Research Guides: Civil Rights in the United States: Articles

Articles & Databases

Articles, in comparison to books, are shorter and usually discuss a more focused topic. Library databases provide access to scholarly articles and other resources that are often unavailable on the open web.

Recommended databases for History

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of full-text scholarly journal articles in a broad range of academic disciplines.
Coverage includes the full text from volume 1, number 1 through the current date in some cases or, more often, up to a period of embargo from six months to five years depending on the arrangements with the title's vendor.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text database of current scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
JStor can also be searched simultaneously using the advanced search feature on the Project Muse page.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search tool for scholarly literature in world history outside North America.
Abstracts and some full text of journal articles, citations to books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding North America) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
African-American History This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia of African-American history.
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.

Interdisciplinary Databases

These interdisciplinary databases can be good starting points for your research.

Library Search
Rowan University Libraries' main search tool. Includes all of the Libraries' physical collections and most of its digital resources.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine and news articles in all academic disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 6,600 journals.
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of reference works on American government, current affairs, politics and public policy.
Contains resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Individual resources available in the Library include the following: CQ Almanac; CQ Researcher Plus Archives; CQ Weekly; Political Handbook of the World; Politics in America; and the Supreme Court Yearbook.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,000 journals and the Congressional Record...
complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR from inception
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Index to articles published 1907 – 1984 in the humanities and social sciences.
This database contains citations only, no full text.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine and news articles in all academic fields, in 27 subject databases.
ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world.