Register for current Rowan University Library workshops
During each fall and spring semester, Rowan University Libraries offers workshops on various topics related to inquiry, learning, research, and creativity. All workshops are free and open to students, staff, and faculty, and most are also open to the public.
This page lists all past and upcoming workshops. Please visit the Workshops calendar to view and register for upcoming workshops. If you are interested in a workshop that is listed on this page but not scheduled, please contact us to express your interest.
Slides for many past workshops are available on the Rowan Digital Works "Library Workshops" page.
Workshops are organized into the following categories (listed alphabetically):
Online asynchronous training and professional development on technology and work-related skills is also available to the Rowan community through LinkedIn Learning. It can be accessed from the Libraries' Database Finder.
Workshop questions? Contact libraryworkshops@rowan.edu
Faculty: Dan Kipnis, Life Sciences Librarian
Learning objectives:
Attendees will learn how to format a bibliography in Word using Endnote.
Endnote is a software tool for publishing and managing bibliographies, citations and references. Rowan University offers a free license to EndNote available to students, staff and faculty. This is an introductory workshop that will demonstrate how to import citations from various databases and search engines. In addition, formatting bibliographies in Word will be demonstrated.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Faculty: Dan Kipnis, Life Sciences Librarian
Learning objectives:
Frustrated with organizing your research and typing out bibliographies by hand? Do you have your PDFs stored in various places and wish they were all in one place and searchable? Dan Kipnis, Life Sciences Librarian, will introduce Mendeley, an online bibliographic management software program that will help you organize your research and format bibliographies in just a few clicks. Mendeley includes a social media component where researchers can connect with like minded researchers.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software Requirements: Word plug-in for Mendeley. Instructions will be sent prior to workshop
Faculty: Dan Kipnis, Life Sciences Librarian
Learning objectives:
Frustrated with organizing your research and typing out bibliographies by hand? Do you have your PDFs stored in various places and wish they were all in one place and searchable?
Dan Kipnis, Life Sciences Librarian, will introduce RefWorks, an online bibliographic management software program that will help you organize your research and format bibliographies in just a few clicks. With over 3,000 bibliographic output styles and exceptional customer support, RefWorks will help any Rowan student, staff or faculty conducting research save time and get organized.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience.
Software Requirements: None.
Faculty: Andrea Baer, Public Services Librarian
Learning objectives:
Citation management software can help you keep track of the sources that you use in your research, but can also help streamline the writing and editing process. Come learn the tricks of open-source Zotero, and create citations and reference lists with ease, saving you valuable time.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: Recommended that participants download Zotero before attending the workshop: https://www.zotero.org/
Faculty: Denise Brush, Engineering Librarian
This workshop is for engineering or computer science graduate students who are ready to start writing their master's thesis or doctoral dissertation, but do not know how to find and cite scholarly publications related to their research topic. This workshop will teach you how to find scholarly publications in engineering and computer science using library resources and tools, and how to properly cite published research, giving you the skills and confidence to successfully write your thesis or dissertation.
Learning objectives:
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Location: Meet at the gazebo between Memorial & Bunce Halls (weather permitting)
Faculty: Dr. Sara Wright from the Biological & Biomedical Sciences Department
Take a break, stretch your legs, and join Sara Wright from the Rowan Biological & Biomedical Sciences Department for an immersive 75-minute walking tour featuring Rowan's magnificent campus trees. This tour will be a special Centennial edition in honor of Arbor Day. Dr. Wright will recreate a previous tour made by students and faculty in the late 1960s. Attendees will visit and learn about some of the oldest and largest trees on campus - our Centennial trees!
Learning objectives:
Skill levels for attendees: Novice, wear good walking shoes - we will go off path!
Software Requirements: None
Faculty: Dr. Sara Wright from the Biological & Biomedical Sciences Department
Location: Meet in lobby of Campbell Library (weather permitting)
Learning objectives:
Skill levels for attendees: Novice, wear good walking shoes - we will go off path!
Software Requirements: None
Take a break, stretch your legs, and join Sara Wright from the Rowan Biological & Biomedical Sciences Department for an immersive 90-minute walking tour featuring Rowan's magnificent campus trees. Learn about local biodiversity, ecosystem services provided by our trees, and the native and invasive species that surround us.
Faculty: Dr. Sara Wright from the Biological & Biomedical Sciences Department
Location: Meet in lobby of Campbell Library (weather permitting)
Learning objectives:
Skill levels for attendees: Novice, wear good walking shoes - we will go off path!
Software Requirements: None
Take a break, stretch your legs, and join Sara Wright from the Rowan Biological & Biomedical Sciences Department for an immersive 90-minute walking tour featuring Rowan's magnificent campus trees. Learn about local biodiversity, ecosystem services provided by our trees, and the native and invasive species that surround us.
Location: Meet in lobby of Campbell Library (weather permitting)
Faculty: Dr. Sara Wright from the Biological & Biomedical Sciences Department
Take a break, stretch your legs, and join Sara Wright from the Rowan Biological & Biomedical Sciences Department for an immersive 75-minute walking tour featuring Rowan's magnificent campus trees. Learn about local biodiversity, ecosystem services provided by our trees, and the native and invasive species that surround us. Every tour is unique!
Learning objectives:
Skill levels for attendees: Novice, wear good walking shoes - we will go off path!
Software Requirements: None
Location: Meet in lobby of Campbell Library (weather permitting)
Faculty: Dr. Sara Wright from the Biological & Biomedical Sciences Department
Take a break, stretch your legs, and join Sara Wright from the Rowan Biological & Biomedical Sciences Department for an immersive 75-minute walking tour featuring Rowan's magnificent campus trees. Learn about local biodiversity, ecosystem services provided by our trees, and the native and invasive species that surround us. Every tour is unique!
Learning objectives:
Skill levels for attendees: Novice, wear good walking shoes - we will go off path!
Software Requirements: None
Faculty: Dr. Shelly Thomas and Dr. Sara Wright, Biological & Biomedical Sciences Department
Learning objectives:
Take a break, stretch your legs, and join Shelly Thomas & Sara Wright from the Rowan Biological & Biomedical Sciences Department for an immersive 75-minute walking tour. Learn about local plant and insect biodiversity, as well as the important interactions that help sustain our ecosystems.
Skill levels for attendees: Novice, wear good walking shoes.
