New Books Purchased by Campbell Library
by Daniel Kipnis on 2024-05-01T10:37:55-04:00 | 0 Comments
Exercise and Sport Pharmacology by
ISBN: 1003035388
Publication Date: 2020-07-28
Exercise and Sport Pharmacology is an essential book for teaching upper-level undergraduates or entry-level graduate students about how drugs can affect exercise and how exercise can affect the action of drugs. It leads students through the related pathology, exercise physiology, and drug action of many of today's chronically used medications, and discusses how drugs can affect exercise performance. This new second edition of the book is divided into four parts: Section I provides the basics of pharmacology, exercise physiology, autonomic pharmacology, and the stress response; Section II presents chapters on major cardiovascular and respiratory drug classes; Section III describes frequently prescribed medications for such common conditions as diabetes, depression, pain, fever, inflammation, and obesity; and Section IV includes discussions of nutritional supplements and commonly used drugs such as caffeine, nicotine, cannabis, and performance-enhancing drugs. The second edition offers many updates, enhances muscle cell physiology, includes the involvement of the gut microbiome, and each chapter has a new section on the effects of aging. In Sections II and III, chapters include an overview of the pathology that therapeutic drugs are designed to treat and how the drug works in the human body. In contrast to standard pharmacology texts, Exercise and Sport Pharmacology also includes the effect of exercise on the pathology of the condition and the effect of exercise on how the body responds to a drug. Each chapter has a section on whether the drugs under discussion have performance-enhancing potential. Section IV is concerned with self-medication and drugs or supplements taken without a prescription or with limited medical supervision. Throughout, figures and tables as well as data from experiments in exercise pharmacology help to illustrate and summarize content. Each chapter opens with an on-going case example to preview and apply chapter content. In the text, boldface terms indicate which concepts are contained in the book's Glossary. Chapters conclude with a Key Concepts Review and Review Questions.
Developments and Novel Approaches in Nonlinear Solid Body Mechanics by
ISBN: 9783030504595
Publication Date: 2020-07-19
This book features selected manuscripts presented at ICoNSoM 2019, exploring cutting-edge methods for developing novel models in nonlinear solid mechanics. Innovative methods like additive manufacturing--for example, 3D printing-- and miniaturization mean that engineers need more accurate techniques for modeling solid body mechanics. The book focuses on the formulation of continuum and discrete models for complex materials and systems, particularly the design of metamaterials.
The Routledge Handbook of Youth Physical Activity by
ISBN: 1003026427
Publication Date: 2020-04-07
Over the past three decades the study of pediatric physical inactivity has become a public health concern. The decreases in physical activity have been associated with obesity and numerous hypokinetic diseases. In accordance with this public health concern, the study of pediatric physical activity has become a central part of research in the health and exercise science fields. The Routledge Handbook of Youth Physical Activity is the first book to survey the full depth and breadth of the issues facing this field. Bringing together many of the world's experts and practitioners, the book helps to develop an understanding of the underlying issues related to pediatric physical activity as well as the role physical activity plays on cognitive, psychomotor, and social aspects of childhood. The book addresses issues with physical activity measurement and discuss wide-ranging aspects of physical activity interventions. With more emphasis than ever on physical activity, this book makes an important contribution to the scholars and practitioners working in the field of youth physical activity. This is the first single text on the state of current knowledge related to pediatric physical activity which offers a comprehensive guide to students and academics on these subjects The Routledge Handbook of Youth Physical Activity is key reading for all advanced students, researchers, practitioners, and policy-makers with an interest in physical activity, youth sport, public health matters, sport studies, or physical education.
Complete Guide to Respiratory Care in Athletes by
ISBN: 0429492340
Publication Date: 2020-07-21
Complete Guide to Respiratory Care in Athletes introduces the respiratory system and its function during exercise. It considers the main respiratory conditions affecting athletes and delivers practical advice for the management of respiratory issues in athletic populations. With contributions from leading international experts, the book discusses fundamental scientific principles and provides pragmatic 'hands-on' clinical guidance to enable practical application. Each chapter includes useful pedagogical features such as case studies and guides for carrying out assessments. The book covers wide a range of topics, including: respiratory system function during exercise impact of the environment on the upper and lower airways asthma related issues in athletes allergic rhinitis in athletes exercise induced laryngeal obstruction exercise induced dysfunctional breathing paterns respiratory muscle training role of screening for respiratory issues in athletes assessing and dealing with respiratory infections in athletes. This text is key reading for both newly qualified and established medical, scientific and therapy practitioners who are working with athletes with respiratory issues. It is also a valuable resource for students of sports medicine, sports therapy, and sport and exercise science courses.
Textbook of Sports and Exercise Cardiology by
ISBN: 3030353737
Publication Date: 2020-04-10
This textbook provides a comprehensive, yet practically orientated overview of classic and novel sports cardiology topics, based on current evidence, guidelines, recommendations and expert experience. Numerous publications have provided guidance to these issues, but it has become increasingly difficult for both students and doctors to obtain a thorough, but practicable overview for optimal clinical care of athletes and patients. This book is intended as an educational work, filling the large gaps that are still present in the current educational guidelines for medical students and cardiology trainees. Textbook of Sports and Exercise Cardiology differs from other sports cardiology books by focusing on clear, practical recommendations based on the latest evidence, primarily targeting those who seek professional background information and education that can easily be transferred into everyday care.
