Research Guides: Radio, Television, Film: Find Video

Library DVDs

There are many DVDs at Campbell Library in both the general DVD section on the first floor, and in the DVD section of the Performing Arts Collection. Make sure to check Library Search to see which location it is in. You can browse feature film DVDs under the call number PN.

Streaming Film

Feature-length films can be found in several library subscription services. Note that Kanopy films are purchased on a title-by-title basis and are primarily used for teaching and research purposes.

Academic Video Online (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs, newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage with curricular relevance on a wide range of subject areas.
Offers thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, award-winning educational films, independent films, and helpful instructional videos.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video for educational institutions.

Free Online Video

American Archive of Public Broadcasting; a collaboration of the Library of Congress and WGBH
More than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs are now available for streaming and more content will be added periodically. In addition, the website provides data records for approximately 2.5 million items inventoried by public broadcasting stations for this project.
BBC Archive
Offers themed collections (art, literature, performing arts, and more) of radio and TV programmes, documents and photographs from as far back as the 1930s.
Film and Video from the Library of Congress
Includes The National Screening Room, Origins of American Animation, Selections from the National Film Registry, and Variety Stage Sound Recordings and Motion Pictures
Internet Archive: TV News
A subset of the Internet Archive launched in September 2012, this research library service enables users to search, quote and borrow U.S. TV news programs. Available at no charge, the public can use the index of searchable text and short streamed clips (since 2009) to explore TV news.
The Interviews: An Oral History of Television
Over 900 oral history interviews (approximately 4,000 hours) with the legends of television. The Interviews continues to produce new interviews every year, and covers a variety of professions, genres, and topics in electronic media history and American culture.
Moving Image Archive
Collection of videos from the Internet Archive, including films in the public domain
Paley Archive Database
The Paley Center's permanent media collection contains over 160,000 television and radio programs and advertisements. The online database offers synopses, along with production credits for the programs.
WGBH Open Vault
WGBH Media Library and Archives (MLA) provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. Open Vault contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.