Faculty: Mike Benson, Digital Scholarship Specialist
Learning objectives:
Gain a working knowledge of Photoshop
Learn the process of editing photos
In this in-person workshop, we will explore the amazing world of Adobe Photoshop. We will cover examples of what is possible, how to get access to this powerful program, and you will also gain valuable experience with the most utilized editing tools and techniques. In addition, we will explore editing principles, best practices, and professional tips of editing your photos for course projects and personal creativity. This will be a hands-on workshop and space is limited, so register early. No experience required in Photoshop or photography. Available to all students, faculty, and staff. This is a hands-on workshop within a combined Mac/PC environment. Space is limited so register early. Available to all Rowan students, faculty, and staff. Limited to 12 participants.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None (Photoshop available on lab computers)
|
Location: Meet between Westby Hall and Science Hall at Westby Wilds, a Native Plant Smell Garden Dr. Jerohn Savitz, the first President of the Glassboro Normal School, is remembered for celebrating and conserving the native wildflowers of New Jersey. Honor his legacy, and our botanical and olfactory heritage, by exploring native fragrant flora on campus with students, faculty and staff. This 60-minute SCENTennial Trail group outing will take place on paved pathways and include an option to remain in the Smell Garden where seating is available. All smell abilities are encouraged. Together, “nosey mosey” attendees will locate, smell and discuss their sensory experience with fragrant native plants. Learning objectives:
Skill levels for attendees: Novice. Software Requirements: None |
Location: Rowan University Art Gallery, 301 High Street
Faculty: Mary Salvante, Gallery & Exhibitions Program Director, Rowan University Art Gallery
Learning objectives:
Learn about Rowan University Art Gallery’s program of curated contemporary art exhibitions by professional artists.
Learn how to partner with artists and the Gallery on educational programming.
Learn how contemporary art can be interpreted for use with a variety of curriculum.
The Rowan University Art Gallery serves as a resource for contemporary art for the Rowan community by cultivating an inclusive environment that encourages dialogue among artists, students, faculty, and the general public. Join Gallery Director and Curator Mary Salvante on a tour of the Gallery space at 301 High Street to experience the latest exhibition, while gaining an understanding of how public exhibitions come together through partnerships with nationally and internationally recognized professional artists. Each academic year, the Gallery presents four exhibitions covering a variety of interpretive themes, artistic materials, and creative techniques. This provides an opportunity for intersections with engineering, sociology, anthropology, history, education, environmental studies, social justice, performing arts, and women’s & gender studies, as well as the development of unique interdisciplinary collaborations through course projects, new research, community outreach, and other multidisciplinary practices.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Location: Meet on Bunce Green, in the center of Bunce Circle (weather permitting)
Faculty: Dr. Sara Wright from the Biological & Biomedical Sciences Department
Join the very first collaborative tour between the Rowan University Art Gallery & Museum and Sara Wright from the Biological & Biomedical Sciences Department for a 75-minute tree-viewing walking tour around the Glassboro campus. Materials from some of the tree species we will visit inspired sculptures made by artist Jack Larimore, which you will be able to view at the end of our walking tour inside the Rowan University Art Gallery & Museum. We encourage you to wear comfortable shoes for walking, as we may go off-path!
Learning objectives:
• Learn about the trees on Rowan's Glassboro Campus
• Learn about tree species that have inspired Jack Larimore's artwork
• Get your steps in!
Skill levels for attendees: Novice, wear good walking shoes - we will go off path!
Software Requirements: None
Location: James Hall, South side main lobby (by the “Glassboro Kaleidoscope")
Faculty: Mary Salvante, Gallery & Exhibitions Program Director, Rowan University Art Gallery
Learning objectives:
Learn about Rowan University’s public art collection.
Learn about the multidisciplinary process of preparing for, selecting, installing, and maintaining public art.
Learn about how our public art collection can be interpreted for use with a variety of curriculum.
Join Rowan University Art Gallery Director and Curator Mary Salvante on a walking tour of Rowan’s public art collection. Beyond its aesthetic significance, public art fulfills Rowan’s mission to provide diverse educational experiences by stimulating conversation and encouraging awareness of place. The pieces - sculptures, paintings, and monuments - represent our cultural legacy, serve to convey Rowan’s values and identity, encourage creative and critical thinking, expand appreciation for art, and extend the scholarly and creative culture beyond the classroom. Public art is studied by a diverse group of scholars, including art historians, architects, engineers, historians, geographers, and social scientists. In education, public art can be integrated into the curriculum to inspire creative and critical thinking, teach history and culture, develop awareness and appreciation for art, and explore the human condition. The Rowan public art collection explores themes in the humanities, biology, engineering, geography, literature, mathematics and science, medicine, philosophy, and even University history, making it ideal for inspiring new research, course projects, outreach, and creative development.
Both tours will begin at the central point of James Hall’s south side main lobby (by the “Glassboro Kaleidoscope") (address: 445 North Campus Drive, Glassboro, NJ 08028). The fall semester tour will cover the west side of campus, while the spring semester tour will cover the east side of campus.
Please note that the tour is an hour+ of moving across campus. Seating is limited or unavailable at the tour stops. Construction on campus may change the tour route. The tours are wheelchair accessible. In the case of inclement weather, the tour will be canceled.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Dr. Ashley York, Geography Department
Learning Objectives:
• Compare and contrast the capabilities and limitations of open-source vs. commercial GIS software.
• Understand the basic steps of gathering, organizing, and analyzing spatial data in a GIS software program and making a meaningful map.
• Use the open-source software, QGIS.
In general, Geographic Information Systems (GIS) provide a framework for gathering, organizing, and analyzing spatial data, that is visualized through maps. By arranging spatial information into coincident layers, GIS analyses help reveal deeper insights into a study area by identifying not only where features of interest are located, but also why patterns or processes are occurring. However, a number of various GIS software and online mapping platforms exist, each with a different range of analysis capabilities, but also with different accessibility limitations in terms of user cost (e.g., open-source vs. commercial). In this introductory workshop, participants will become familiar with popular GIS platforms’ capabilities and limitations (e.g., Google, OpenStreetMap, ArcGIS Pro, Terrset), as well as gain experience in the open-source software, QGIS.
