Online Instructional & Research Support
- Online instruction sessions: Offered via WebEx or in your online course's Zoom platform
- Online tutorials from Campbell Library: Interactive tutorials on multiple aspects of research and information us
- Instructional guides: Contact me about designing resources or activities to support a research assignment. You can also explore these teaching resources:
- Primary Source Research
- Citation Chaining (how to find more sources through tracing citations)
- Research Toolkit (guidance and activities on developing a research question and finding and using sources)
- News Literacy Toolkit
- Evaluating Online Sources Guide
- Understanding Misinformation (And Things to Do about It!)
- Assignment Design
- Effective Research Assignments (recommendations for source-based research assignments)
- Project CORA: Assignments
- Online research consultations: Students or faculty can schedule a meeting by emailing me at baera@rowan.edu or by using this request form.)
- Course sites and syllabi: Include my contact information in your course syllabus. Encourage students to use me as a resource.
- Canvas or Blackboard course site: Include a link in your course site menu to this research guide or to the Library homepage. Or talk with me about "embedding" me in your course, where I can answer student questions in a designated discussion forum.
Library Electronic Resources
Below are key tools for accessing library e-resources.
Tip: Get the permalink! When linking in your online course to records from Library Search or from a library database, copy that item’s “permalink.” Then anyone on- or off-campus will be able to access it. (Web browser links don't always work later.)
- Library Search: Available from the Campbell Library Homepage or at primo.rowan.edu. Includes most of the Library's e-resources and databases, as well as our physical materials. (See the Library Search Help Guide for search tips.)
- Finding E-Books Guide: includes information on which e-book platforms have unlimited user licenses and/or allow users to download large portions of the text.
- Database Finder: includes a searchable A-Z list of all of our databases, which can be limited by subject;. All links work both on- and off-campus
- Video Streaming services:
- Films on Demand
- Kanopy
- Academic Video Online
- NJVid/Illumira: academic and research videos (mostly documentaries)
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL): Though currently the Library cannot provide print materials via ILL (due to COVID-19), you may still request individual articles or book chapters using the ILLiad service, which often can be delivered electronically.
Open Educational Resources
Open educational resources (OER) have "open licenses" that allow you to reuse and often to adapt materials. Review an item's license for information about how to credit the source and whether it can be adapted. In addition to the general OER below, see the Open Educational Textbooks+ for History page.
- Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)Searches across numerous OER-specific sites
- OASISOpenly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) searches numerous platforms for open content including textbooks, courses, and course materials.
OER Commons
Creative Commons (CC)-licensed resources can be reused. Use the Commons to find CC-licensed images, or to get a CC license for your own materials.
JStor has partnered with leading academic publishers to provide open access ebooks, journals, and ebooks and media.
- Open Library (Internet Archive)Large collection of e-books that are often available as print materials in libraries. Please not only one user can check out a book at a time.
- Open Educational Resources Guide (Rowan)Learn more about OER.