Women's and Gender Studies

The following core library resources provide access to scholarly articles and other resources that are often unavailable on the open web.

• Databases: See the subject-focused databases listed later on this page, or search the Database Finder.
• Journals:
  • Journal Finder: Find journals by title, ISSN, or keyword.
  • BrowZine: Search for or browse select scholarly online journals to which the Libraries subscribe.
• Citation Linker: Use to find and access a specific  journal article, journal or book.

If the Libraries do not have access to the article, please submit an interlibrary loan request by clicking the "Go to ILLiad" link on the Interlibrary Loan page.

The library databases listed on this page provide access to find scholarly articles, as well as other types of information. Depending on the database you choose, you can find articles on gender and sexuality across multiple subjects, or within a specific subject.

If you don't see a Full Text link below the article citation, look for a button labeled "Get it!" This application will check for access to the full text of the article within the library's subscriptions.

If you see a message that we don't have access, choose the Campbell Library Interlibrary Loan Request link to order the article from another library. Often we can get an electronic copy of the article quickly.

These databases include secondary sources such as journal articles and book chapters. For primary sources, use the Find Primary Sources page of this guide.

Use Google Scholar to search for the more scholarly materials that Google has found on the Internet.  Add to the power of Google Scholar:  link to Rowan University Libraries' resources.

1. From the Google Scholar home page, click the button in the top left with three horizontal lines: 
2. Select Settings.
3. In the Settings area, click the option in the left navigation that says Library links.
4. In the search box marked Show library access links for (choose up to five libraries):, search for Rowan University.
5. An option should appear below the search box that reads "Rowan University - FullText@RowanUniversity" with a check-box next to it. Click the check-box so it is selected.
6. Click Save in the lower right.

Now when you search in Google Scholar from this browser, your results should link directly to full text of each article, courtesy of Rowan University Libraries.