Skills levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: QGIS is available on Citrix. Non-Rowan affiliates need to download it: https://qgis.org/download/
Faculty: Amanda Adams, Reference & Instruction Librarian and Ben Saracco, Research & Digital Services Librarian at Cooper Medical of Rowan University
Learning objectives:
This workshop will instruct participants on the steps involved and the planning process for systematic reviews, including faculty, librarian, and student roles. Systematic reviews identify, appraise, and synthesize all available evidence on a specific research question. A protocol is used to determine what will be included, and follow specific standards to reduce bias. Health sciences faculty may be interested including psychology, nursing, sports medicine, and other disciplines. The goal is to encourage more systematic review studies and collaboration with students and librarians.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Mike Benson, Digital Scholarship Specialist
Learning objectives:
Attendees will understand how to convert a scanned PDF to searchable text.
Attendees will understand how to make PDFs more accessible for those using screen readers.
In this in-person workshop, attendees will learn how to quickly convert scanned PDF documents to searchable text, which can help increase research speed and learning. Rowan instructors will learn how to make their course PDFs searchable and accessible. We will also share tips and resources for making PDF files and presentations more ADA accessible. Topics discussed will include searchable PDFs, accessibility, scanning documents, using a mobile device to create PDFs, converting to OCR, alt tags, and reducing file sizes of large PDFs. Please note that this is not a hands-on workshop. The presenter will demo the process and also share resources. Limited to 15 participants.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None (Acrobat Adobe DC available on lab computers)
Faculty: Mike Benson, Digital Scholarship Specialist
Learning objectives:
Attendees will understand why it is essential to create transcriptions of audio and video shared within a course.
Attendees will understand how to quickly create a transcription of audio, video, or live presentations.
Attendees will gain hands-on experience creating, editing, downloading, and sharing a transcription.
In this workshop, attendees will learn how to quickly create transcriptions of course audio, videos, and presentations for student learning and accessibility. We will demonstrate how to create a transcription of a video and a live conversation using a free plan of an online service. We will also demonstrate how to edit and download a transcription, which can be shared in email or uploaded to Canvas. We will also explore the features of a paid account, including a media player that allows the user to share audio and text in an interactive format. Limited to 20 participants.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None (Workshop is a demonstration and does not involve hands-on practice)
Faculty: Tim Dewysockie, Library Application Support Specialist
Learning objectives:
Learn to prepare and upload text for analysis in Voyant Tools.
Learn fundamental text analysis concepts through instruction and hands-on practice with Voyant’s suite of tools.
Voyant Tools is a web-based, open-source platform for text analysis, or the computational analysis of text. Text analysis has a wide range of applications, but in humanities research–such as in literary studies and historical research–it can be used to explore research questions in novel ways through “distant reading”. Unlike close reading, or the human interpretation of small amounts of text, distant reading utilizes computers to identify patterns and trends in large amounts of text. For example, text analysis can be used to determine which words appear most frequently in texts (word frequency analysis), show how terms are used in different contexts (keywords in context), identify topics (topic modeling), and much more. Text analysis is one methodology in the field of digital humanities that augments traditional humanities scholarship by providing interpretive tools to work with text on a large scale, in ways that would otherwise be too labor-intensive. This session will cover how to prepare and upload text into Voyant for analysis, explore fundamental text analysis concepts through Voyant’s built-in tools, and prompt reflection on the potential benefits–as well as the pitfalls–of using digital humanities methodologies and tools to explore humanities research questions.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Dan Kipnis, STEM Librarian
Learn about library research guides (Rowan librarian-created subject and course guides) and how to embed them directly in your Canvas course, directing your students to our wealth of library-subscribed and recommended sources without having to leave your site. Live demo of embedding, and plenty of time for your individual questions.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience.
Software requirements: None
Link to slides
Faculty: Dr. Ashley York, Department of Geography, Planning and Sustainability
Learning objectives:
Remote sensing is defined as the acquisition of information about an object or phenomenon without making physical contact with the object. This means that the human eye taking in visible light reflected by objects is technically remote sensing! But the science of remote sensing is generally based on the scanning of the Earth by satellite or aircraft in order to obtain information, usually electromagnetic radiation, about the surface. For example, certain waves of radiation (specifically, microwaves) can be used to distinguish between clouds, sea ice and ocean water. Or, the relationship between certain waves of light (red and infrared) can inform on the health of plants. Essentially, remote sensing uses the electromagnetic spectrum to distinguish between, and measure changing conditions of, different land covers on Earth. In this workshop, participants will learn the basics of remote sensing science and technology, common applications of remote sensing, how to acquire remotely sensed imagery and use spectral information to highlight properties of different land covers on Earth’s surface in a Geographic Information System.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Andrea Baer, History and Political Science Librarian
Learning objectives:
Identify Internet and library resources for locating primary sources.
Identify and apply effective search strategies for locating primary sources.
Locating primary sources for historical research can be both exciting and challenging. There is no central location for all primary source material, and it’s not always easy to determine what search terms will lead you to the content you want. In this hands-on workshop, participants will learn about good starting points for locating primary sources (both on the web and through the library) and will develop effective strategies for locating primary sources. This workshop includes time for hands-on practice and questions.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Mike Benson, Digital Scholarship Specialist
Learning Objectives:
This workshop will explore LinkedIn Learning, an online video training library with thousands of expert-created courses on topics such as creativity, design, business, programming, software, and technology. You can learn to edit photos, design a brochure, code a website, start a business, and even learn to develop a mobile app. You can learn what you need when you need it. You can take a course or watch a single video. You can earn certificates and badges when you complete a course.
LinkedIn Learning is free to current Rowan University students, faculty, or staff members through the Rowan University Libraries.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Dan Kipnis, Life Sciences Librarian
Learning objectives:
Literature mapping is a method for discovering and exploring connections among scholarly peer-reviewed articles on your research topic. It uses graphical methods to plot relationships among published scholarship (e.g., links via citations, authors, keywords, other descriptors). Literature mapping can help researchers see patterns that otherwise might not be evident. In this introductory workshop, Life Sciences Librarian Dan Kipnis, will present various s literature mapping techniques and online tools (i.e. Elicit, Semantic Scholar, and Litmaps) to help researchers discover scholarly literature beyond using traditional databases.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Faculty: Jon Jiras, Technology Services Librarian
Learning objectives:
LibKey Nomad is a free browser extension provided by Rowan University Libraries that makes accessing electronic journal articles easier. It links you to open access and licensed library content and allows you to avoid publisher paywalls when on publisher websites, search engines, and Wikipedia.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Dan Kipnis, Life Sciences Librarian
Learning objectives:
This workshop is designed as an introduction or refresher to Rowan University library services, particularly new faculty and transfer students. Topics covered will include using Library Search, online resources, research guides, and interlibrary loan. There will also be time reserved for questions and answers on general library services.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Denise Brush, Engineering Librarian
This workshop is for engineering or computer science graduate students who are ready to start writing their master's thesis or doctoral dissertation, but do not know how to find and cite scholarly publications related to their research topic. This workshop will teach you how to find scholarly publications in engineering and computer science using library resources and tools, and how to properly cite published research, giving you the skills and confidence to successfully write your thesis or dissertation.
