Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sophomore Engineering Clinic

Course guide for students in Sophomore Engineering Clinic doing an annotated bibliography.

Quick Start

This guide will help you create an annotated bibliography on a topic using scholarly sources from the library. An annotated bibliography is a list of sources on a topic with a summary of what each source said.

For more in-depth instruction on creating an annotated bibliography, view this online tutorial.

The best place to start your literature search is the Compendex database on the Engineering Village platform. You may find enough articles on your topic there. If not, try some of the library's other engineering databases. 

Recommended Article Databases for Engineering

Listed below are the library databases most often used to locate published research in engineering by research topic. They can be found through the Database Finder on the Campbell Library home page (https://libguides.rowan.edu/az.php).

Each database has its own search engine which can be used to generate a list of articles and papers on a topic. In most cases the full text of the article will be available online.

Tip: Accessing article full-text

The library does not subscribe to every journal published. When looking at a results list within a database, look for a Get it! button with Rowan University branding to find sources of full text.