Research Guides: Women's and Gender Studies: Welcome

Welcome

This Women's and Gender Studies (WGS) Research Guide features library and Internet resources and research guidance. Use the main navigation menu, or view the starting points below.

Best Places to Start

Background Information

Use these reference resources to get started with a topic.

Credo Reference
A collection of hundreds of different published reference books on all topics. Search for a topic in Credo to see all the available short articles with relevant information. These may also include links to in-depth sources.

Credo Reference provides a complete reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotation books, bilingual dictionaries, measurement conversions, and more.
American Women's History Online

Online encyclopedia of the history of women in the United States.

Covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women's history in the United States. Includes biographies, events and topics, primary sources, time-lines, images and videos, maps and charts. All full text.

Women's Lives Around the World by Susan M. Shaw (Editor); Nancy Staton Barbour (Editor); Jane Nichols (Editor)
ISBN: 1610697111

Publication Date: 2018

Country-by-country information about the status of women around the world. Expand each volume at the right to see the list of countries.

Journal Article Databases

Use these resources to find scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as other articles.

Academic Search Complete

Full-text journal, magazine, and news articles in all academic disciplines.
JSTOR

Archive of full-text scholarly journal articles and ebooks in a broad range of academic disciplines.
Project MUSE

Full text database of current scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

JSTOR can also be searched simultaneously using the advanced search feature on the Project Muse page.
Social Science Database
Scholarly articles in a variety of social science journals.

Covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring journals from several countries, facilitating multidisciplinary research and providing researchers with a variety of perspectives.

Primary Source and News Databases

Use these resources to find newspaper articles and other primary source materials relating to women and gender.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

Largest digital collection of historical primary source publications relating to the history and study of sex, sexuality, gender and gender studies research. Spans 16th through 20th centuries.
GenderWatch
News, magazine and journal articles on the impact of gender.

Full text database of periodical articles and other publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Women's Studies Archive

Traces the path of women’s issues from 19th and 20th centuries.