Learning objectives:
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Dr. Ashley York, Lecturer, Department of Geography, Planning, and Sustainability
Learning objectives:
Many of us use Geographic Information Systems (GIS) in our everyday lives without even knowing it. The last time you used Google maps to get to a desired destination, you used GIS. Google is using spatial information about distance, speed limits, and traffic, in order to perform calculations that, ultimately, direct you to your destination along the fastest path. In general, GIS is a framework for gathering, organizing, and analyzing spatial data. By arranging spatial information into coincident layers, GIS software can help reveal deeper insights into patterns and relationships – not only where occurrences and processes of interest are happening, but also why. By visualizing data through maps, GIS users can make smarter decisions. In this introductory workshop, participants will learn the basic steps for gathering, organizing, and analyzing spatial data that are necessary to create a meaningful final map product using the ArcGIS Pro software program.
Note: This is a 75 minute workshop!
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Former Faculty: Bret McCandless, Performing Arts Librarian
Learning objectives:
This workshop will introduce participants to Tropy, an open-source software designed for academic researchers in the humanities that manages archival photographs and documents. Tropy helps researchers keep track of essential information such as the library, collection, folder, and page number for hundreds or thousands of photographs of archival documents, essential for documentation and publication. Come learn strategies for organization, searching, note-taking and metadata entry that will help you sift through intensive archival research. It is recommended that prior to attending, participants should download Tropy and may bring their own photographs for hands-on activities: https://tropy.org/
Skill levels for attendees: Some experience with archival research suggested
Software requirements: None
Former Faculty: Rachel King, Online Services and Scholarly Communications Librarian, CMSRU
Learning objectives:
If you've ever had a corrupted computer file, a damaged smartphone, or a stolen laptop, you know how easy it is to lose important digital data. What’s more, extreme weather will increase the likelihood of data loss in coming years. At the end of this one-hour virtual workshop, you'll have the skills you need to be your own digital archivist during an era of extreme weather. Through a combination of lecture and hands-on exercises, we'll cover tips for naming files, choosing file formats, and storing data for long-term access.At the end of the workshop, participants will feel confident in their ability to preserve their personal and professional digital data, and they will understand the challenges passing personal archives, including treasured photographs and videos, along to future generations.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Erin O'Neill, Assistant Director Communications, IRT and Dan Kipnis, STEM librarian
Learning objectives:
• To learn tips for writing effective prompts for ChatGPT or other AI sites
• Tips on things to avoid entering into AI prompts
• Get access to AI tools available via Rowan (CoPilot through Microsoft 365 & Firefly through Adobe Creative Cloud)
• Understand what Rowan data you can use in AI tools
Working with generative AI tools such as ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude, and Copilot can be frustrating if unsure of how to ask a question (prompt). In the workshop Prompt Perfect, Erin O’Neill, Assistant Director of Communications in the Rowan Division of Information Resources & Technology (IRT), and Dan Kipnis, STEM Librarian in the Campbell Library will walk you through tips for writing effective prompts. Additional topics will include ethical concerns and limitations in using generative AI tools, and an opportunity to practice and share among attendees.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Dan Kipnis, Life Sciences Librarian
Learning objectives:
Learn about Open Access resources for research
Discover add-on tools for accessing research
Learn what resources and services are available for Rowan alumni
Will I still have access to this database when I leave Rowan? This is a very common question that is asked by many Rowan students, staff and faculty. When Rowanites leave the institution many of the library databases (over 300 of them!) that are available for research from Rowan University Library system are unavailable. This workshop will highlight resources and services available to Rowan graduates and the Rowan community to help them with their research needs as they leave the University and transition to their next destination.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Dan Kipnis, Life Sciences Librarian
Learning objectives:
Google Scholar has rapidly become a starting point for research. Dan Kipnis, Life Sciences Librarian, will introduce search tips and tricks for searching Google Scholar. Rather than getting millions of results, learn techniques to focus your searches. In 30 minutes attendees will become power searchers and learn the tricks the expert searchers use to improve their results. The last 15 minutes will be dedicated to questions and practice.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software Requirements: None
Faculty: Ash Lierman, Instruction & Education Librarian
Learning objectives:
Identify key resources and services available from the Rowan University Libraries for online graduate and professional students.
Describe first steps for accessing library services as an online student
If you’re in an online graduate or professional program at Rowan, eventually you’ll need access to books, scholarly and professional articles, tools to make citing sources faster and easier, or just a friendly face to help you find information. If you’re an online student, though, you might not know how to find those things. It might have been a long time since you were a student before, and you might be intimidated by how much has changed. You might be new to graduate school, online learning, higher education in general, or the United States, and have extra questions about navigating information. Or, if you’re neurodivergent or disabled, you might be hoping there are library tools that can meet your specific research and writing needs.
If so, this workshop is for you! You’ll meet virtually with a librarian who specializes in online and graduate education, who will walk you through the services and resources the Libraries offer online students, and how to get started. You’ll also have the opportunity to help set the agenda with your own specific interests and questions. All are welcome, whether you’re at the beginning of your program or near the end: it’s never too late to learn something new!
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience, Lots of experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Ash Lierman, Education Librarian
Learning objectives:
Are you a Rowan employee who wants to make a difference for marginalized Rowan community members, but doesn’t know where to begin? This two-part workshop is intended to help you move from passion to progress, using a design thinking approach. In the first 60-minute session, we’ll introduce what design thinking is, how it helps, and how it applies to DEI and social justice work in higher education. We’ll then begin our own design thinking process, where each attendee will brainstorm and select an equity or inclusivity issue that you want to address in your work, then clearly define the problem, and plan how to find out more. Between the sessions, attendees will go out and gather real feedback from the community, and bring it back for the second session, where we’ll brainstorm ideas for projects to respond to the issues. At the end, each attendee will leave ready to prototype or pilot their project, and start making a change for our community. All Rowan staff and faculty from all campuses are welcome. Student workers, adjuncts, graduate student instructors, and all others are very much included!
