Research Guides: Education: Conduct Studies & Publish

Conduct Studies

These are resources that will help you conduct original research in education, at Rowan or elsewhere.

Rowan University Institutional Review Board
Rowan University Office of Institutional Research and Analytics Dashboards
Start here to get access to statistics on the Rowan student population.

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Large repository of books and other materials on practical aspects of research methodology. Includes the traditional "Little Green Books" and "Little Blue Books" on quantitative and qualitative methods, as well as video examples of research methods, a research project planner, and more.
Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
PsycTests (APA) This link opens in a new window
Repository for psychological tests and measures.
Includes thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. Produced by the American Psychological Association
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to psychological tests.
A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments, containing information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within psychology, education, business, and leadership. The series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about testing and provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.

Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).

Institute of Educational Sciences Tools for Researchers
Webinars, readings, and other self-education resources on research processes.

Data Analysis Resources & Information

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
A large repository of information sources on how to collect and analyze data. Search for "qualitative data analysis" or "quantitative data analysis" to find many books, book chapters, and other materials on relevant methods.
Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.

Qualitative Data Analysis Software from Johns Hopkins University Libraries
A helpful starting guide to software for qualitative data analysis, including well-known paid tools and links to other comparison charts.
Qualitative Data Analysis from NYU Libraries
Another valuable guide, with comparison tools for software options.
Quantitative Data Analysis from NYU Libraries
A similar guide to quantitative data analysis, also comparing software tools.
Software Downloads - Rowan IRT
IRT's page of software downloads for the Rowan community, including MATLAB for quantitative data analysis.
Data Visualization
Rowan Libraries resources on data visualization.
Research Data Management
Rowan Libraries guide to responsible management of research data.

Publish Your Research

These tools can help you identify quality journals to publish in, avoid predatory publishers, and manage other aspects of authorship.

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Analytic tool for understanding the impact of journal publications. Lists impact factors for many selected journals, as well as other metrics.
Presents quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data of the world's leading Science and Social Sciences journals. By compiling article level cited references, one can see the influence and impact at both the journal and category levels, and also the relationship between citing and cited journals.
CABELLS This link opens in a new window
Contains Journalytics, a directory of academic journals that helps researchers find the best place to publish, and Predatory Reports, a searchable database of deceptive and predatory academic journals.

Scholarly Communication Guide
A complete Rowan guide to publishing and scholarly communication issues. Contains information on author rights, copyright issues, institutional repositories and considerations for open access publishing and archiving of scholarly works.