Skip to main content

Physics and Astronomy: Home

A guide to library resources for research in Physics and Astronomy.

Home

Introduction

This guide for physics and astronomy students will show you how to find scholarly content (papers, books, etc.) using library resources.

Quick Start

If you are looking for physics journal articles, a good place to start is our online subscription to the American Physical Society Journals collection.

Using this guide

Go to the Find Articles page to learn how to find journal articles in physics. 

Go to the Find Journals page to learn how to find specific physics journals.

Go to the Find Books/Reference page to learn how to find physics books.

Go to the Find Web Sources page to explore suggested websites for physics and astronomy.

Visit the Tools page to learn about interlibrary loan services and bibliography management software.

For resources on writing up your paper, visit the Writing Help page.

 

 

 

Find Articles

Tip: Getting articles

The library does not subscribe to every journal published. If you don't see a Full Text link below the article citation, look for a button labeled "Get it!" This application will check for access to the full text of the article within the library's subscriptions.

If a message is displayed indicating that we don't have access, choose the Campbell Library Interlibrary Loan Request link to order the article through our Illiad online system.

History of Science literature

Looking for scholarly literature in History of Science? Campbell Library has a good print collection of books in this field, plus many e-books available through several of our e-book vendors. 

Article Databases

Use these subscription databases to locate published research in physics.

For even more options, visit the library's A-Z Databases: Physics list.

Find Journals

Finding a journal by title

If you are looking for a specific journal in your field and want to determine if the library subscribes to it, use our E-Journal Finder. 

Enter the name of the journal in the search box. If the library has a subscription, the results list will show which library databases offer access to the journal and for what years. 

Tip: Citation Linker

If you have a complete citation (author, article title, journal, volume, issue, date), you can use our Citation Linker form to link directly to the article.

Browse physics journals with BrowZine

Print and archival magazines in physics

Campbell Library offers current issues of Science, American Scientist, Scientific American, and Sky & Telescope in the 2nd floor Current Periodicals reading room.

Archival issues are available in microfilm/fiche (2nd floor) or Bound Periodicals (first floor).

To browse the library's print and archival subscriptions, enter the journal name in the Journal Title search in the Library Catalog.

Physics e-journal suggestions

Here are links to some of the most well-known journals with physics content.

Find Books/Reference

Finding books using ProfSearch

The easiest way to find a book that the library owns: search by title in ProfSearch. If your book is not the first result, refine your search to Books/E-Books in the Content Type facet in the left sidebar. Please note that the library does not have copies of most textbooks. 

Many books are now available in e-book format and can be viewed on your computer, tablet, or phone. 

For print books, ProfSearch will first indicate their availability, usually followed by a Call Number which identifies the book's shelf location. If the availability is followed by a date (yyyy-mm-dd), it is checked out and is due to be returned on that date. 

To locate print books on the shelf, first identify the floor and row using the initial alphabetical code, then the specific book using the rest of the call number (for example, TK5678 .G99 2008 is in the Electrical Engineering section on the 4th floor).  

Physics Books that can be checked out

Physics books available for borrowing by students and faculty are shelved on the 4th floor of Campbell Library by Library of Congress class. Astronomy is section QB and Physics is section QC.

To find books on a particular topic, search by Subject (for example: Biophysics, Cosmology, Meteorology, Photonics) in the Library Catalog. The catalog may also be searched by title or author.

Many e-books are now available through the catalog as well, which can be viewed on your computer.

Reference Books

Science reference books are located in the Q section in the 2nd floor Reference Room of Campbell Library. Here are some recommendations:

E-Reference Sources

These subscription sources are available through the library website.

Find Web Sources

Have you tried Google Scholar?

Informational Websites

Open Access Publishing Sites

These sites are search portals to freely available scientific research and technical reports.

Tools

RefWorks

RefWorks is an application licensed by Rowan University Libraries to help you manage your literature search process. Create an account to log in.

 

E-ZBorrow

Books which Rowan University does not own can be borrowed from one of the participating academic libraries in New Jersey and Pennsylvania using E-ZBorrow. Use your 9-digit Banner number for Patron Id.

Interlibrary Loan

Journal articles to which we do not have full text access may be requested through our online Interlibrary Loan request system, Illiad. Articles are usually sent to your email address within a few days.

Writing Help

Library resources on technical writing

In addition to the books listed below, you can find many more books by searching in the Library Catalog using the Subject (Keyword) search "technical writing" or "technical communication".

The Writing Center

The Rowan University Writing Center is located on the first floor of Campbell Library.

To make an appointment with a writing tutor, use the link below; call: 856-256-4376; or E-mail: writingcenter@rowan.edu.

Walk-in appointments are also available but check their hours first.

Writing Help

Here are some books available in the library to help you with writing.