New Books Purchased by Campbell Library
by Daniel Kipnis on 2023-07-07T14:42:47-04:00 | 0 Comments
Sports Coverage by
ISBN: 0826142958
Publication Date: 2020-10-28
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. This essential handbook for sports medicine clinicians combines resources from various United States and International Olympic Committee sporting guidelines; national and international youth, scholastic, collegiate, and professional associations; and real-world experience to provide the most up to date and relevant information needed to fulfill coverage duties for sporting events. Easy to read, concise, and complete, this guide is a one-stop reference for sideline medical coverage of nearly fifty sports. Geared for live event coverage, chapters deliver quick hit specifics designed for in-the-moment use on the field. The book opens with a review of general coverage concepts applicable to most sports along with chapters dedicated to overriding medical concerns including emergency management, nutrition and hydration, adaptive sports considerations, and doping in sports, among other key topics. The core of the book focuses on coverage details for individual sports, organized by contact level and presented in a templated format for quick identification. Each sport-focused chapter describes its history, governing organizations, participants, rules and regulations, equipment, medical coverage logistics, medical emergencies, and common injuries. A dedicated "Medical Bag" for every sport outlines the necessary items providers should have at hand for managing emergencies and common injuries. This essential handbook belongs in every sports bag and will serve as a ready resource for clinicians and sideline personnel covering sporting events at any level.Key Features: Handy reference for on-field, sideline, or event sports coverage - with digital access for mobile use on most devicesCurrent guidelines for almost 50 sports, including information specific to the disabled athlete when applicableEvery chapter contains sport-specific information on emergencies and common injuriesWhat's in your bag? Highlights medical bag essentials by sport, so you're always preparedIncludes general chapters on clinician role, traveling with a team, pre-participation exams, medicolegal and ethical concerns, and approach to signature medical emergencies in sports
Lab Reports and Projects in Sport and Exercise Science by
ISBN: 0367631814
Publication Date: 2022-01-01
Most science degrees will have a practical or laboratory-based component which will require some sort of final report, whether this be a conventional laboratory report or a final-year dissertation. All of these formats require students to be able to analyse their data in an appropriate way and subsequently convey their key thoughts and information to a third party. Therefore, writing laboratory reports is an essential part any science degree. This new revised edition sees the expansion of statistical examples including initial data checks and assumptions, increased awareness of critical appraisal tools and resources, project planning and a range of 'Challenge yourself' activities to supplement understanding and provides a comprehensive overview of what should be contained within each section of a scientific report, and clearly explains how it should be presented. Written in a friendly and engaging style, it guides the reader through abstracts, literature reviews, methodology, reporting discussions and referencing and contains a wealth of examples and practical advice on how to improve and refine your own writing. From writing a first lab report to preparing a final-year dissertation or postgraduate thesis, sports and exercise science students at all levels will find this book a valuable resource in developing both skill and confidence in scientific communication. Key features include: The layout of the book is designed to reflect that of a typical scientific report to help students plan their own projects. Each chapter includes numerous examples, exercises and activities to engage students and develop skills in each aspect of report writing. The book includes discussion of critical appraisal techniques to help students refine their research questions. All data sets and illustrations used are drawn from the key disciplines in sport and exercise science, including physiology, psychology and biomechanics.
The Mental Impact of Sports Injury by
ISBN: 0367370204
Publication Date: 2022-01-01
Much is known about the physical strain that athletes' bodies are subjected to and the dangerous aspects of competition immediately spring to mind. But why do athletes train the way they do, and why do they push the limits? Why do some recover well from injury while others struggle? Despite decades of medical and sport science research, a piece has been missing from this picture. Until recently, the role of psychological factors in risk and rehabilitation has been poorly understood. Thankfully, there is increasing awareness of just how crucial these factors can be for predicting injury, improving recovery, developing prevention strategies, and supporting athletes' long-term health. Yet, research in this area is still in its infancy and it can be difficult to synthesize an ever-growing body of knowledge into practical injury management approaches. Using analogies from everyday life, The Mental Impact of Sports Injury bridges the gap between academic research and practical settings in an informative, yet easy to follow guide to the psychology of sports injury. Addressing risk, rehabilitation, and prevention, it outlines key considerations for researchers and practitioners across all levels of sport. Alongside the fundamentals of injury psychology, emerging areas of importance are also discussed, including training load monitoring and the technological advances that are shaping modern sport medicine. Targeted examples highlight the challenges of preventing and managing injury in grassroots, elite, and professional contexts, with chapters dedicated to the under-served communities of youth and Para sport athletes. Stepping away from traditional texts, this unique book presents the landmark literature, major concepts, and athlete insights into sports injury psychology from a totally new perspective.
