Research Guides: Health & Wellness: Find Articles

Recommended Article Databases

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature indexes and abstracts articles, books, and dissertations from a wide breadth of biomedical disciplines, but specializes in nursing and allied health. Disciplines covered include nursing, nutrition, physical, occupational, and respiratory therapy, consumer health, dental hygiene and speech therapy.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
A source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature, providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
NatMed This link opens in a new window
Offers a suite of online resources to provide high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
Database coverage is 1970 to current.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window

Search Engines

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar allows you to search across a wide range of academic literature from journal publishers, university repositories, and other websites that it has identified as scholarly.
To set Rowan University as your default institution when using Google Scholar directly from the internet, go to https://scholar.google.com/scholar_setprefs?instq=Rowan%20University

URL: https://scholar.google.com/?inst=12320807419666651891
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to the biomedical literature.
Comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 50 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
Google Advanced Search
This advanced search page permits the use of fields to create more sophisticated search strategies. Search results can be limited to certain website domains like .gov or .edu sites and exact phrases can be entered.