Research Guides: Political Science: Articles & Databases

Articles & Databases

Below are library resources that provide access to scholarly articles and other resources that are often unavailable on the open web.

Databases: See the political science-focused databases listed in this page, or search the Database Finder.
Journals:
- Journal Finder: Find journals by title, ISSN, or keyword.
- BrowZine: Search for or browse select scholarly online journals to which the Libraries subscribe.
Citation Linker: Use to find and access a specific journal article, journal or book.

If the Libraries do not have access to the article, please submit an interlibrary loan request by clicking the "Go to ILLiad" link on the Interlibrary Loan page.

Finding Articles through Library Databases

The library databases listed on this page provide access to find scholarly articles, as well as other types of information. If you don't see a Full Text link below the article citation, look for a button labeled "Get it!" This application will check for access to the full text of the article within the library's subscriptions.

If you see a message that we don't have access, choose the Campbell Library Interlibrary Loan Request link to order the article from another library. Often we can get an electronic copy of the article quickly.

Subject-Focused Databases

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Journal and news articles in applied social sciences.
Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Chatham House Online Archive This link opens in a new window
Expert analysis and commentary on international policy (covering 1920-1979).
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Collection of documents on international affairs from wide variety of sources.
Resources on international affairs covering more than 180 research institutes, publishers, government agencies, e-books and journals worldwide. Also includes working papers, policy briefs, and case studies. Includes maps, data and stats compiled by the Economist Intelligence Unit, the world’s foremost provider of country, industry and management analysis for about 201 countries.
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of reference works on American government, current affairs, politics and public policy.
Contains resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Individual resources available in the Library include the following: CQ Almanac; CQ Researcher Plus Archives; CQ Weekly; Political Handbook of the World; Politics in America; and the Supreme Court Yearbook.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in the field of criminal justice.
Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
Criminal Justice Database (1981 - current) This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine and news articles in criminal justice.
Comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals. The database provides research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in economics.
Index to articles published in the economics field from 1969 to the present. Links to full text available for articles in journals to which Rowan University subscribes.
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Covers political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Articles, papers and reports on international public affairs topics.
Contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. domestic and foreign public policy research topics.
Timely information from public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a US-National web-based Geographic Information System used to understand communities.
A “GIS tool for non-GIS experts” for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level. It is used in the social sciences, urban studies and regional planning, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration and policy, public health, political science, education, environmental studies, business and finance, economics, statistics and geography, among other areas. Includes an extensive data collection, with indicators used to understand communities, organized into general categories including demographics, income and spending, housing, lending activity, quality of life, economy, education, health, federal guidelines, and other analysis. In addition, students and faculty can easily upload and incorporate their data into and leverage it against the thousands of indicators already available in PolicyMap.
Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new window
Authoritative source for finding complete facts and analysis on each country’s governmental and political makeup.
Provides timely, thorough, and accurate political information coverage of current political controversies.
Political Science Database (1985 - current) This link opens in a new window
Resources on political science.
Access to leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Research tool focusing on methodology.
Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975-current) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of current research in political science.
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Coverage from 1975 – current. Click the Get-It button to link to full text, when available.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Library Search
Rowan University Libraries' main search tool. Includes all of the Libraries' physical collections and most of its digital resources. Library Search Guide: https://libguides.rowan.edu/librarysearch

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journal articles and other authoritative sources, including an extensive collection of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal, magazine, and news articles in all academic disciplines.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Review articles (literature reviews) in the sciences and social sciences.
A searchable collection of comprehensive and critical literature reviews covering a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines, including the Life, Biomedical, and the Social and Physical Sciences. Full text available from 1991 to present (Mobile Device Compatible)
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
News, magazine and journal articles on the impact of gender.
Full text database of periodical articles and other publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Index to articles published 1907 – 1984 in the humanities and social sciences.
This database contains citations only, no full text.
Military Database This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine and news articles on defense and military topics.
Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering and more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text database of current scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
JSTOR can also be searched simultaneously using the advanced search feature on the Project Muse page.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine and news articles in all academic fields.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of journal, magazine and news articles in diverse subject areas.
Access to a wide range of popular academic subjects in the form of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in a variety of social science journals.
Covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring journals from several countries, facilitating multidisciplinary research and providing researchers with a variety of perspectives.
Social Science Premium Collection (1914 - current) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest’s specialist index and full-text social sciences databases, covering subject areas including politics, sociology, education, linguistics, and criminal justice.