Pedagogies of Social Justice in Physical Education and Youth Sport by
ISBN: 1003162851
Publication Date: 2021-12-24
This book offers an overview of contemporary debates in social justice and equity within Physical Education (PE) and Youth Sport (YS). It gives the reader clear direction on how to evaluate their current PE or YS program against current research and provides ideas for content, curriculum development, implementation, and pedagogical impact. The book addresses key contemporary issues including healthism, sexism, racism, classism, heterosexism, ableism and colonialism, and it highlights the importance of positionality and critical awareness on the part of the teacher, coach, or researcher. Presenting an array of case studies, practical examples, and thought-provoking questions, the book discusses equitable pedagogies and how they might be implemented, including in curriculum design and assessment. Concise, and avoiding academic jargon, this is an invaluable guide for pre-service and in-service teachers, teacher educators, coaches, and educators, helping them to ensure that all students and young people are included within the PE and YS settings for which they are responsible.
Pfeiffer and Mangus's Concepts of Athletic Training by
ISBN: 9781284127300
Publication Date: 2022-07-01
Pfeiffer and Mangus's Concepts of Athletic Training focuses on the care and management of sport- and activity-related injuries while presenting key concepts in a comprehensive, logically sequential manner that will assist future professionals in making the correct decisions when confronted with an activity-related injury or illness in their scope of practice. The eighth edition of Pfeiffer's Concepts of Athletic Training features new, full-color presentation as well as deeper and updated coverage on topics.
Recovery from Strenuous Exercise by
ISBN: 9780367742973
Publication Date: 2022-09-01
The volume specificity and practicality examines techniques that are commonly used, often without merit, and provides useful information for practitioners, trainers, coaches, clinicians and other readers The book examines a wide range of physiological topics progressing through many of the key issues. Provides a healthy balance between health and wellbeing and elite performance
Molecular Exercise Physiology by
ISBN: 9781138086876
Publication Date: 2022-04-01
Fully revised and expanded, the second edition of Molecular Exercise Physiology offers a student-friendly introduction. It introduces a history documenting the emergence of molecular biology techniques to investigate exercise physiology, the methodology used, exercise genetics and epigenetics, and the molecular mechanisms that lead to adaptation after different types of exercise, with explicit links to outcomes in sport performance, nutrition, physical activity and clinical exercise. Structured around key topics in sport and exercise science and featuring contributions from pioneering scientists, such as Nobel Prize winners, this edition includes new chapters based on cutting-edge research in epigenetics and muscle memory, satellite cells, exercise in cancer, at altitude, and in hot and cold climates. Chapters include learning objectives, structured guides to further reading, review questions, overviews of work by key researchers and box discussions from important pioneers in the field, making it a complete resource for any molecular exercise physiology course. The book includes cell and molecular biology laboratory methods for dissertation and research projects in molecular exercise physiology and muscle physiology. This book is essential reading for upper-level undergraduate or postgraduate courses in cellular and molecular exercise physiology and muscle physiology. It is a valuable resource for any student with an advanced interest in exercise physiology in both sport performance and clinical settings.
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
Recent Posts
New Books Purchased by Campbell Library
New Books Purchased by Campbell Library
New Books Purchased by Campbell Library
New Books purchased by Campbell Library
New Books Purchased by Campbell Library
Subscribe
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
Archive
Return to Blog
0 Comments.