New Books purchased by Campbell Library

by Daniel Kipnis on 2022-05-23T14:03:51-04:00 | 0 Comments

Human Nutrition by John Anderson; Martin Root; Sanford Garner

ISBN: 1449647421

Publication Date: 2014-02-14

Human Nutrition: Healthy Options for Life provides all the essentials information students need regarding foods and nutrients, and how the body uses nutrients in relation to both health and chronic diseases. The authors provide a unique focus on the linkages between nutrients deficits and/or excesses and personal health. Important Notice: The digital edition of this book is missing some of the images or content found in the physical edition.

Exercised by Daniel Lieberman

ISBN: 1524746983

Publication Date: 2021-01-05

If exercise is healthy (so good for you!), why do many people dislike or avoid it? These engaging stories and explanations will revolutionize the way you think about exercising--not to mention sitting, sleeping, sprinting, weight lifting, playing, fighting, walking, jogging, and even dancing. "Strikes a perfect balance of scholarship, wit, and enthusiasm." --Bill Bryson, New York Times best-selling author of The Body * If we are born to walk and run, why do most of us take it easy whenever possible? * Does running ruin your knees? * Should we do weights, cardio, or high-intensity training? * Is sitting really the new smoking? * Can you lose weight by walking? * And how do we make sense of the conflicting, anxiety-inducing information about rest, physical activity, and exercise with which we are bombarded? In this myth-busting book, Daniel Lieberman, professor of human evolutionary biology at Harvard University and a pioneering researcher on the evolution of human physical activity, tells the story of how we never evolved to exercise--to do voluntary physical activity for the sake of health. Using his own research and experiences throughout the world, Lieberman recounts without jargon how and why humans evolved to walk, run, dig, and do other necessary and rewarding physical activities while avoiding needless exertion. Exercised is entertaining and enlightening but also constructive. As our increasingly sedentary lifestyles have contributed to skyrocketing rates of obesity and diseases such as diabetes, Lieberman audaciously argues that to become more active we need to do more than medicalize and commodify exercise. Drawing on insights from evolutionary biology and anthropology, Lieberman suggests how we can make exercise more enjoyable, rather than shaming and blaming people for avoiding it. He also tackles the question of whether you can exercise too much, even as he explains why exercise can reduce our vulnerability to the diseases mostly likely to make us sick and kill us.

Musculoskeletal Assessment by Andrea Cripps; Matthew Kutz; American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) Staff

ISBN: 1284151921

Publication Date: 2020-11-27

Developed in conjunction with the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) and written for students in professional athletic training and therapy programs, Musculoskeletal Assessment in Athletic Training and Therapy provides a comprehensive overview of the many injuries impacting the extremities, and the assessments and examinations Athletic Trainers should conduct to accurately diagnosis and treat each injury. Unit I "Foundations" introduces the student to the foundations of examination, evaluation, and musculoskeletal diagnosis, providing a helpful recap of relevant medical terminology along the way. Units II and III then delve directly into the lower and upper extremities, reviewing relevant anatomy, discussing common injuries, and discussing their assessment.

The Routledge Handbook on Biochemistry of Exercise by Peter M. Tiidus (Editor); Rebecca E. K. MacPherson (Editor); Paul J. LeBlanc (Editor); Andrea R. Josse (Editor)

ISBN: 100312383X

Publication Date: 2020-12-27

From its early beginnings in the 1960s, the academic field of biochemistry of exercise has expanded beyond examining and describing metabolic responses to exercise and adaptations to training to include a wide understanding of molecular biology, cell signalling, interorgan communication, stem cell physiology, and a host of other cellular and biochemical mechanisms regulating acute responses and chronic adaptations related to exercise performance, human health/disease, nutrition, and cellular functioning. The Routledge Handbook on Biochemistry of Exercise is the first book to pull together the full depth and breadth of this subject and to update a rapidly expanding field of study with current issues and controversies and a look forward to future research directions. Bringing together many experts and leading scientists, the book emphasizes the current understanding of the underlying metabolic, cellular, genetic, and cell signalling mechanisms associated with physical activity, exercise, training, and athletic performance as they relate to, interact with, and regulate cellular and muscular adaptations and consequent effects on human health/disease, nutrition and weight control, and human performance. With more emphasis than ever on the need to be physically active and the role that being active plays in our overall health from a whole-body level down to the cell, this book makes an important contribution for scholars, medical practitioners, nutritionists, and coaches/trainers working in research and with a wide range of clients. This text is important reading for all students, scholars, and others with an interest in health, nutrition, and exercise/training in general.

