Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journalism

Getting Started

Welcome to the Journalism Research Guide. This guide includes library and internet resources for your journalism research.

This page includes the most recommended library databases for journalism. Please see the navigation menu for other recommended resources, search tips, and the News Literacy Toolkit.

For one-on-one help, please contact subject librarian Andrea Baer (baera@rowan.edu).

Background Research

These background sources are good places to get an overview of a topic and different perspectives on it. Background research can help you focus your research and identify effective search terms and strategies.

Finding a Specific Newspaper or News Article

Within Rowan Library

Specific Newspaper Publications: Most newspapers and news magazines to which the library has access can be located via the Journal Search (within Library Search). When you locate the correct title, check the publication dates and where the item is available.


Specific Newspaper Articles: Try a Newspapers search in Library Search to locate a specific newspaper article (not the entire publication,


Beyond the Library

For those items you don't find available through the Library, you may wish first to see if they’re freely available online (search the Google News Archive or do a general Google search).

If they are not freely available online, search in WorldCat for other libraries that have the item (do a title search and limit the format to newspapers). You can then request a specific item via interlibrary loan, or you may wish visit the library or archive that houses the materials.

News & Media Databases

Historical Newspaper Databases

Communication and Current Affairs Databases