Research Guides: Women's and Gender Studies: News, Statistics, & Law

News & Newspapers

Current/Recent History

NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Articles from a large collection of newspapers worldwide.
NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international sources, including The Washington Post, Miami Herald, Philadelphia Inquirer, Trenton Times, USA Today, London Times, The Economist China Daily (Beijing).
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
News, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage begins in 1990.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives stretching back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
Provides information from some of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
U.S. Newsstream (1980-current) This link opens in a new window
Articles from newspapers and news content sites worldwide.
Provides access to full text of newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Backfiles for most newspapers are included, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and additional features. Includes New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles.

Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspapers (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper digital archive of many significant U.S. and some international newspapers dating back to the 18th Century.
Philadelphia Inquirer (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Access to the Philadelphia Inquirer (1860 -2001).

Historical Newspapers Research Guide
More historical newspaper databases and resources

Statistics and Data

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a US-National web-based Geographic Information System used to understand communities.
A “GIS tool for non-GIS experts” for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level. It is used in the social sciences, urban studies and regional planning, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration and policy, public health, political science, education, environmental studies, business and finance, economics, statistics and geography, among other areas. Includes an extensive data collection, with indicators used to understand communities, organized into general categories including demographics, income and spending, housing, lending activity, quality of life, economy, education, health, federal guidelines, and other analysis. In addition, students and faculty can easily upload and incorporate their data into and leverage it against the thousands of indicators already available in PolicyMap.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.(Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.

Pew Research Center: Social & Demographic Trends
Information about social trends and demographics, many of which concern gender and related issues, from a nonpartisan think tank and polling group.

Law and Policy Information

CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of reference works on American government, current affairs, politics and public policy.
Contains resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Individual resources available in the Library include the following: CQ Almanac; CQ Researcher Plus Archives; CQ Weekly; Political Handbook of the World; Politics in America; and the Supreme Court Yearbook.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes law journal articles, the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports, all national constitutions, 18th & 19th century books, all United States treaties, the Federal Register, and CFR.
Complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR from inception.
WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Database of sources for news and legal information.
Access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources. Includes the New Jersey Administrative Code.

Institute for Women's Policy Research
Independent research organization applying quantitative and qualitative analysis of public policy through a gendered lens.
Lambda Legal
Legal advocacy organization dedicated to LGBT+ rights.
National Women's Law Center
Legal advocacy organization focused on women's rights.
Williams Institute at UCLA School of Law
Independent research institute on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy.