Educational Leadership

What's This?

This guide lists resources and tools that will help you to conduct research on educational leadership and use the materials you find.

What If I Need Help?

Contact Ash Lierman at lierman@rowan.edu !

Campbell Library subscribes to the Chronicle of Higher Education, and you can access all of its articles from off-campus. You just need to use a library link to access it -- either from the Database Finder on our website or this guide -- and log in with your Rowan University NetID.

The best way to access scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles from Rowan University Libraries is through our databases. Databases are self-contained online tools that provide large searchable collectionsn of articles and other materials. They may contain articles from a large variety of subjects, or focus on only one subject.

Below are some key databases specific to education and educational leadership, as well as a few other tips and tools.

If you don't see a Full Text link below the article citation, look for a button labeled "Get it!" This application will check for access to the full text of the article within the library's subscriptions.

If a message is displayed indicating that we don't have access, choose the Campbell Library Interlibrary Loan Request link to order the article through our Illiad online system.

You may prefer to use Google Scholar to find scholarly articles, and that's okay too! Just make sure that you can access the articles you find, by linking Google Scholar to Rowan University Libraries' resources.

1. From the Google Scholar home page, click the button in the top left with three horizontal lines: 
2. Select Settings.
3. In the Settings area, click the option in the left navigation that says Library links.
4. In the search box marked Show library access links for (choose up to five libraries):, search for Rowan University.
5. An option should appear below the search box that reads "Rowan University - FullText@RowanUniversity" with a check-box next to it. Click the check-box so it is selected.
6. Click Save in the lower right.

Now when you search in Google Scholar from this browser, your results should link directly to full text of each article, courtesy of Rowan University Libraries.

Also note that Library Search actually searches for books and journal articles simultaneously, unless you narrow your search to only books, via the menu options on the left side of the screen.

Books on educational administration will mostly have call numbers beginning with LB. These are located on the fourth floor of the library.

Dissertations may appear in your results in databases like ERIC or Education Source, but you won't be able to access their full text directly. They also won't always appear in results from the main Rowan search box.

Instead, search for dissertations in this database, which has PDF copies of nearly every dissertation submitted since 1997:

A good starting point is to search for your topic in our Newspaper Articles search. (This search can also be accessed from the top bar of an Advanced Search in the main search box on the Campbell Library webpage).

These searchable databases all include large amounts of newspaper articles that may be relevant to education.

These are resources that will help you conduct original research in education, at Rowan or elsewhere.

These tools can help you identify quality journals to publish in, avoid predatory publishers, and manage other aspects of authorship.

Use these tools to organize and cite your sources, and to learn different citation styles.

These are software tools designed to help you save, organize, and cite the sources you find for your research.

Have an unusual citation problem to solve, or need to learn the mechanics of APA style? These tools provide more information and examples.