Skip to main content

Management & Entrepreneurship Research

Resources for the study of all aspects of management and entrepreneurship, including books, databases of journal and newspaper articles, and recommended websites.

Home - Business Databases

Start Here - Business Databases

Library databases are collections of articles, reports, or information that are not easily available for free via a Google search. These licensed resources are purchased by the library and university for use by our students, faculty, and staff -- therefore you are required to login with your Rowan credentials. Click the links below to start your research on companies, industries, consumers, and more!

Bloomberg terminals in Bunce Hall

Additional databases, such as Bloomberg (terminals in Trading Room in Business Hall) or Capital IQ and Wharton Research Data Service/WRDS (online access by specially assigned username/password only) are available to Rohrer College of Business students for certain courses. Contact your professor for more information on these. POM for Excel, SAP, Stata, and other software applications can be accessed on the Rowan cloud (to access, download the Rowan Citrix client and login with your Rowan credentials). Faculty, check with your colleagues for passwords to these and the instructor notes for the Sage Business Cases database.

Mgt & Entrep Journals

Journal articles usually report on the results of experiments, studies, or projects, and often include advice on best practices and "what works" in various areas of business. Articles and reports of business information are usually found in library databases.

To select a library database, go to the Best Databases for Accounting and Finance link, or the All Business Databases at Rowan link.

For a quick search of your topic in some of the databases at once, try your topic in Library Search (sometimes called "Primo"). Although it says that you are searching library resources in Rowan Library, you are mostly searching the business databases with traditional newspaper and journal articles here, such as ABI/Inform or ProQuest Central, and some ebooks such as those from Springer.  Remember that this search does not search most business databases with 'non-article' type content like the reports in IBIS World or the data in Passport or PrivCo. For those, you'll need to go to the business database links above and choose the particular database for the type of information you need.

You can also use the Library Search for Specific Journal Titles in order to find articles from a specific periodical (journal, newspaper, magazine), by typing its title or ISSN #. Sometimes it is helpful in this Journal Title box to include the title of the item in quotes (such as "Financial Times"). As you can see below, we have MANY business publications for you to search... here are some examples:

Tips for Class Assignments

Not all marketing research questions can be answered by Google!  On the pages of this guide you will find suggested databases to search, as well as specific books and journals that will be important to your research. This research guide has multiple sections, so please explore the whole site for more information.  

Remember to always start your search from the Campbell Library home page.

Company Research is found in library databases like Mergent OnlinePrivCo, ReferenceUSA, and PassportGMID. (These are all 'best databases' and linked in the box above.)

For nonprofits, try http://foundationcenter.org/find-funding/990-finder (to look for their tax filings). Also, try the ReferenceUSA Company Search Tutorial (esp. for finding local companies).

SWOT analyses can be found in multiple places:

  • In Business Source Elite, to find SWOT analyses of particular companies, choose 'Company Profiles' from top blue menu before searching, then choose a company from the list. Each company's MarketLine PDF contains a SWOT section.
  • In ABI/Inform, to find SWOT analyses, use the ABI/Inform SWOT tutorial. ABI/Inform also has a tutorial on G20 country statistics in spreadsheets.
  • In Mergent Online, also look at the 'Government Filings' tab to find companies' annual 10-K reports to the SEC, in which they will also explain some of their business risks. (Under the 'reports' tab in Mergent Online, you will find same info as on SEC website above.

(These are all 'best databases' and linked in the box above.)

NAICS codes can be found here http://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/

Try the new Census Business Builder: Regional Edition for demographics of our local area. Choose the 'businesses' tab or the 'consumer spending' tab to see total numbers of local employers in a particular industry along with their payroll and employee counts, or total consumer expenditures on transportation, travel, housing and more, all for our local area.  A similar resource is the ReferenceUSA database, which can create heat maps of various demographics and company locations.

Some useful market share data is in the Market Share Reporter 2019 (and previous years) in the database called Gale Directory Library. Use drop-down menu to scroll down to Market Share Reporter, check box, then enter your industry/topic in the box and search (e.g., the term 'fitness' will provide reports on Top Fitness Equipment Makers, Largest Gym Companies Worldwide, Gym Industry Revenue, etc.).

Market research data is found in a database called Simmons OneView and in some free data resources in the menu to the left.

Business Plans examples for every industry are in the Business Plans Handbook series for models of completed business plans -- type your business idea to search 'within series' in box on top right (e.g., the terms 'gym' or 'fitness' will give examples of market size, funding amounts, etc. for that type of business).  You can also get here via the database called Gale Virtual Reference Library. Use the search boxes to type both your topic/industry as 'keyword' and "Business Plans Handbook" as Publication Title.

The popular NOLO Business Start-up books are in the Small Business Reference Center database.

And don't forget to prepare your business model/business plan (fall) and elevator pitch (spring) for each year's competitions at Rowan!

Need to cite a business database for your bibliography? Use the tips located here http://libguides.bentley.edu/citingsources-apa (choose database name from the menu on left to get the APA-style citation example for each business database).

Find Business Newspapers

Most Common Newspapers

The websites of major newspapers often do not have the same contents as the printed or subscribed versions of those newspapers. Websites often include user-generated content like comments, blogs, etc. in addition to real articles from journalists. BOTH of these types of articles will often appear in the library's holdings. Use the Library Search/Journal Search to query a specific periodical (journal, newspaper, magazine) by its title or ISSN #. Sometimes it is helpful to include the title of the journal in quotes (such as "Financial Times"). Then be sure to choose the right version from the list.

Need more help effectively using the Library Search ("big box") on the Campbell Library front page? Read some tips here.

Library Databases to Find Even More Newspapers

In addition, some library databases serve as aggregators for newswire articles and newspaper articles from around the country or around the world. As an alternate way to search, choose a newspaper database first, then see if that database has the particular newspaper title and/or dates that you need. Below are some library databases that have business news articles, both current and historical:

As always, request other newspaper articles that Rowan does not own by using the forms on the Interlibrary Loan page.

Tutorials for Business Databases

Checking the Authority of Sources

Test Prep / Study Guides

Learning about Entrepreneurship

Books for the New Entrepreneurs

Teaching Entrepreneurship

Entrepreneurial Mindset

We are pleased to provide you with a curated repository of resources available to Rowan faculty who seek to help their students develop an entrepreneurial mindset. The resources below are all freely available online and/or licensed through Rowan University Libraries (log in with your usual credentials if needed). The Rowan Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship, in partnership with the Faculty Center, also run an annual certificate program for faculty who wish to take a deeper dive into how to integrate entrepreneurial mindset into their courses. For more information on this program please contact RCIE@rowan.edu

Resources for Faculty