Research Guides: Food Systems Research: Food Systems Literature

Finding Articles

Subscription databases and e-journal collections available through the library website provide an easy way to search for articles on a research topic without knowing the titles of specific articles or even specific journals.

Library Databases A-Z list
List of all the databases the Rowan library subscribes to.

Library Databases for Food Research

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal, magazine, and news articles in all academic disciplines.
GeoBase This link opens in a new window
Search tool for scholarly literature in geography, earth, and environmental sciences. Included many sources which are not available through Library Search.
GEOBASE is a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences and other subject areas like ecology, geology and environmental sciences. The database covers thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications and book series.
Georef (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive geoscience literature of the world including millions of references to geoscience maps, serial, and non-serial literature. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine and news articles about the environment.
Offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine and news articles in all academic fields.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in a variety of social science journals.
Covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring journals from several countries, facilitating multidisciplinary research and providing researchers with a variety of perspectives.
Sustainability This link opens in a new window
Academic and policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Full text database of scientific journal articles with data on who has cited them.
Provides immediate data on who has cited research papers, covering high impact journals, including Open Access journals, conference proceedings, and current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.

What is LibKey Nomad?

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension for the Chrome, Firefox, and Edge web browsers.

*Important Note* The Rowan University Information Security Office has blocked access to the Chrome browser extension library on Rowan managed laptops and desktops of Rowan faculty and staff that have access to PHI (Protected Healthcare Information). Those users will not be able to install LibKey Nomad on Chrome. A work-around is to install and use LibKey Nomad on a different browser.

Once you install LibKey Nomad, you can use it to download full text articles to which we subscribe, from any publisher website where you find them. (Otherwise you would need to go to the library website to access the full text if you are off campus.)

When the full text PDF is available to you, you will see a LibKey Download PDF icon in the bottom left corner of the page.

If it is not, you will see a button labeled Access Options which will direct you to our Interlibrary Loan system.

Watch the short video shown below to learn how to download the extension for the browser you use.

LibKey Nomad Installation
Video showing you how to install LibKey Nomad