From Groningen Growth and Development Centre (GGDC), University of Groningen
"The GGDC 10-Sector Database provides a long-run internationally comparable dataset on sectoral productivity performance in Africa, Asia, and Latin America. Variables covered in the data set are annual series of value added, output deflators, and persons employed for 10 broad sectors." (source: website)
Catalyst is a highly regarded non-profit organization founded in 1962 that focuses on women in the workforce (including women in leadership positions). The website features a Knowledge Center that presents relevant information in various formats including reports, charts, graphs, infographics, and "Quick Take" statistical overviews.
The Center for Union Facts is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that "fights for transparency and accountability in America's labor movement." The website contains United States labor movement facts and statistics. The Center for Union Facts Database contains "more than 100 million facts, ranging from basic union finances and leader salaries, to political operations, to strikes and unfair labor practices, and much more. The data comes from various local, state, and federal government agencies that track labor union operations." (source: website)
Annual report from the AFL-CIO, the umbrella federation for U.S. unions, covering "workplace fatalities, injuries, illnesses, the number and frequency of workplace inspections, penalties and public-employee coverage under the Occupational Safety and Health Act (OSH Act). . . . state of mine safety and health." Published since 1992.
From the Employee Benefit Research Institute (EBRI)
First published in 1990, the EBRI Databook "includes data from dozens of sources to provide a comprehensive analysis of how the employee benefits system works, who and what its various functions affect, and its relationship with the U.S. economy." Currently, this publication is maintained online and updated when new data becomes available. The date a chapter was updated is displayed next to the chapter's link.
"The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is a bipartisan government Commission...responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, gender identity, and sexual orientation), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information. It is also illegal to discriminate against a person because the person complained about discrimination, filed a charge of discrimination, or participated in an employment discrimination investigation or lawsuit.
Most employers with at least 15 employees are covered by EEOC laws (20 employees in age discrimination cases). Most labor unions and employment agencies are also covered. The laws apply to all types of work situations, including hiring, firing, promotions, harassment, training, wages, and benefits."
The website provides access to EEOC Enforcement and Litigation Statistics, Employment Statistics (aggregated data from EEO-1, EEO-3, EEO-4, EEO-5, and Federal Sector Employment reports), Equal Employment Opportunity Data Posted Pursuant to the No Fear Act, Special Reports, and the Census 2000 Special EEO File that "will serve as the primary external benchmark for comparing the racial, ethnic and gender composition of an internal workforce, within a specified geography and job category, and the analogous external labor market." (source: website)
"The Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service, created in 1947, is an independent agency whose mission is to preserve and promote labor-management peace and cooperation." (source: website) The website includes work stoppages data and collective bargaining notice (F-7) data.
From the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration's Office of Workforce Development
This document, available in Microsoft Word and PDF formats, contains "links to a wealth of state and local employment and economic data from government and private sector sources." (source: website) Lists sources for job vacancy, unemployment and employment, occupation, credentials and skills, compensation, benefits, productivity, safety and health, labor-management (including union data), inflation and consumer expenditures, poverty, and low income (including homelessness) at the sub-national level.
From the International Labour Organization (ILO)
"...the primary source for cross-country statistics on the labour market. The database contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies." (source: website)
From The Conference Board
"The International Labor Comparisons program prepares trends of manufacturing labor productivity and unit labor costs that are comparable across countries. ILC examines country data series, identifies areas where concepts are not aligned, and adjusts series to a comparable basis. Productivity, unit labor costs, and underlying data series are available for 19 countries in North America, Europe, and Asia." (source: website)
From Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota
Microdata from leading surveys for studying the science and engineering workforce in the United States, 1993 to the present.
From the International Labour Organization (ILO)
A multi-function research tool consisting of country-level data on 17 key indicators of the labor market from 1980 to the latest available year. ILOSTAT and LABORSTA are its primary sources. (source: website)
(Note: Archived, most data through 2012. Not all data available but the available time series are valuable to researchers.) Provides tables and charts from the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration (ETA) of annual statistics as far back as consistent data exist for employment, unemployment, earnings, and educational attainment. To obtain statistics for more recent years, refer to the "Source" section to identify the resource used and then locate that resource elsewhere.
From the menu bar on the DOL website, select "Popular Topics: Statistics" and "Youth & Labor: Child Labor Statistics"
A massive amount of statistical information available on this U.S. Government website, including:
"The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amounts of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing." (source: website)
"Each month the Current Employment Statistics (CES) program surveys approximately 146,000 businesses and government agencies, representing approximately 623,000 individual worksites in order to provide detailed industry data on employment, hours, and earnings of workers on non-farm payrolls." (source: website)
"The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States. The CE program provides these data in tables, databases, news releases, reports, and public-use microdata files.
CE data are collected by the Census Bureau for BLS in two surveys, the Interview Survey for major and/or recurring items and the Diary Survey for more minor or frequently purchased items. CE data are primarily used to revise the relative importance of goods and services in the market basket of the Consumer Price Index." (source: website)
From the International Labour Organization (ILO)
(Note: LABORSTA is not being updated and gradually will be replaced with ILOSTAT (mentioned above). However, ILOSTAT is not yet complete so use LABORSTA for household spending, consumer price indices, and international labor migration statistics, through the year 2008.)
The NLRB is "an independent federal agency that protects the rights of private sector employees to join together, with or without a union, to improve their wages and working conditions." This section of the website features downloadable data as well as charts and tables that reflect the Agency's work.
From Groningen Growth and Development Centre (GGDC), University of Groningen
"The GGDC Productivity Level Database provides data on relative prices and labor productivity across countries for 42 major economies and up to 35 industries in 2005. These data complement the World Input-Output Database [see listing below] and are largely based on the results of the 2005 International Comparisons Program (ICP), which estimates purchasing power parities (PPPs) for a global sample of countries...(latest update in July 2013)." (source: website)
Commissioned by American Express OPEN
This report has been published annually since 2011:
2016 Executive Report 2016 Summary Tables 2015 Executive Report 2015 Summary Tables 2014 2013 2012 2011
Womenable is "a for-profit social enterprise, established in 2005, that works to improve the systems -- laws, policies, programs and research-based knowledge -- that support women's enterprise creation and growth." This section of the website provides links to "multi-country rankings, ratings and searchable databases quantifying measures of gender equality and women's empowerment." (source: website)
"Women in the Workplace is a comprehensive study of the state of women in corporate America. The study is part of a long-term partnership between LeanIn.Org and McKinsey & Company to encourage female leadership and foster gender equality in the workplace." (source: website) The website also provides access to the 2012 and 2015 reports.
The WIOD provides time series of world input-output tables. Data is includes for more than 40 countries covering approximately 85 percent of world GDP. A "rest of world" region covers remaining countries. Also provided are time series of national and international supply and use tables. Release 2013 covers the years 1995-2011. Release 2016 covers the years 2000-2014.
The "Socio-economic accounts" portions of the database contain industry-level data on employment (number of workers and educational attainment), capital stocks, gross output and value added at current and constant prices. The industry classification is the same as for the world input-output tables.
Time series data on distribution of earnings and wealth by country. Also, includes savings, price, and population data.