U.S. Government & Law

Congress.gov
The comprehensive search tool for all things congressional.

Congress and the Nation This link opens in a new window
Online collection of reference works about the U.S. Congress.
An invaluable resource for research and study of the U.S. Congress, with coverage from 1945 to 2008.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents for U.S. national security topics.
Contains a comprehensive collection of primary documents including declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.
Supreme Court Yearbook Online This link opens in a new window
Online access to the CQ Press Supreme Court Yearbook.
The Supreme Court Yearbook provides in-depth coverage and analysis of every decision from the nation's highest court since the 1989-1990 term.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a broad range of previously classified U.S. federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Includes sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies.
Covers major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond.

USA.gov
Links to many more government agencies which produce reports and statistics.
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
Over eight million photos and graphic images, plus five million images in Presidential Libraries, and nine million aerial photos. (GPO) There is also an online search box for searching the online catalog and other National Archives resources simultaneously.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,000 journals and the Congressional Record.
Complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR from inception.

New Jersey Administrative Code
Online access to the New Jersey Administrative Code and the New Jersey Register.
ProQuest Congressional
The most comprehensive online resource for congressional publications and legislative research, dating back to the 1800s.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.(Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Database of sources for news and legal information.
Access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources. Includes the New Jersey Administrative Code.

History & Primary Source Databases

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of historical documents from the Middle Ages to the 20th century.
Collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.

Avalon Project
The Avalon Project, a resource of the Yale Law School, provides full text of documents, online, that are important to law, history and diplomacy online. Over the years the collection has grown extensively and has been organized into various topical areas. About forty documents related to Terrorism are included under this title.

Primary Sources (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple GALE databases of primary sources.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search tool for scholarly literature in world history outside North America.
Abstracts and some full text of journal articles, citations to books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding North America) from 1450 to the present.
Historic Documents This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents from 1972 forward in U.S. government and politics.
Historical Newspapers (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper digital archive of many significant U.S. and some international newspapers dating back to the 18th Century.

News & Media

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
News, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage begins in 1990.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives stretching back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
Provides information from some of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content including several U.S. and international newspapers.
Also includes millions of articles from newspapers and newswires and offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Historical Newspapers (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper digital archive of many significant U.S. and some international newspapers dating back to the 18th Century.
Sixty Minutes:1997 - 2014 This link opens in a new window
Streaming video database of the CBS news program 60 MINUTES.
Program segments cover history, business, law, politics, and more.
U.S. Newsstream (1980-current) This link opens in a new window
Articles from newspapers and news content sites worldwide.
Provides access to full text of newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Backfiles for most newspapers are included, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and additional features. Includes New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles.
Wall Street Journal (Online) This link opens in a new window
Online e-news content from the Wall Street Journal and Dow Jones.
Coverage 2010-current; the same coverage is available in the comprehensive business database ABI. Older issues can be accessed through the full image database Wall Street Journal Historical.
Wall Street Journal (Online) This link opens in a new window
Online e-news content from the Wall Street Journal and Dow Jones.
Coverage 2010-current; the same coverage is available in the comprehensive business database ABI. Older issues can be accessed through the full image database Wall Street Journal Historical.
Washington Post (1974 - current) This link opens in a new window
Online access to The Washington Post newspaper.
Includes coverage from 1974 through current. To search the Washington Post for articles prior to this beginning date, go to The Washington Post Historical, which include articles from the beginning of the news paper in 1877 through 1997.