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Organizers:
Rowan University Libraries is partnering with History and Writing Arts faculty to host a Wikipedia Edit-a-thon on digital representation, including in history and in alternative media. Our mission is to fill gaps in Wikipedia's coverage of people, groups, or issues that are culturally or historically relevant but currently underrepresented. The event theme is intentionally broad, in order to accommodate for a diversity of topics and interests.
This event will focus mainly on hands-on Wikipedia editing. Participants who are new to Wikipedia are encouraged to view the presentation recording from Rowan’s March 2023 Women’s History Month, which provides an introduction to Wikipedia Edit-a-thons and editing. During the live event, there will be a shorter introduction to Wikipedia editing. Librarians and faculty will also be available in person and virtually to answer questions. Participants can also continue editing online throughout the month of October.
There are numerous ways to contribute to Wikipedia, including adding citations to a select article, making small or substantial edits to an article, or even creating a new article on an overlooked topic, issue, event, or person. The event organizers have created this Wikipedia Dashboard, which will include some article suggestions, organized by topic.
No experience is necessary. Stay as long as you like during the live session, or participate virtually during or after the live event!
Wikipedia can be edited in guest mode or using an account you create. If you plan on creating a Wikipedia account (which is required for advanced features like creating new Wikipedia pages), create it in advance.
Faculty: Andrea Baer, Public Services Librarian
Learning Objectives:
Research and scholarship are sometimes described as conversations: people with varying kinds of knowledge and expertise on a topic and different perspectives on it ideally come together to share and further strengthen their individual and shared understandings. But having open and inclusive conversations is often tricky. Who is present in the conversation, who is absent, and how are people’s voices heard, muted, or amplified? How do people enter into the conversation, and what barriers stand in the way?
These questions point to the reality that scholarly conversations, like all conversations, are greatly influenced by the social structures and systems in which individuals and groups exist and interact, and which often advantage some while disadvantaging others. Inclusive citation practices, through which individuals seek out and engage with sources that reflect a diversity of voices and perspectives on a topic, can help to create more inclusive academic research and conversations. Participants in this workshop will explore the value of inclusive citation, as well as develop practical skills for inclusive citation.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Andrea Baer, History and Political Science Librarian
Learning Objectives:
People often think of technology and search engines like Google as neutral and unbiased. But search engine algorithms frequently reflect larger societal biases, as search engines “learn” from things like: the online content that they index, the topics for which people search, the search terms people use, and the links people click on. Google and other search engines also rank search results based partly on ad revenue, rather than prioritizing source relevance or credibility. Looking beyond Internet search engines, algorithms make predictions about us that can have real consequences on our everyday lives (for example, how much someone pays for insurance, whether someone gets a bank loan, or even if a person’s job application makes it to the eyes of those doing the hiring). Often this further exacerbates social inequities.
There are a good number of people and groups who are working actively to minimize and counteract the negative effects of bias in search systems and to build more ethical and human technology. But this work has a long road ahead. One thing that everyday citizens can do immediately is to increase our algorithmic awareness and to develop search and evaluation strategies that work to counteract the negative effects of algorithmic biases.
Challenging the notion that technology and algorithms are neutral, the workshop explores how algorithms influence both online search and everyday life. Participants are invited to consider how algorithms affect their online and offline experiences, to become familiar with where “algorithmic bias” might show up, and to strengthen their abilities to minimize its negative effects, starting with increased algorithmic awareness.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Andrea Baer, Public Services Librarian
Learning objectives:
The spread of misinformation has always been a problem, but the Internet, social media, and other digital technologies have intensified the speed and ease at which misinformation spreads. The often reactive nature of our brains and of our personal biases also play a role, especially given increased political polarization in the U.S. and beyond. Once misinformation has spread, correcting it isn’t as simple as merely telling people that information is inaccurate. People tend to continue believing the false information despite the correction. This is especially true when the misinformation reinforces a person's pre-existing beliefs.
But there are useful ways to counter misinformation! In this workshop you’ll be introduced to effective “debunking” strategies and on related research on the relationship between our brains, beliefs, and the spread of misinformation.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Andrea Baer, Public Services Librarian
Learning objectives:
Over the past several years, almost all of us have become highly reliant on digital technologies and platforms to complete everyday tasks and to meet many of our most basic social, emotional, intellectual, and physical needs. At the same time that digital technologies help us connect with others and to engage in meaningful activities, digital platforms can also be sources of stress that divide our attention, negatively affect our physical health, and pose privacy concerns.
In this interactive workshop, we will reflect on the positive and negative effects that our relationships to digital technologies have on us as individuals and as communities. We will consider recent research on this topic, as well as everyday examples of people's relationships to technology and digital wellness. Throughout the session, we will consider our digital wellness priorities and related actions we can take to better support digital wellness in our own lives and in our communities.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: Computer recommended but not required
Faculty: Andrea Baer, Public Services Librarian
Learning objectives:
When you come across information on social media or in a news article, a website, or even a scholarly journal, you might sometimes wonder whether you can trust the information you see. Among the key questions you might ask is whether the person making a claim or an argument has the appropriate level of expertise or the right motivations. In some cases, it’s pretty easy to determine who is really behind a source and whether you can trust them and what they say about themselves and about an issue. In other cases, a person might look credible on the surface, but with a little digging you learn that they are not what they first appeared to be. Evaluating expertise is particularly important when evaluating information found on social media or in unfamiliar sources and when evaluating claims about contested issues.
In this workshop, participants will explore approaches to evaluating the expertise and trustworthiness of information sources, particularly when evaluating online sources. The workshop will include discussion, reflection, and hands-on activities through which attendees develop and apply strategies and guiding questions for evaluating expertise and source reliability.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, some experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Andrea Baer, Public Services Librarian & Dan Kipnis, Life Sciences Librarian
Learning objectives:
Critical evaluation of online sources has become a necessary and required skill in academia, as well as in everyday use of the internet. With the explosion of fake news, pseudoscience, and deep fake videos, how can researchers determine if a source is legitimate? While in some cases it’s fairly obvious that a source is suspect, at other times this isn’t so straightforward. Recent research indicates that both university professors and college students have difficulty recognizing misleading online sources that at first glance look reputable. The close reading skills that are key to academic work differ from the evaluation strategies needed when quickly determining whether an online source is trustworthy enough to be worth a closer look.
