Why Books?
In-depth and introductory material may be found in online and print books on a variety of topics. Books take much longer to write (and read) and are designed for long-form explanations of fields and larger issues. Use Library Search or the box below to find print and electronic books in Rowan's collection.
Books are organized in our libraries using the Library of Congress Classification System. The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items. Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.
New Music Education Books 2020-2021
Compassionate Music Teaching by Call Number: Available ONLINE and in print: MT1 .H44 2018ISBN: 9781475837346Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Complicating, Considering, and Connecting Music Education by
In Complicating, Considering, and Connecting Music Education, Lauren Kapalka Richerme proposes a poststructuralist-inspired philosophy of music education. Complicating current conceptions of self, other, and place, Richerme emphasizes the embodied, emotional, and social aspects of humanity. She also examines intersections between local and global music making. Next, Richerme explores the ethical implications of considering multiple viewpoints and imagining who music makers might become. Ultimately, she offers that music education is good for facilitating differing connections with one's self and multiple environments. Throughout the text, she also integrates the writings of Gilles Deleuze and Félix Guattari with narrative philosophy and personal narratives. By highlighting the processes of complicating, considering, and connecting, Richerme challenges the standardization and career-centric rationales that ground contemporary music education policy and practice to better welcome diversity.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9780253047373Publication Date: 2020-05-05
Creative and Critical Projects in Classroom Music by
Creative and Critical Projects in Classroom Music is both a celebration and extension of John Paynter and Peter Aston's groundbreaking work on creative classroom music, Sound and Silence, first published in 1970. Building on the central themes of the original work - the child as artist, the role of musical imagination and creativity, and the process of making music - the authors and contributors provide a contemporary response to the spirit and style of Sound and Silence. They offer reflections on the ideas and convictions underpinning Paynter and Aston's work in light of scholarship developed during the intervening years. This critical work is accompanied by 16 creative classroom projects designed and enacted by contemporary practitioners, raising questions about the nature and function of music in education and society. In summary, this book aims to: Celebrate seminal work on musical creativity in the classroom. Promote the integration of practical, critical and analytical writing and thinking around this key theme for music education. Contribute to initiating the next 50 years of thought in relation to music creativity in the classroom. Offering a unique combination of critical scholarship and practical application, and published on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of Sound and Silence, themes from Paynter and Aston's work are here given fresh context that aims to inspire a new generation of innovative classroom practice and to challenge current ways of thinking about the music classroom.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9780367816179Publication Date: 2020-10-29
Humane Music Education for the Common Good by
Why teach music? Who deserves a music education? Can making and learning about music contribute to the common good? In Humane Music Education for the Common Good, scholars and educators from around the world offer unique responses to the recent UNESCO report titled Rethinking Education: Toward the Common Good. This report suggests how, through purpose, policy, and pedagogy, education can and must respond to the challenges of our day in ways that respect and nurture all members of the human family. The contributors to this volume use this report as a framework to explore the implications and complexities that it raises. The book begins with analytical reflections on the report and then explores pedagogical case studies and practical models of music education that address social justice, inclusion, individual nurturance, and active involvement in the greater public welfare. The collection concludes by looking to the future, asking what more should be considered, and exploring how these ideals can be even more fully realized. The contributors to this volume boldly expand the boundaries of the UNESCO report to reveal new ways to think about, be invested in, and use music education as a center for social change both today and going forward.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9780253046901Publication Date: 2020-03-17
Music Education for Social Change: Constructing an Activist Music Education by
