Skip to main content

Journalism & Writing Arts: TV News

This guide, a complement to the Composition I & II research guide, provides resources for journalism and writing arts students from Campbell Library.

ABC.go.com

The web portal for access to ABC programming and special web features.

BBC Motion Gallery

The website welcomes viewers by saying, "We offer easy access to the BBC's legendary footage collection, as well as some of the most-respected footage archives in the world. From the freshest HD content to feature-quality productions to historic film rarities, it's all here. Dive in."

blinkx

Over 35 million hours of video from a variety of sources are searchable by using keywords on the world's largest video search engine.

CBS.com

The entry to the CBS website for information on the network's programming and special web features.

China Central Television (CCTV)

This is the English language website for China Central Television, the broadcasting network of the government of The Peoples' Republic of China. This is the face the Chinese government wants to portray to the world about itself and about international news of the day.  Video clips are available by clicking the appropriate buttons on screen.

CNN.com

Video from CNN news available on the internet.

Everyzing.com

This searchable website provides audio and video segments on topics searched--and topics can range from news to politics to sports to finance and many other categories.  The relevancy of returns seems to be based on whether and where the search term appears in the description of the audio and/or video, so the returns may not seem to appear in any logical order.  However, it is still a useful tool for locating video clips for research and presentations.

Fox.com

The site for information about Fox network programming.

Joost

Joost says it "is a new way of watching TV on the internet. With Joost, you get all the things you love about TV, including a high-quality full-screen picture, hundreds of full-length shows and easy channel-flipping."  While not a scholarly site, it is an example of media convergence that blends traditional television with an internet delivery system.

KartOO

KartOO says it "is a metasearch engine with visual display interfaces. When you click on OK, KartOO launches the query to a set of search engines, gathers the results, compiles them and represents them in a series of interactive maps through a proprietary algorithm."  While the results may not be scholarly, they can serve as leads to additional research from scholarly sources.

NBC.com

The internet presence of NBC Universal, with an easy link to MSNBC, the company's online news service.

OV: Open Video Project

Shared digital video of many different topics is available, including some video related to communication topics.  Of particular interest to information science researchers is the University of Maryland site on human-computer interaction.

PBS: Public Broadcasting Service

The PBS home page provides the latest news regarding recent and upcoming broadcasts on America's public television network.

Photobucket

Check out this site for stock photos on virtually any subject.

Vanderbilt University TV News Archive

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news and has been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968.

YouTube

The open source video site that has taken the world by storm!  Video on almost anything imaginable can be found in this user created website, but because it is user created, beware of its credibility, especially as a source for supporting an argument in an academic environment.  While some sources supply credible information, cross check it for accuracy to be sure.