In this 1-hour workshop, librarians Andrea Baer and Dan Kipnis will introduce “lateral reading” strategies that involve quickly moving off of a webpage and learning more about a source from other online information. This workshop is informed by the work of Mike Caulfield and of the Stanford History Education Group. (For a quick overview of these strategies see libguides.rowan.edu/EvaluatingOnlineSources.)
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Andrea Baer, Public Services Librarian
Learning objectives:
Identify scenarios in which algorithmic bias influences search results in a given online environment.
Identify scenarios in which algorithmic bias influences everyday life choices or decisions.
Identify and apply simple strategies for recognizing and counteracting the negative effects of algorithmic bias.
People often think of technology and search engines like Google as neutral and unbiased. But search engine algorithms frequently reflect larger societal biases, as search engines “learn” from things like: the online content that they index, the topics for which people search, the search terms people use, and the links people click on. Google and other search engines also rank search results based partly on ad revenue, rather than prioritizing source relevance or credibility. Looking beyond Internet search engines, algorithms make predictions about us that can have real consequences on our everyday lives (for example, how much someone pays for insurance, whether someone gets a bank loan, or even if a person’s job application makes it to the eyes of those doing the hiring). Often this further exacerbates social inequities.
There are a good number of people and groups who are working actively to minimize and counteract the negative effects of bias in search systems and to build more ethical and human technology. But this work has a long road ahead. One thing that everyday citizens can do immediately is to increase our algorithmic awareness and to develop search and evaluation strategies that work to counteract the negative effects of algorithmic biases.
Challenging the notion that technology and algorithms are neutral, the workshop explores how algorithms influence both online search and everyday life. Participants are invited to consider how algorithms affect their online and offline experiences, to become familiar with where “algorithmic bias” might show up, and to strengthen their abilities to minimize its negative effects, starting with increased algorithmic awareness.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Andrea Baer, Public Services Librarian
Learning objectives:
Have you ever been told not to use Wikipedia because anyone can edit it and it therefore isn’t a reliable source? Do you use Wikipedia, whether with or without reservation? How should you understand Wikipedia’s role amidst a sea of information, when the Internet provides access to such a wide range of information sources that vary greatly in quality and credibility?
In this interactive workshop, participants will learn about the values, principles, and practices to which the Wikipedia Foundation aspires and will consider the advantages and the limitations of Wikipedia as an information source. Building on this foundational knowledge, participants will develop strategies for effectively evaluating the credibility of individual Wikipedia articles and will consider how to use Wikipedia wisely for their own research and information needs.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Organizers: Tim Dewysockie and Andrea Baer
Registration required
This coming March, Rowan University Libraries is partnering with Women’s and Gender Studies to host a Wikipedia Edit-a-thon for Women’s History Month. Our mission is to fill gaps in Wikipedia's coverage of Women's History.
We’ll have a 2-hour kick-off meeting in early March. In the first hour, the facilitators will introduce the basics of Wikipedia editing. The live presentation will be recorded and will followed by an hour of hands-on editing. During that time the facilitators will also be available to help. Participants can also continue editing online throughout the month of March, and the facilitators will continue be available throughout the month to help.
After learning the basics during the first hour of the live kick-off meeting, you will have the tools you need to help combat Wikipedia's gender imbalance. There are numerous ways to contribute to Wikipedia, including adding citations to a select article, making small or substantial edits to an article, or even creating a new article on an overlooked topic, issue, event, or person.
No experience is necessary. Stay as long as you like during the live session, or participate virtually during or after the live event!
Wikipedia can be edited in guest mode or using an account you create. If you plan on creating a Wikipedia account (which is required for advanced features like creating new Wikipedia pages), create it in advance.
Faculty: Mercedes Byrd, Problem-based Learning Librarian
Learning objectives:
1. Begin to develop excellent evidence based practice by learning how to Identify reputable, valid, and relevant AI tools and academic resources (library site, libguides, databases) and sources (articles, websites, journals) of information and efficiently appraise each.
2. Discover AI tools and responsible uses of AI that can be utilized in your medical education.
This workshop will introduce medical students to the responsible and effective use of AI tools in their medical education. It will cover topics such as: Identifying reputable sources of information Utilizing AI tools for personalized learning, research assistance, and academic presentation Understanding the ethical implications of AI in medicine. By participating in this workshop, medical students will gain valuable skills that can enhance their learning experience, improve their research capabilities, and prepare them for the future of medicine. Specifically, they will learn how to: Leverage AI to personalize their education and optimize their study plans Use AI tools to streamline literature reviews, analyze data, and design presentations Navigate the ethical considerations surrounding AI in healthcare. Ultimately, this workshop aims to empower medical students to harness the power of AI responsibly and ethically, ensuring they are well-equipped to thrive in the evolving landscape of medical practice.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Sam Kennedy, Information Literacy Librarian, Ash Lierman, Instruction & Education Librarian, and Allison Novak, Public Relations Professor.
Learning objectives:
Participants will be able to use library and open web resources to help them find and implement pre-made affordable materials.
Educational costs are more of a challenge than ever in our current remote learning situation, where used textbooks are more difficult to acquire and other economic circumstances may be creating difficulties for students. This workshop will assist teaching faculty who want to alleviate their students' burdens by replacing costly course textbooks with high-quality alternatives that are free or low-cost to students. We will discuss the benefits of using affordable and accessible materials even beyond saving students money, and bust some common myths about alternatives to traditional textbooks. We will also provide practical strategies for multiple methods of implementing alternatives, with realistic estimations of the time and effort required for each, and demonstrate how to find and evaluate pre-existing materials using library resources and on the open web. Please join us to learn how you can help your students be less stressed and more engaged with your teaching, as soon as next semester!
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Dan Kipnis, Life Sciences Librarian
Learning objectives:
Scholarly publishing is an important part of a faculty member’s academic and scholarly life cycle. With the rise of digital publishing, however, it is important to have the tools and awareness to identify quality journals to publish in. In this workshop, attendees will learn what to look for in identifying and avoiding predatory publishers and will be introduced to resources to help with evaluating open access journals. The workshop includes a hands-on activity where attendees will evaluate an online journal for its quality and credibility by applying criteria learned during the workshop and using some tools that the Rowan University Libraries licenses.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Ben Saracco, Reference and Research Librarian, Cooper Medical of Rowan University
Learning Objectives:
Learn about different components of digital management plans (DMPs).
Learn about resources available at Rowan to assist with writing better DMPs and infrastructure that may be available to meet funder requirements.
Learn how to better manage the research lifecycle.