Mechanics of Human Joints by
ISBN: 1003066992
Publication Date: 2020-08-26
This reference work brings together the biology, mechanics, neurophysiology and pathophysiology of diseased joints, illustrates available physiologically-based treatments for osteoarthrosis and explains how and when to use them.;Highlighting the most up-to-date biomechanical principles, Mechanics of Human Joints: discusses the functional anatomy of joints; relates the neurophysiology of joints to ligamentous reconstruction; elucidates the pathophysiology of osteoarthrosis; summarizes the latest information on muscle physiology and electromyography; examines the effect of vibration and impulsive loading on joint pathology; and explicates the principles of prosthetic joint replacement.
Biomechanics of Sport by
ISBN: 1003068545
Publication Date: 2020-08-17
This informative text features current and thorough reviews of the biomechanics of sport for improved performance, etiology, and pre-vention of injuries. Winter sports and aquatics are covered, with an emphasis on developing training programs for ski-jumping, alpine, and cross country skiing. Other sports featured include modeling perspectives in speed skating, swimming, and the mechanics of rowing and sculling. Track-and-field athletics, ball games, weight lifting, and training are examined in terms of per-formance, safety, and re-search methodology. Sports scientists and sports medicine specialists will find this book invaluable.
The Science and Physiology of Flexibility and Stretching by
ISBN: 1351616986
Publication Date: 2018-11-01
Stretching is a fundamentally important part of sport and exercise, playing a role in improving performance, and preventing injury and rehabilitation, but its scientific underpinnings have, to this point, been overlooked in book publishing. The Science and Physiology of Flexibility and Stretching is the most up-to-date and comprehensive book to cover the underlying physiology and psychology of stretching, critically assessing why, when, and how we should stretch, as well as offering a highly illustrated, practical guide to stretching exercises. Placing stretching in the context of both health and performance, the first section of the book sets out the science behind stretching, critically assessing the benefits, disadvantages, and roles of different types of stretching, exploring the mechanisms behind increasing range-of-movement through stretching and other methods, and offering evidence-based guidance on building stretching into warm-ups. In its second section, the book provides a step-by-step guide to static, dynamic, and PRF stretching exercises for beginners, through recreational athletes, to elite performers. Richly illustrated, and including an online resource, The Science and Physiology of Flexibility and Stretching provides an important scientific enquiry into stretching, and an invaluable reference for any strength and conditioning coach or student, personal trainer, sports coach, or exercise scientist.
Laboratory and Field Exercises in Sport and Exercise Biomechanics by
ISBN: 1315306301
Publication Date: 2017-08-07
Laboratory and Field Exercises in Sport and Exercise Biomechanics is the first book to fully integrate practical work into an introduction to the fundamental principles of sport and exercise biomechanics. The book concisely and accessibly introduces the discipline of biomechanics and describes the fundamental methods of analysing and interpreting biomechanical data, before fully explaining the major concepts underlying linear kinematics, linear kinetics, angular kinematics, angular kinetics and work, energy and power. To supplement chapters, the book includes nineteen practical worksheets which are designed to give students practice in collecting, analysing, and interpreting biomechanical data, as well as report writing. Each worksheet includes example data and analysis, along with data recording sheets for use by students to help bring the subject to life. No other book offers students a comparable opportunity to gain practical, hands-on experience of the core tenets of biomechanics. Laboratory and Field Exercises in Sport and Exercise Biomechanics is, therefore, an important companion for any student on a Sport and Exercise Science or Kinesiology undergraduate programme, or for any instructors delivering introductory biomechanics classes.
Complexity in Games Teaching and Coaching by
ISBN: 1000552845
Publication Date: 2022-03-03
Shedding new light on sport pedagogy and the teaching and coaching of games, this book shows how complexity theory can be used to improve team sport performance, coach education, and young player development. The book draws together insights from both the humanities and behavioural sciences, including psychology, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, history, and play theory into a new educational methodology for team sports. It shows how concepts from complexity theory underpin and inform team sport dynamics, including the uncontrolled nature of live human systems; the nature of complex systems and how this shapes student and young athlete learning; self-organization and its relation to decision-making in play; and mental self-regulation and motivation. It presents an innovative and sophisticated definition of sport pedagogy that can help teachers and coaches deepen their understanding of teaching and learning in team sports and help them develop more motivated, more effective, and more creative athletes.
Exercise Prescription Case Studies for Clinical Populations by
ISBN: 9781516535491
Publication Date: 2021-01-30
Designed to provide students with practical, hands-on knowledge, Exercise Prescription Case Studies for Clinical Populations introduces readers to situations they are likely to encounter when writing exercise prescriptions in professional settings. The book focuses on individuals with certain clinical diseases, exposing students to practices established over many years of research to ensure the safety and efficacy of an exercise program for this unique population. Students are presented with strategies for working with individuals with advanced cardiovascular disease, peripheral vascular disease, and pulmonary diseases. A case study approach is used, beginning with the contraindications for clinical exercise testing through exercise prescriptions. The case studies closely follow the guidelines established by the American College of Sports Medicine, rendering it a valuable resource to help students prepare for the ACSM Certified Clinical Exercise Physiologist exam. Exercise Prescription Case Studies for Clinical Populations features content that prepares students for a meaningful career after graduation. The text is exemplary for courses in exercise science and physiology.
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
Recent Posts
New Books Purchased by Campbell Library
New Books Purchased by Campbell Library
New Books Purchased by Campbell Library
New Books purchased by Campbell Library
New Books Purchased by Campbell Library
Subscribe
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
Archive
Return to Blog
0 Comments.