Construction Management

Rowan University Libraries offers online access to collections across various disiplines that relate to construction management. 

This guide is designed to link to relevant resources to help in your work. 

The Campbell Library is undergoing a renovation. Check for updates here. 

Rowan University Libraries provides tools to help with navigating research. 

1. LibKey is a service (3rd party application) that simplifies user access to library-licensed and open access journal articles.LibKey Nomad is a browser extension for the Chrome, Firefox, and Edge web browsers.

2. BrowZine offers users a way to find, read, and follow their favorite scholarly journals.. BrowZine can be used on a computer browser or as a smartphone app.

3. Interlibrary loan is free and unlimited. You can request articles that are downloadable in 2 business days and books from the consortium of 80 academic libraries that Rowan is a member of. Books can be mailed to your home address. 

4. Email me your requests for e-books, e-journals or resources that you need for your courses. 

5. Library workshops on topics across seven tracks. Workshops are free, many are hybrid, open to all. Learn how to search Google Scholar like a Pro, citation management, digital tools and more. 

6. Rowan Library search will show full-text materials as well as articles, books, and conference proceedings that Rowan University Library does not subscribe to. 

Find articles via library databases.  Searches retrieve articles from thousands of publications.  Here are suggested databases. 

• Access Engineering

  An online encyclopedia and learning resource providing access to critical and regularly updated engineering reference information. Includes instructional videos, interactive tables and charts, and personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.

Brief Overview of Access Engineering (6 minutes, 57 seconds)

Access Engineering Browsing by Subject & Course (1 minute, 38 seconds)

Access Engineering Searching & Filtering (2 minutes, 11 seconds)

• Emerald Insight

  Emerald is a global publisher linking research and practice to the benefit of society. The company manages a portfolio of more than 290 journals and over 2,000 books and book series volumes, as well as providing an extensive range of online products and additional customer resources and services.

Emerald Insight: How can I personalise my experience with a user profile? (6 minutes, 49 seconds)

Make the most of your search results on Emerald Insight (6 minutes, 23 seconds)

How do I use quick and advanced search on Emerald Insight? (3 minutes, 38 seconds)

Discover content on Emerald Insight through browse (8 minutes, 22 seconds)

• Engineering Case Studies Online

  Key engineering failures and case studies.

Searching Collections (4 minutes, 10 seconds)

• Engineering Village 

  Index to Elsevier's Compendex database of engineering literature (1969-present). Includes scholarly literature in bioengineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, materials science, mechanical engineering, and structural engineering. Some articles are available in full-text.

Quick and effective searching (1 minute, 16 seconds)

Evaluate and refine your results (1 minute, 54 seconds)

Build customized searches (3 minutes, 1 second)

• IEEE Xplore

  Full text access to journals and major conference proceedings published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE).

Advanced Search in IEEE Xplore (4 minutes, 32 seconds)

How to Use the New Search Feature in IEEE Xplore (3 minutes, 2 seconds)

Command Search in IEEE Xplore Feb 2021 (4 minutes, 2 seconds)

• Knovel

  Knovel offers physical/chemical/materials properties data, analytical tools, and full text handbooks and reference books for civil, mechanical, chemical, and electrical engineering applications.

Knovel Overview (3 minutes, 43 seconds)

• Materials Science Database

  Full text access to journals and other sources covering topics that include metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials and deal with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming.

Basic Search (2 minutes, 40 seconds)

• Scopus

  SciVerse Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.

How to use advanced search in Scopus (2 minutes, 59 seconds)

Search for affiliations by topic tutorial (1 minute, 41 seconds)

How to analyze your search results tutorials (3 minutes, 2 seconds)

• Web of Science

  The Web of Science citation databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic.

Sorting results in Web of Science (2 minutes, 12 seconds)

Filter results using refine (1 minute, 33 seconds)

Author alerts in Web of Science Core Collection (2 minutes, 4 seconds)

Rowan University Library can be searched using Library Search to locate e-books.

Below are a few e-book titles that can be found in the Rowan University Library search. 

