: David Black, USA, William Urricchio, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands, Gill Branston, Cardiff University, UK ,Elayne Rapping, USA
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9780203992005Publication Date: 2005-12-08
Key Concepts in Cinema by
This is an A to Z of key critical film terms, which succeeds in making film texts and analysis accessible to the student.
Call Number: PN1993.45 .H36 1996ISBN: 0415107199Publication Date: 1996-07-19
The New Biographical Dictionary of Film by
David Thomson's New Biographical Dictionary of Film topped Sight & Sound magazine's 2010 poll of international critics and writers as the best film book of all time. Now in its fifth edition, updated, and with more than 130 new entries--from Judd Apatow to Lena Horne--the classic, beloved film book is better than ever. For thirty-five years, David Thomson's Biographical Dictionary of Film has been "fiendishly seductive" (Greil Marcus, Rolling Stone), "the finest reference book ever written about movies" (Graham Fuller, Interview), and "not only an indispensable book about cinema, but one of the most absurdly ambitious literary achievements of our time" (Geoff Dyer, The Guardian). For this edition, Thomson has brought up to date and in some case recast the biographies, and has added new ones (Clive Owen, Scarlett Johansson, Jake Gyllenhaal, and Marion Cotillard, for example). The book now includes almost 1,500 entries, some of them just a pungent paragraph, some of them several thousand words long, every one a gem. Here is a great, rare book that encompasses the chaos of art, entertainment, money, vulgarity, and nonsense that we call the movies. Personal, opinionated, funny, daring, provocative, and passionate, it is the one book that every filmmaker and film buff must own, from the man David Hare called "the most stimulating and thoughtful film critic now writing."
Call Number: PN1998.2 .T49 2010ISBN: 9780307271747Publication Date: 2010-10-26
The Oxford Guide to Film Studies by
This text is a critical volume on the theories, debates, and approaches to the study of film. International experts provide an overview of the main disciplinary approaches to film studies, an explanation of the main concepts and methods involved in film analysis, a survey of the main issues and debates in the study of film, and critical discussion of key areas.
Call Number: PN1995 .O93 1998ISBN: 0198711158Publication Date: 1998-03-19
Radio: A Reference Guide by
The purpose of this work is to provide scholars and students of popular culture with an evaluative survey of research materials about radio. . . . An interesting introduction provides an overview of radio's history in the U.S. The bibliographic essays throughout the work will hold the attention of readers and cover topics such as networks and station histories, radio drama, news, music, comedy and variety, and sports. All users will discover important sources of information and will appreciate the well-written bibliographic essays. Booklist Following a brief historical overview on radio and its role in American life, chapters offer informative and, within the confines of the format, lively and enjoyable bibliographic essays on individual facets of radio as an entertainment and information medium. . . . Highly recommended. Choice Intended to be an evaluative survey of bibliographical material on the history and development of radio and radio programming in America, this guide identifies and discusses more than 500 written sources relating to radio music, drama, comedy and variety, news, sports and more. An introductory chapter thoroughly analyzes the historical development of the medium--from its inception during the pioneer era, to the network era (radio's Golden Age), to the decline of radio in the 1950s, and finally to the radio renaissance--based largely, on narrowcasting--that began in the 1960s and continues to the present. Greenfield also examines the formation of the FCC, focuses on radio's losing battle with television--the main reason for its decline beginning in 1949--and provides a cogent analysis of the creative thinking underlying not only the concept of today's narrowcasting, but of the current ascendency of the local station as well. Also addresses are the Press/Radio war of the 1930s, the rise of radio drama, and the enormous influence of rock and roll music on the evolution of radio programming after World War II. A chapter is devoted to networks and station histories and another to issues such as women in radio, advertising, religious broadcasting, and armed forces radio. A list of selected archival collections, radio organizations and associations, and an index complete the volume. Primarily designed for students, scholars, and researchers in the fields of broadcasting and popular culture, this reference deserves a place in university libraries but also has a wealth of information of interest to radio and television professionals. And, because its resources include popular and fan materials as well as standard academic and professional publications, Radio: A Reference Guide provides an insightful overview for any informed generalist with an interest in this important facet of American popular culture.
Call Number: PN1991.3.U6G74 1989ISBN: 9780313222764Publication Date: 1989-07-17- The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory by The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theoryis an international reference work representing the essential ideas and concepts at the centre of film theory from the beginning of the twentieth century, to the beginning of the twenty-first. When first encountering film theory, students are often confronted with a dense, interlocking set of texts full of arcane terminology, inexact formulations, sliding definitions, and abstract generalities. The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theorychallenges these first impressions by aiming to make film theory accessible and open to new readers. Edward Branigan and Warren Buckland have commissioned over 50 scholars from around the globe to address the difficult formulations and propositions in each theory by reducing these difficult formulations to straightforward propositions. The result is a highly accessible volume that clearly defines, and analyzes step by step, many of the fundamental concepts in film theory, ranging from familiar concepts such as 'Apparatus', 'Gaze', 'Genre', and 'Identification', to less well-known and understood, but equally important concepts, such as Alain Badiou's 'Inaesthetics', Gilles Deleuze's 'Time-Image', and Jean-Luc Nancy's 'Evidence'. The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory is an ideal reference book for undergraduates of film studies, as well as graduate students new to the discipline.Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 0203129229Publication Date: 2013-12-04
Finding Books and Media in Other Libraries
Rowan University Library Services can locate and obtain books/media not in our own collection. Items from other libraries can be obtained in a matter of a few days in most cases.
- WorldCatAllows you to search the holdings of over 10,000 libraries throughout the world.
- EZBorrow loginFind and request books that Rowan University Libraries doesn't have from other libraries in New Jersey and nearby states. Books are delivered to Campbell Library in 2 - 4 days.
- ILLiadObtain journal articles, dissertations, video materials, or other items that are NOT books. Use E-ZBorrow for books. If the book you require is not available from any of the participating libraries in E-ZBorrow, you may then request it through ILLiad