The Psychology of Sports Injury by Adam Gledhill (Editor); Dale Forsdyke (Editor)

ISBN: 0429673078

Publication Date: 2021-03-24

The Psychology of Sports Injury: From Risk to Retirement provides a critical overview of the psychology of sports injury, covering the 5Rs of sports injury: risk, response, rehabilitation, return to sport and retirement. Drawing on a range of expert international perspectives from the fields of sport psychology and sport and exercise medicine, The Psychology of Sports Injury covers the psychological considerations associated with sports injuries, prior to the onset of injury through to supporting athletes with post-injury retirement. In addition to this injury lifespan perspective, the book features special interest topics including anterior cruciate ligament injury, sport-related concussion, spinal cord injury and the role of coaches in achieving athlete and team medical outcomes. Additionally, case studies provide the opportunity to apply learning from each chapter. By covering the sports injury journey from risk factors to retirement and including athlete mental health during sports injury, The Psychology of Sports Injury is an essential text for students, instructors, and practitioners in sports psychology, sport and exercise medicine and other related fields.

Artificial Intelligence in Sport Performance Analysis by Duarte Araújo; Micael S. Couceiro; Ludovic Seifert; Hugo Sarmento; Keith Davids

ISBN: 1003163580

Publication Date: 2021-04-20

To understand the dynamic patterns of behaviours and interactions between athletes that characterize successful performance in different sports is an important challenge for all sport practitioners. This book guides the reader in understanding how an ecological dynamics framework for use of artificial intelligence (AI) can be implemented to interpret sport performance and the design of practice contexts. By examining how AI methodologies are utilized in team games, such as football, as well as in individual sports, such as golf and climbing, this book provides a better understanding of the kinematic and physiological indicators that might better capture athletic performance by looking at the current state-of-the-art AI approaches. Artificial Intelligence in Sport Performance Analysis provides an all-encompassing perspective in an innovative approach that signals practical applications for both academics and practitioners in the fields of coaching, sports analysis, and sport science, as well as related subjects such as engineering, computer and data science, and statistics.

Principles of human locomotion : notes from an exercise biologist by Rowland, Thomas W

ISBN: 1527559246

Publication Date: 2020

Modelling Human Motion by Nicoletta Noceti (Editor); Alessandra Sciutti (Editor); Francesco Rea (Editor)

ISBN: 3030467317

Publication Date: 2020-07-10

The new frontiers of robotics research foresee future scenarios where artificial agents will leave the laboratory to progressively take part in the activities of our daily life. This will require robots to have very sophisticated perceptual and action skills in many intelligence-demanding applications, with particular reference to the ability to seamlessly interact with humans. It will be crucial for the next generation of robots to understand their human partners and at the same time to be intuitively understood by them. In this context, a deep understanding of human motion is essential for robotics applications, where the ability to detect, represent and recognize human dynamics and the capability for generating appropriate movements in response sets the scene for higher-level tasks. This book provides a comprehensive overview of this challenging research field, closing the loop between perception and action, and between human-studies and robotics. The book is organized in three main parts. The first part focuses on human motion perception, with contributions analyzing the neural substrates of human action understanding, how perception is influenced by motor control, and how it develops over time and is exploited in social contexts. The second part considers motion perception from the computational perspective, providing perspectives on cutting-edge solutions available from the Computer Vision and Machine Learning research fields, addressing higher-level perceptual tasks. Finally, the third part takes into account the implications for robotics, with chapters on how motor control is achieved in the latest generation of artificial agents and how such technologies have been exploited to favor human-robot interaction. This book considers the complete human-robot cycle, from an examination of how humans perceive motion and act in the world, to models for motion perception and control in artificial agents. In this respect, the book will provide insights into the perception and action loop in humans and machines, joining together aspects that are often addressed in independent investigations. As a consequence, this book positions itself in a field at the intersection of such different disciplines as Robotics, Neuroscience, Cognitive Science, Psychology, Computer Vision, and Machine Learning. By bridging these different research domains, the book offers a common reference point for researchers interested in human motion for different applications and from different standpoints, spanning Neuroscience, Human Motor Control, Robotics, Human-Robot Interaction, Computer Vision and Machine Learning. Chapter 'The Importance of the Affective Component of Movement in Action Understanding' of this book is available open access under a CC BY 4.0 license at link.springer.com.

Movement 2019: Brain, Body and Cognition by Gerry Leisman

ISBN: 1536167150

Publication Date: 2020-01-15

This book is based on the conference on "Movement and Cognition" held in July 2019 at the Tel Aviv University in Israel, where an opportunity was provided for researchers, clinicians and practitioners from various disciplines to share their knowledge and experience in an academic environment. In this book you will find all the abstracts from this conference gathered in one publication. We believe that movement facilitates cognition throughout the life span and hope that this book will be of interest to both researcher, clinicians, practitioners and other people who are interested in the issue of movement and the brain.

Add a Comment

Library Research for Exercise Science