Research Guides: Historical Methods- Prof. Manning: Articles

Scholarly Articles & Databases

Scholarly articles, in comparison to books, are shorter and usually discuss a more focused topic. Below are library resources that provide access to scholarly articles and other resources that are often unavailable on the open web.

Databases: See the history-focused databases listed in this page, or search the Database Finder.
Journals:
- Journal Finder: Find journals by title, ISSN, or keyword.
- BrowZine: Search for or browse select scholarly online journals to which the Libraries subscribe.
Citation Linker: Use to find and access a specific journal article, journal or book.

If the Libraries do not have access to the article, please submit an interlibrary loan request by clicking the "Go to ILLiad" link on the Interlibrary Loan page.

Finding Articles through Library Databases

The library databases listed on this page provide access to find scholarly articles, as well as other types of information. If you don't see a Full Text link below the article citation, look for a button labeled "Get it!" This application will check for access to the full text of the article within the library's subscriptions.

If you see a message that we don't have access, choose the Campbell Library Interlibrary Loan Request link to order the article from another library. Often we can get an electronic copy of the article quickly.

Databases

You can use library databases to find scholarly articles, which are often peer-reviewed. Below are the top recommended databases for History. Many of these databases also include other source types like book chapters.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of full-text scholarly journal articles in a broad range of academic disciplines.
Coverage includes the full text from volume 1, number 1 through the current date in some cases or, more often, up to a period of embargo from six months to five years depending on the arrangements with the title's vendor.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text database of current scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
JStor can also be searched simultaneously using the advanced search feature on the Project Muse page.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search tool for scholarly literature in world history outside North America.
Abstracts and some full text of journal articles, citations to books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding North America) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,000 journals and the Congressional Record...
complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR from inception

What is Peer-Review?

Peer-reviewed articles:

Published in academic journals
Use the language of the field in which they were published
Written by professionals for professionals
Reviewed by professionals before publication

Articles are often more topic-specific than books.

By using library resources, you can easily find peer-reviewed information! Many of our article databases have boxes to check that will help you limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.
(Note: This box can be a helpful shortcut, but remember that it removes scholarly book chapters and may still include a small a few editorial articles that are not peer-reviewed, though they are published in peer-reviewed publications.)