• American National Standards Institute (ANSI)

  The ANSI oversees the creation, promulgation and use of thousands of norms and guidelines that directly impact businesses in nearly every sector: f rom acoustical devices to construction equipment, from dairy and livestock production to energy distribution, and many more.

• IEEE Standards Association

  IEEE, the world's largest technical professional organization, has over 400,000 members. It publishes nearly one-third of the world's technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics, and is the leading developer of international standards in telecommunications, information technology and power-generation products and services.

• International Organization for Standardization (ISO)

  ISO is an independent, non-governmental international organization with a membership of 162 national standards bodies.It develops and publishes International Standards - standards are formulas that describe "the best way of doing something" - from "making a product, managing a process, to delivering a service or supplying materials... ."

• National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)

  THE NFPA provides free online access to its codes and standards, its journal publications from 1907 to the present, and its Applied Research reports.

• National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

  Founded in 1901, NIST is a non-regulatory federal agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce, and one of the nation's oldest physical science laboratories. Its mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve the quality of life.

Building Codes and Ordinances 

• Building Codes by State

  This page, from BuildingsGuide.com, provides links to state building codes. The site also notes "[r]remember that each city has its own specific building codes, so check with your city's municipal office to ensure your building plans are up-to-date."

• National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Codes and Standards

  Follow the directions on this page for read-only access to the codes and standards.

• American Legal Publishing Corp.

  Links to city and county codes in all 50 states.

• CPC Code Library

  25 states, 10 tribal governments, and 1 Candian province

• General Code's E-codes

  Choose the state, then select a municipality.

• Municipal Code Corp.

  On this "Library" page, choose a State or "Tribes and Tribal Nations." Next, choose the tribe or city. Search by keyword or browse by title.

• Understanding Building Codes

  This United States government website answers the questions of what is a building code, how are building standards created and updated, how are model building codes updated, and how a model code becomes law.

Construction Associations

• American Builders and Contractors (ABC)

  Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) is a national construction industry trade association with 69 chapters representing more than 21,000 members. ABC's members represent all specialties in the construction industry and are primarily firms that perform work in the industrial and commercial sectors.

• Associated General Contractors (AGC)

  Based in Washington, D.C., the Associated General Contractors of America, with members in building construction, federal/heavy construction, highway and transportation construction, and utility construction, has over 27,000 member firms.

• American Institute of Contractors (AIC)

  This society of construction professionals offers online courses, conferences, webinars, and certification exams.

• American Society of Civil Engineers                                                                                                                                                            Resources include career connections, continuing education resources, and publications. 

• American Society of Professional Estimators                                                                                                                                               Take courses and access certification                                                                                                              

• American Subcontractors Association (ASA)

  Members include subcontractors, specialty contractors and suppliers.

• Association for the Advancement of Cost Engineering                                                                                                                                     Technical resources and certification 

• Construction Management Association of American (CMAA)

  CMAA offers professional development, education, training and networking, business development, advocacy, and professional resources to its members.

• Mechanical Service Contractors of American (MCAA)

  Members of MCAA include approximately 2,600 firms involved in heating, air conditioning, refrigeration, plumbing, piping, and mechanical service.

• Project Management Institute 
  PMI offers certification and learning opportunities to learn about project management. 
   
• U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC)

  USGBC runs the LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification program for sustainable design and construction ("green building" certification).

Rowan University provides access to two citation managers: 1. RefWorks and 2. EndNote. 

Citation Managers help with organizing research in one place and creating bibliographies with a few clicks of your mouse. The library provides training sessions throughout the year on learning both RefWorks and EndNote. In addition, videos are available: 

• RefWorks playlists
• Advanced RefWorks features 
• EndNote playlist
• Endnote workshop handout
• Endnote online guide with more information 

In addition, Rowan University Library provides access to Academic Writer, which provides access to the official resource on APA style. Includes style guides, tutorials, research guides, and templates.

Another great resource is Purdue OWL for learning how to properly cite academic works.