Music Education for Social Change: Constructing an Activist Music Educationdevelops an activist music education rooted in principles of social justice and anti-oppression. Based on the interviews of 20 activist-musicians across the United States and Canada, the book explores the common themes, perceptions, and philosophies among them, positioning these activist-musicians as catalysts for change in music education while raising the question: amidst racism and violence targeted at people who embody difference, how can music education contribute to changing the social climate? Music has long played a role in activism and resistance. By drawing upon this rich tradition, educators can position activist music education as part of a long-term response to events, as a crucial initiative to respond to ongoing oppression, and as an opportunity for youth to develop collective, expressive, and critical thinking skills. This emergent activist music education--like activism pushing toward social change--focuses on bringing people together, expressing experiences, and identifying (and challenging) oppressions. Grounded in practice with examples integrated throughout the text, Music Education for Social Change is an imperative and urgent consideration of what may be possible through music and music education. ist music education--like activism pushing toward social change--focuses on bringing people together, expressing experiences, and identifying (and challenging) oppressions. Grounded in practice with examples integrated throughout the text, Music Education for Social Change is an imperative and urgent consideration of what may be possible through music and music education.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 1138322520Publication Date: 2019-06-11
The Routledge International Handbook of the Arts and Education by
This International Handbook brings together leading writers on Arts in Education to provide a much-needed, authoritative guide to the main debates in the field and an informed account of contemporary developments in policy and practice. Providing a detailed overview of key concepts and practical challenges, the book combines theoretical insight with specific examples of innovative projects drawing on theoretical, historical and empirical research perspectives to inform understanding. The range of content highlights the breadth of the field, addressing such issues as the importance of community arts and partnership as well as school education, and providing insight into developments in multiple and connecting arts as well as traditional art forms. Topics such as assessment, creativity, cultural diversity, special needs, the arts in early childhood, adult education, arts based research, are all addressed by recognised authorities in each area. The collection of chapters also serves to define the field of arts education, recognising its diversity but highlighting the common elements that provide its identity. The collection addresses generic issues common to all the arts while acknowledging differences and recognising the dangers of over-generalisation. It also includes specific chapters on each of the art forms (visual art, dance, drama, literature, music, media arts) providing a cutting-edge analysis of key contemporary issues in each subject. Bringing together specially commissioned pieces by a range of international authors, this Handbook will make an important contribution to the field of Arts Education.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9781317586951Publication Date: 2014-11-27
Subject Headings in Music Education
Subject headings are descriptions of the content of library materials using precise language. You can click on them in a relevant catalog record or search for them in advanced searches.
Following is a list of Subject Headings useful for finding materials on Music Education and related topics in Library Search, EZBorrow, and Worldcat:
- Arts -- Study and teaching -- Standards -- United States
- Children's songs
- Methods (Music)
- Multiple intelligences and Music
- Music and technology
- Music in education -- History
- Music appreciation
- Music education
- Music -- Instruction and study -- Juvenile
- Music -- Instruction and study -- Standards -- United States
- Music -- Instruction and study -- United States -- History
- Music -- Philosophy and aesthetics
- Music teachers
- School music -- Instruction and study
- School music -- public relations
- Singing schools
- Musical recreations
- Musical meter and rhythm
- Music -- Interpretation (Phrasing, dynamics, etc.)
Browse the Stacks
You can also find books on music education under these call numbers in the fourth floor of the general collection:
MT1 -- Theory of musical instruction
MT3-5 -- History of instruction & study
MT9-15 -- Printed pedagogical aids
MT17 -- Music in special education
MT20-34 -- Systems & methods
MT85 -- Conducting - score reading &playing
MT88 -- Administration & instruction of vocal groups
MT150 -- Audio visual aids
MT155 -- Music theory for children
MT170-810 -- Instrumental techniques
MT740-810 -- Instrumental techniques for children
MT820-915 -- Singing & vocal technique
MT898-915 -- Vocal techniques for children
MT918-948 -- School music
MT920-925 -- Kindergarten
MT930-948 -- Elementary, junior & senior high schools
Finding Books and Media in Other Libraries
- WorldCatAllows you to search the holdings of over 10,000 libraries throughout the world.
- EZBorrow loginFind and request books that Rowan University Libraries doesn't have, from other libraries in New Jersey and nearby states. Books are delivered to Campbell Library in 2 - 4 days.
- ILLiadObtain journal articles, dissertations, video materials, or other items that are NOT books. Use E-ZBorrow for books. If the book you require is not available from any of the participating libraries in E-ZBorrow, you may then request it through ILLiad