Subject Librarian
Welcome
Welcome to the LibGuide for Music Education. This guide is intended to familiarize you with the various resources available to you through Rowan University Libraries. If you need more in-depth help or guidance, feel free to schedule a research consultation.
The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library. Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance.
The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. Check with a librarian or a library worker to see where your resources might be located.
This guide, the guides linked below, and many of the library databases provide access to lots of materials that you cannot find for free online.
Best Places to Start
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers.
- ERIC (on the EBSCO platform) This link opens in a new windowArticles and reports on all aspects of education.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index to the literature of music.
- Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals for teachers.
Notable Series for Music Education
Teaching Music Through Performance is an "indispensable resource for music educators searching for the best possible music at all levels. Each book includes analyses of select pieces and insights from national leaders in the field."
Here at Campbell Library, we have:
- Teaching Music Through Performance in Band (11 volumes) byCall Number: PAC Ref. MT135.T253 M8ISBN: 0941050939Publication Date: 1996-11-01
- Teaching Music Through Performance in Beginning Band (2 Volumes) byCall Number: PAC Ref. MT135.T253 M82ISBN: 1579991076Publication Date: 2001-03-01
- Teaching Music Through Performance in Choir (5 Volumes) byCall Number: PAC Ref. MT135.T253 M83ISBN: 9781579997533Publication Date: 2005-01-01
- Teaching Music through Performance in Jazz byCall Number: PAC Ref. MT135.T253 M84ISBN: 9781579997137Publication Date: 2007-01-01
- Teaching Music through Performance in Orchestra (3 Volumes) byCall Number: PAC Ref. MT135.T253 M86ISBN: 1579996868Publication Date: 2008-01-01