Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History and Theory of Planning

Course guide for City Planning 1 (History and Theory of Planning)

Welcome

Welcome

This guide is intended to help students in Dr. Kevin Keenan's course "City Planning 1" (also called History and Theory of Planning) find resources for assignments and projects. 

Visit the sections of this guide on Articles, Books, and More Resources depending on your needs.

Local planning organizations

Need more help?

Schedule an appointment with me:

Articles

Articles

To find articles on the history and theory of planning, use a library database or Library Search. 

Library Search

Databases with articles on history and theory of planning

Subscription databases available through the Database Finder on the Campbell Library website have scholarly journal articles on city and regional planning. 

Books

Books

To find a book, enter the title in the Library Search box on the Campbell Library homepage or in the widget below. If your book is not the first result, refine your search to Books in the Resource Type facet in the left sidebar. Please note that the library does not have copies of most textbooks. 

Many books are now available in e-book format and can be viewed on your computer, tablet, or phone - click on View Online

To locate print books on the shelf, you'll need to have the Call Number listed in the results display. The first letter of the call number tells you the floor and row (A - K is on the 3rd floor, L- Z on the 4th); the rest of the call number identifies the book on the shelf. Browse the rows to find the book with that call number on its spine.

Library Search

Finding a Book by Topic

Use the search box labeled Library Search on the Campbell Library home page (www.lib.rowan.edu/campbell) to search for books.

Enter topic keywords in the Library Search box, such as "electric vehicles."

When the results list is displayed, go to the left sidebar to refine your results.

Limit to books by checking Books under the Resource Type limiter, then selecting Apply Filter. (In some cases you may have to use the Show More button to see the Books resource type.)

Click on the availability link of the book you are interested in, which may be Available Online or Available in Campbell Library Stacks.

To limit further to e-books only, check the box for Available Online under the Limit To facet.

To limit further to print books only, check the box for Held in the Library under the Limit To facet.

 

Library Search

Selected Reference Books

Additional Library Resources

Additional Library Resources

Additional resources available in Campbell Library include atlases and maps, films, and archival materials.

Datasets and Documentaries

Search or browse these databases for documentaries and statistical data about cities and metropolitan areas.

Maps

Reference maps and atlases are located in the second floor mezzanine area, in the Ref Map Case and Ref Atlas Case.  They must be used in the library. 

A collection of geological and topographical maps of key areas of the U.S. and the world is currently being developed by the library. Some geological maps are now available (for faculty/staff use only) in the first floor Reserves Room - see the Access Services staff. 

University Archives and Special Collections

The University Archives and Special Collections space on the third floor of Campbell Library contains materials on the history of New Jersey which may be viewed in person under the supervision of staff. For more information, visit the UASC webpage.