"ARL Statistics is a series of annual surveys that describe the collections, expenditures, staffing, and service activities for Association of Research Libraries (ARL) member libraries. Statistics have been collected and published annually for research libraries since 1907-08." (source: website)
From the U.S. Department of Education
Wide-ranging educational access and equity data collected from Our nation's public schools.
From the publishers of Education Week
Includes reports and data. The Education Counts database contains more than 250 state-level K-12 education indicators (including public school salary data). Many indicators span multiple years.
Data about and related to education, collected from a variety of sources and presented by the U.S. Department of Education.
Includes links to the following popular resources:
Comprehensive and nationally comparable data regarding higher education institution outcomes. Includes statistics on completion rates, educational debt, federal loan repayment, and alumni post-college earnings. Sources of data include: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) from the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), National Student Loan Data System, and tax records from the U.S. Department of Treasury. Full datasets behind the College Scorecard, additional data regarding financial aid and earnings, and associated documentation are also available for download.
Includes data regarding: federal student aid programs, loan/grant disbursement, Title IV, cohort default rates, Guaranty Agency Reports, & Heightened Cash Monitoring.
"The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is a congressionally mandated project administered by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences (IES). NAEP, first administered in 1969, is the largest continuing and nationally representative assessment of what our nation’s students know and can do in subjects such as mathematics, reading, science, and writing. Standard administration practices are implemented to provide a common measure of student achievement.
Teachers, principals, parents, policymakers, and researchers all use NAEP results to assess progress and develop ways to improve education in the United States. The results of NAEP are released as The Nation’s Report Card, and are available for the nation, states, and in some cases, urban districts. The Nation's Report Card is the only ongoing assessment of what U.S. students know and can do in different subjects." (source: website)
"Since 1960, Grapevine has published annual compilations of data on state tax support for higher education, including general fund appropriations for universities, colleges, community colleges, and state higher education agencies. Each year’s Grapevine survey has asked states for tax appropriations data for the new fiscal year and for revisions (if any) to data reported in previous years." (source: website)
From Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota
Microdata from leading surveys for studying the science and engineering workforce in the United States, 1993 to the present.
A "sophisticated comparative analysis of public school finance in the United States, examining the level and distribution of school funding within each state in relation to student need." From Rutgers University Graduate School of Education and the Education Law Center. Includes links to downloadable reports (2010, 2012, 2014+) and interactive reports (2007 to 2013).
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
This sitemap provides an overview of the NCES website. Particularly useful pages include:
NCSES is the nation's leading provider of statistical data on the U.S. science and engineering enterprise. This federal statistical agency is part of the National Science Foundation (NSF). Data collections related to U.S. competitiveness and STEM education are part of the NCSES responsibilities. NCSES is responsible for statistical data on the following:
NCSES statistical data are available in a variety of formats: preformatted and interactive tables, data tools, and microdata files.
From the Institute of International Education (IIE)