Political science is a social science discipline that deals with systems of government and the analysis of political activity and political behavior. It deals extensively with the theory and practice of politics which is commonly thought of as the determining of the distribution of power and resources.
Access the combined titles from Internet Archive and Open Library, more than a million free titles. Also set up an account and sign in with your NJ Library card for borrowing privileges to 200,000 modern titles.
Library of Congress Classification
LC Classes for:
J = Political Science
J General legislative and executive papers
JA Political science (General)
JC Political theory
JF Political institutions and public administration
JJ Political institutions and public administration (North America)
JK Political institutions and public administration (United States)
JL Political institutions and public administration (Canada, Latin America, etc.)
JN Political institutions and public administration (Europe)
JQ Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.)
JS Local government. Municipal government
JV Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. International migration
JX International law, see JZ and KZ (obsolete)
JZ International relation
K = LAW
K Law in general. Comparative and uniform law. Jurisprudence
KB Religious law in general. Comparative religious law. Jurisprudence
KBM Jewish law
KBP Islamic law
KBR History of canon law
KBU Law of the Roman Catholic Church. The Holy See, United Kingdom and Ireland KD-KDK
KDZ America. North America
KF United States
KG Latin America - Mexico and Central America - West Indies. Caribbean area
KH South America
KL-KWX Asia and Eurasia, Africa, Pacific Area, and Antarctica
Review articles (literature reviews) in the sciences and social sciences.
A searchable collection of comprehensive and critical literature reviews covering a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines, including the Life, Biomedical, and the Social and Physical Sciences. Full text available from 1991 to present (Mobile Device Compatible)
Search across multiple GALE databases of primary sources.
Artemis is a new discovery platform from Gale Cengage Learning. Currently two primary source databases are included for search but other databases, including both primary and secondary materials, will be added in the near future with the goal of creating a single seamless search tool. For now, the two primary source databases are Eighteenth Century Collections Online and Nineteenth Century Collections Online, and you can choose one or the other, or leave the default at both, before searching.
Digital collection of historic documents in law, history, and diplomacy.
The Avalon Project, a resource of the Yale Law School, provides full text of documents, online, that are important to law, history and diplomacy online. Over the years the collection has grown extensively and has been organized into various topical areas. About forty documents related to Terrorism are included under this title.
Articles in Canadian trade and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and newswires on business and current affairs.
The most comprehensive Canadian reference collection available today covering Canadian business and current affairs topics. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, CBCA Complete features a highly-respected, diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines. Can also be searched as part of ProQuest Central.
Collection of documents on international affairs from wide variety of sources.
Resources on international affairs covering more than 180 research institutes, publishers, government agencies, e-books and journals worldwide. Also includes working papers, policy briefs, and case studies. Includes maps, data and stats compiled by the Economist Intelligence Unit, the world’s foremost provider of country, industry and management analysis for about 201 countries.
Official website for information about federal legislation.
Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information. It replaces the nearly 20-year-old THOMAS.gov site with a system that includes platform mobility, comprehensive information retrieval and user-friendly presentation. It currently includes all data sets available on THOMAS.gov except nominations, treaties and communications. These data sets will be added throughout 2014. Until that time they are still accessible through THOMAS.gov via the link below. THOMAS.gov will be permanently retired by the end of 2014. (~text from the Congress.gov website)
Collection of reference works on American government, current affairs, politics and public policy.
CQ Press Library - the place to search or browse resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Individual resources available in the Library include the following: CQ Almanac; CQ Researcher Plus Archives; CQ Weekly; Political Handbook of the World; Politics in America; and the Supreme Court Yearbook.
Collection of scholarly e-books in many academic disciplines.
Multidisciplinary collection of scholarly ebooks. It offers a strong collection of academic titles from leading scholarly publishers. Users can copy, cut, paste, print and download content. Highlighting, note taking and linking are available features. Ebook Central s is a subscribe collection. It is not a permanent acquisition of e-books, and is subject to change.
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier research collection of open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management. Documents are collected from federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies.
Online access to the New Jersey Administrative Code and the New Jersey Register.
In accordance with the contract between the State and LexisNexis, the New Jersey Register (back to the July 3, 1995 issue) and the New Jersey Administrative Code can also be accessed on-line, on a subscription or transactional fee basis, at www.lexis.com. In addition, LexisNexis provides free on-line public access to the New Jersey Administrative Code and the New Jersey Register at http://www.lexisnexis.com/njoal.
Articles, papers and reports on international public affairs topics.
PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914 with several similar databases which over the years have been merged to create the current version. The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.
PolicyMap is a US-National web-based Geographic Information System used to understand communities.
With easy-to-use menus, PolicyMap is a “GIS tool for non-GIS experts” for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level. It is used in the social sciences, urban studies and regional planning, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration and policy, public health, political science, education, environmental studies, business and finance, economics, statistics and geography, among other areas. Included in the tool is access to PolicyMap’s extensive data collection, with 15,000+ indicators used to understand communities, organized into general categories including demographics, income and spending, housing, lending activity, quality of life, economy, education, health, federal guidelines, and other analysis. In addition, students and faculty can easily upload and incorporate their data into and leverage it against the thousands of indicators already available in PolicyMap.
Political profiles of countries and intergovernmental organizations worldwide.
From CQ Press, Political Handbook of the World is organized for browsing or searching country and intergovernmental organization profiles. Updates of major political events since the last edition are included in notes. Users can quickly access content from the Handbook by navigating a virtual table of contents, performing a keyword search, or browsing for country profiles by Regime type, party system, electoral system, government system, or region.
Journal, magazine and news articles in all academic fields, in 27 subject databases.
ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world.
Collection of journal, magazine and news articles in diverse subject areas.
Provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text - from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers, covering the top 150 core academic subject reference areas.
Scholarly articles in a variety of social science journals.
A definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. It covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring journals from over 50 countries, facilitating multidisciplinary research and providing researchers with a variety of perspectives. The database includes over 1000 titles, with the majority available in full text.
Online access to the CQ Press Supreme Court Yearbook.
The Supreme Court Yearbook provides in-depth coverage and analysis of every decision from the nation's highest court since the 1989-1990 term. The full context of the Yearbooks is searchable. A CQ Press publication
The main web portal for U.S. government information.
This is the main portal for U.S. Government information and provides straight-forward access to many online federal government resources. Includes links to state and local government sites. "FAQ's" have been integrated into the search returns. Also, when searching for a Senator or Representative, there will be a special spotlight feature at the top of the search results that includes contact information, voting records, and other helpful links about the Senator or Representative.
Database of sources for news and legal information.
Campus Research is an easy-to-use online research service that provides college and university students with access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources. Includes the New Jersey Administrative Code
Digital collection of historical documents from the Middle Ages to the 20th century.
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
Provide well research, non partisan information to help you make more informed choices when you vote and participate in the electoral process.
Terms, Contact, & Guide Info
This Library Research Guide is posted to provide a starting point for those beginning study and research in the field of Political Science.
Research Guides are provided for educational and research purposes. Guides are hosted on the Springshare LibGuidesportal, to which Rowan University Libraries subscribes.
Rowan University makes no claim to freely available websites nor does it accept responsibility for the information, views, or opinions expressed by those who have authored or compiled the content of this Library guide, or by those who are quoted on the sites. The inclusion of links to any of the websites on this or any other Library Research Guide should not be considered an endorsement of any product or service offered on the linked sites or by the website service providers.