External funding agencies are increasingly requiring researchers to write effective Data Management Plans (DMPs) as part of their grant proposals. DMPs include information on how researchers plan to manage, store and preserve research data to meet funding agency requirements for their grant award. This workshop will guide researchers about the different components of a DMP, best practices for writing effective DMPs and introduce tools and resources available to Rowan researchers for the same. This guidance will help researchers be more effective with managing their research lifecycle and also meet external funding agency data retention and public access requirements. This workshop is open to Rowan faculty, students, and staff.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Ben Saracco, Reference and Research Librarian, Rowan University and Denise Brush, Engineering Librarian, Rowan University.
Learning objectives:
ORCIDs (Open Researcher and Contributor IDentifiers) are useful to all who participate in research, scholarship, and innovation. An ORCID helps to uniquely identify and connect researchers to their contributions and affiliations across time, disciplines, and borders. In this workshop, attendees will learn more about ORCIDs, their benefits and their significance in the research workflow. There will also be time during the workshop to create ORCIDs if an attendee does not have one. This workshop is open to Rowan faculty, students and staff.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Former Faculty: Rachel King, Online Services and Scholarly Communications Librarian
Learning objectives:
Participants will understand the basics of Fair Use and its application in using licensed or copyrighted materials/e-resources for teaching, learning, and scholarship.
This workshop will introduce participants to the basics of copyright. The focus will be on understanding the basics of copyright for creators and users. We will explore the role of the library in managing use of print materials and licensed electronic resources. The workshop will also briefly introduce participants to key issues related to fair use for teaching, learning and scholarship. A deeper dive will be available in the Fair Use and Instruction workshop. It is intended for informational purposes only and is not legal advice. This workshop is intended for faculty and graduate students.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Former Faculty: Bret McCandless, Music and Performing Arts Librarian
Learning objectives:
Copyright is particularly complicated in the creative arts, and creators should want to know what their rights are, the limitations of those rights, and the possibilities and limitations of incorporating copyrighted works in their creative processes. Copyright and licensing have been major news in the past year, from Taylor Swift’s masters to the rise of NFTs. Even Rowan Theatre’s 2021 production of Plum Bum required copyright knowledge to be staged. This workshop will only scratch the surface of some of these complex issues, but will include information on copyright, licensing and licensing organizations, fair use, and the public domain. It will also point to other concerns that participants may need to explore further for their own creative goals. This workshop is intended for informational purposes only and should not be considered as legal advice.
Former Faculty: Rachel King, Online Services and Scholarly Communications Librarian
Learning objectives:
Participants will implement strategies for using classroom materials in an ethical manner.
This workshop will introduce teaching faculty to the ways that copyright specifically affects classroom and online instruction. The focus will be on the rights and limitations of the fair use doctrine, which allows the use of copyright-protected works in certain circumstances, including considerations of educational purposes. The workshop will introduce the traditional four factors of a fair use analysis, and participants will practice using this analysis in a variety of situations. The workshop is intended for informational purposes only and is not legal advice.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Former Faculty:
Learning objectives:
Evaluate a journal's reputation and impact
Identify opportunities and funding resources for those wanting to publish their work in open access venues.
Avoid predatory journals.
There are many factors for researchers in the biomedical sciences to consider when choosing a journal for their research. Prestige and impact have always been key, but now there are additional factors—for example, the ability to make work open access (OA). OA publication means that the article is free to all readers, potentially amplifying the article's influence and reach. But how does one find reputable publications? And what about the steep fees (called APCs or article processing charges) that are often required to make work free to readers? This workshop, designed for medical researchers—in particular, students and faculty at Rowan's medical campuses—will give attendees a clearer understanding of the academic publishing landscape. Topics covered will include: the nuances of OA publishing, appraising journal impact and reputation, learning more about potential OA funding opportunities (including those provided by Rowan University Libraries), and avoiding predatory publishers. Whether you are a first-time or seasoned author you will walk away with the information you need to find the most appropriate venues for your work.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Andrea Baer, Public Services Librarian
Learning objectives:
Reflect on the value of seeking a diversity of perspectives and voices when researching a topic, as well as barriers to locating a diversity of voices and perspectives in scholarly conversations.
Identify ways that citations influence conversations about a given topic, including what perspectives and voices are included or excluded.
Identify and apply strategies for diversifying the perspectives and voices reflected in your citations.
Research and scholarship are sometimes described as conversations: people with varying kinds of knowledge and expertise on a topic and different perspectives on it ideally come together to share and further strengthen their individual and shared understandings. But having open and inclusive conversations is often tricky. Who is present in the conversation, who is absent, and how are people’s voices heard, muted, or amplified? How do people enter into the conversation, and what barriers stand in the way?
These questions point to the reality that scholarly conversations, like all conversations, are greatly influenced by the social structures and systems in which individuals and groups exist and interact, and which often advantage some while disadvantaging others. Inclusive citation practices, through which individuals seek out and engage with sources that reflect a diversity of voices and perspectives on a topic, can help to create more inclusive academic research and conversations. Participants in this workshop will explore the value of inclusive citation, as well as develop practical skills for inclusive citation.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Dan Kipnis, Life Sciences Librarian
Learning objectives:
Since the creation of the internet, online information and scholarly research have been made easily accessible with a simple click of a mouse. Or have they? In this workshop issues of information privilege, paywalls and the cost of research will be explored. This workshop will help all Rowan scholars learn how they can get the support they need and to learn more about the information ecosystem that influences how information is created and shared.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software Requirements: None
Faculty: Andrea Shipper, Research and Evidence Synthesis Faculty Librarian
Systematic reviews are a research project that uses explicit methodology to identify, select, and critically appraise relevant research that answers a specific research question. This workshop will cover the basic topics you need to know before starting a systematic review. We'll discuss systematic reviews and how they compare to other research methodologies, standards for conducting reviews, and the steps in conducting a systematic review. This workshop focuses primarily on systematic reviews conducted in the health sciences, but will be relevant to research in life science, physical science, and social science fields as well.
