Guide Editor
Guide Creator
Subject Librarian
Welcome
Welcome to our Libguide about ebooks at Rowan University! Rowan has an extensive collection of ebooks in a variety of disciplines that you can access from anywhere at any time. This guide will show you the ebooks available to you and how to access them.
Jump to Contents:
Search or Browse Ebook Collections
Library Search for Ebooks
Core Ebook Collections
- ClinicalKey Medical EbooksOnline collection of clinical ebooks published by Elsevier in medicine and surgery.
- Ebook Central ebook collection This link opens in a new windowCollection of scholarly e-books in many academic disciplines.
- SpringerLink EbooksA collection of scientific ebooks.
Reference Ebooks
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowComprehensive reference collection (dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies etc.) for all academic disciplines.
- Ebooks (Gale) This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias and specialized reference ebooks for multidisciplinary research.
Open Access Ebooks
- DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books) This link opens in a new windowA collection of open access, peer-reviewed, and scholarly ebooks.
- Internet Archive BooksA selection of Internet Archive items which contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
- OpenBook Publishers This link opens in a new window
Scholarly Open Access ebooks in the humanities and social sciences. The PDF format of these books is always free, and epub, mobi, and XML formats are sometimes free. Paperback and hardback copies may be purchased.
Ebook Simultaneous User Limits
Some of the library's ebooks have simultaneous user limits. If multiple users try to access a book at the same time, or if you try to access a book another user has downloaded or checked out, you will be turned away. To determine an ebook's user limit or "access model," search for the ebook on the Library Website and check for the access model. The access model can be found under the link to full text (see screenshot below). If the access model is unlimited users (UA) or open access (OA), anyone can access the ebook at any time. If the only available access model is 1 user, 3 user, or another limited user model, and another user has downloaded or is reading the ebook, you may be turned away and have to wait until the book is available again.
Features and Permissions Chart for Core/Reference Ebook Collections
Ebook Features and Permissions |
Can I download and/or print? |
Loan period |
Number of users |
Download file type |
Accessibility features |
Software
|
Mobile/Device Compatible? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
ClinicalKey Medical Ebooks |
Yes, can download and print one chapter at a time (personal account needed) |
Unlimited |
Unlimited |
|
Screen reader compatible |
PDF viewer |
Yes |
Ebook Central |
Yes, can download and print up to 40% of the ebook every 24 hours; select titles can be downloaded in their entirety using Adobe Digital Editions |
For full ebook download, depends on the simultaneous user limit |
1 user, 2 user, 3 user, or unlimited, indicated on ebook |
EPUB (full ebook)/ PDF (chapters/sections) |
Screen reader compatible; Text Only mode (personal account needed); ProQuest support may be able to provide accessible ebook files to replace insufficient accessibility |
PDF viewer, Adobe Digital Editions, or Bluefire Reader |
Yes, EPUB not compatible with Kindle |
EBSCOhost Ebooks |
Yes, can download and print chapters, often 60 pages (or fewer, depending on publisher); select titles allow full ebook download, need personal account to borrow/download |
For full ebook download, 7 days |
1 user, 3 user, or unlimited, indicated on ebook |
EPUB/PDF |
Screen reader compatible; EBSCO may be able to provide accessible ebook files to replace titles with insufficient accessibility |
PDF viewer, Adobe Digital Editions, Bluefire Reader, or EBSCO mobile app |
Yes, EPUB not compatible with Kindle |
JSTOR Ebooks |
Yes, unlimited |
Unlimited |
Unlimited |
|
Screen reader compatible; JSTOR can reformat PDFs that are unreadable via screen reader upon request |
PDF viewer |
Yes |
Oxford University Press Ebooks |
Yes, can download and print chapters, not whole book |
Unlimited |
Unlimited |
|
Screen reader and text-to-speech compatible |
PDF viewer |
|
Project MUSE Ebooks |
Yes, unlimited |
Unlimited |
Unlimited |
|
Supports assistive software or devices such as large print interfaces, text-to-speech output, voice-activated input, refreshable braille displays, and alternate keyboard or pointer interface |
PDF viewer |
Yes |
SpringerLink Ebooks |
Yes, unlimited |
Unlimited |
Unlimited |
EPUB/PDF |
Screen reader compatible |
PDF viewer, Adobe Digital Editions, or Bluefire Reader |
Yes, EPUB not compatible with Kindle |
Credo Reference |
Yes, can download and print individual entries, not whole book, 60 pages per session |
Unlimited |
Unlimited |
|
Can translate and listen using ReadSpeaker |
PDF viewer |
Yes |
Gale Ebooks (Reference) |
Yes, can download and print chapters or sections, not whole book |
Unlimited |
Unlimited |
PDF, HTML, Google Drive, OneDrive |
Screen reader compatible; integrated text-to-speech feature with MP3 download; language translation tool; integrated highlighting and note-taking tool; display options including increased font size and Open Dyslexic font |
PDF viewer or Gale Access My Library app |
Yes |
Ebook Readers and Accessibility Software
To read and download ebooks, you may need the following software:
- Adobe Reader - for reading ebooks and PDFs
- Adobe Digital Editions - for downloading ebooks from Ebook Central, EBSCOhost, and other platforms
- Bluefire Reader - for reading ebooks on a mobile device
- JAWS Screen Reader - for people with visual impairments
- NVDA Screen Reader - for people with visual impairments
Please contact Rowan University's Office of Accessibility Services if you have any specific accessibility-related needs or concerns.