Learning Objectives:
1. Define systematic reviews and understand their value in the scientific literature.
2. Highlight key standards used to prepare for, conduct, and report systematic reviews.
3. Obtain an introductory overview of the systematic review process.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Denise Brush, Institutional Repository and Data Curation Librarian
Learning Objectives:
1. Learn why it is important for researchers to document and manage their data
2. Learn about requirements and best practices for making data accessible to others
3. Learn about tools and repositories to manage and store research data
This workshop is for graduate students and faculty involved in research that results in data, whether in science, engineering, or social sciences. The workshop will explain why researchers are expected to use formal processes to document and manage their data. Data management is important throughout the life of every research project, starting with the creation of a data management plan and ending with locating an appropriate data repository. Topics introduced will include data management plans; funder mandates; best practices for data curation; creating a unique identifier for your dataset; and choosing a data repository.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Denise Brush, Institutional Repository and Data Curation Librarian
Learning objectives:
1. Understand what is Open Access (OA).
2. Understand the implications of OA for formal publication and commercialization
3.. Be able to determine when opting for OA is appropriate and when it is not
This workshop is for graduate and undergraduate students involved in science and engineering research on the Glassboro campus. It is critical for students to understand the pros and cons of making their research results available worldwide on Rowan University's institutional repository (Rowan Digital Works). While Open Access has many benefits, there are also potential issues around journal publication and commercialization that must be considered. Student researchers should understand the implications of making their research Open Access, to make an informed choice now and in their future research. This workshop will be offered multiple times; all student researchers should try to attend one session.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Ben Saracco, Reference and Research Librarian, Cooper Medical of Rowan University
Learning Objectives:
Scholarly publishing is an important part of a faculty member’s academic and scholarly lifecycle. With the rise of digital and open access publishing, however, it is important to have an understanding of open access especially in the context of the changing scholarly communication system. In this workshop, attendees will learn the current challenges in the scholarly communication system, understand the different pathways to open access and learn about the open access publishing opportunities that Rowan University Libraries has made available to Rowan authors via publisher agreements.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Former Faculty: Shilpa Rele, Scholarly Communication and Data Curation Librarian, Bret McCandless, Music and Performing Arts Librarian Faculty: Christine Davidian, Electronic Resources and Serials Librarian.
Learning objectives:
Description:
This workshop will introduce participants to creative commons licenses, which allow more freedom than traditional copyright for access, distribution, and re-use. Creative Commons licenses give everyone from individual creators to large institutions a standardized way to grant the public permission to use their creative work under copyright law. They also ensure that licensors get credit for the work they deserve. This workshop will be useful for creators (anyone in the Rowan community) who want to make their work more accessible and for creators who want to reuse and adapt existing materials in their work.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Marlowe Bogino, Clinical and Reference Librarian
Learning objectives:
The 2003 NIH Data Sharing Policy has been revised, and the new policy goes into effect on January 25, 2023. In January 2023, the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) will begin requiring researchers who obtain funds from them to include a data-management plan in their grant applications and to eventually make their data publicly available.
This workshop is geared to those participating in NIH-funded research and those who simply are interested in learning more about this policy, which the NIH believes will accelerate research and discovery by increasing accessibility to data. This workshop will provide information on the policy and will highlight important features of it. Attendees will come away with a list of resources and tools to assist with understanding how to best comply with this new policy, as well as knowledge about Rowan library-specific tools and services that are available to assist with data management. This workshop is open to all students, researchers, medical students, clinicians, and staff members.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Sara Borden, CA, Head of Archival Collections and Services
Learning objectives:
This workshop will clear up common misconceptions about archives (they're dusty! they're only for historians!), while examining and highlighting the truly exceptional and remarkable documents, manuscripts, objects, and other ephemera that can be found in Rowan University Archives and Special Collections (UASC). Attendees will see digitized images of the treasures in UASC and will have an improved sense of UASC holdings and what is necessary to do research within them. There will also be time for comments Q&A.
Faculty: Dan Kipnis, Life Sciences Librarian
Learning Objectives:
Deciding where to publish a manuscript can be fraught with obstacles and many uncertainties. Difficulties in publishing include: deciphering open access availability, data management challenges, and navigating the explosion of predatory publishers. In this interactive workshop, Dan Kipnis the Life Sciences Librarian, will introduce various case studies using different academic personas including graduate student, tenure track faculty and an employee working industry to help walk through the issues to think about in selecting a journal for publication.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience, Some experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Andrea Shipper, Research and Evidence Synthesis Faculty Librarian
Are you interested in writing a review, but don't know which type is the best for you? This workshop will focus on types of reviews conducted in medicine, science, and social science. You will learn about systematic reviews, scoping reviews, literature reviews, and more. You'll learn about each methodology and how to decide which type is best for your research question, timeline, and resources.
Learning Objectives
1) Learn about different types of evidence synthesis methodologies.
2) Be able to decide which type of review is best for your needs.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Leslie Allison, PhD, Senior Lecturer in Writing Arts
Learning Objectives:
Do you find your students struggling to differentiate between formal journalism, peer reviewed sources, and random digital content? Do your students seem unsure about how to find credible news sources related to their field of study? Come learn how the nonprofit organization, The News Literacy Project, can enhance your teaching, no matter your discipline. A demonstration of the News Literacy Project's “Checkology” classroom will be provided, featuring interchangeable videos, activities, and quizzes designed to build student skills in combating misinformation and identifying credible sources. This workshop is for instructors teaching writing intensive classes or those that involve sustained source-based research projects.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None
Faculty: Andrea Baer, Public Services Librarian and Assistant Professor in the Library
Learning Objectives:
Decoding the Disciplines (DtD) is an approach to instructional design that begins with identifying the places where students often get “stuck” in the learning process, and then considering if those “stuck places” (or “bottlenecks”) point to tacit knowledge, assumptions, and practices among experts in a field that are not understood outside of it (Middendorf and Pace, 2004). By “decoding” the tacit knowledge and mental moves that disciplinary experts bring to a specific problem or task, faculty engaged with DtD often use the model to better design learning experiences that provide modeling, opportunities for practice, and feedback, all of which are shaped to engage and motivate students.
In this workshop, participants will be introduced to the Decoding the Disciplines model and will consider its potential to inform their own teaching. As part of this process, participants will engage with a series of reflective questions about scholarship and knowledge creation within their disciplines. These questions, inspired by DtD and the Association of College & Research Libraries' (ACRL) Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education, are adapted from librarian Sara D. Miller’s faculty development work with Decoding the Disciplines. Through both individual reflection and dialogue with faculty from different disciplines, participants will consider if/how their responses to these questions unearth tacit disciplinary knowledge, assumptions, and practices that might be made explicit in their teaching. Participants will finally consider implications for their teaching that are illuminated through their engagement with Decoding the Disciplines and cross-disciplinary conversations.
Skill levels for attendees: Little to no experience
Software requirements: None