Research Guides: Women's and Gender Studies: Articles & Databases

Articles & Databases

The following core library resources provide access to scholarly articles and other resources that are often unavailable on the open web.

Databases: See the subject-focused databases listed later on this page, or search the Database Finder.
Journals:
- Journal Finder: Find journals by title, ISSN, or keyword.
- BrowZine: Search for or browse select scholarly online journals to which the Libraries subscribe.
Citation Linker: Use to find and access a specific journal article, journal or book.

If the Libraries do not have access to the article, please submit an interlibrary loan request by clicking the "Go to ILLiad" link on the Interlibrary Loan page.

Finding Articles through Library Databases

The library databases listed on this page provide access to find scholarly articles, as well as other types of information. Depending on the database you choose, you can find articles on gender and sexuality across multiple subjects, or within a specific subject.

If you don't see a Full Text link below the article citation, look for a button labeled "Get it!" This application will check for access to the full text of the article within the library's subscriptions.

If you see a message that we don't have access, choose the Campbell Library Interlibrary Loan Request link to order the article from another library. Often we can get an electronic copy of the article quickly.

General

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine and news articles in all academic disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 6,600 journals.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
News, magazine and journal articles on the impact of gender.
Full text database of periodical articles and other publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in a broad range of academic disciplines.
Coverage includes the full text from volume 1, number 1 through the current date in some cases or, more often, up to a period of embargo from six months to five years depending on the arrangements with the title's vendor.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text database of current scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
JStor can also be searched simultaneously using the advanced search feature on the Project Muse page.

Sociology

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
News, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage begins in 1990. (ProQuest)
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in a variety of social science journals.
A definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. It covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring journals from over 50 countries, facilitating multidisciplinary research and providing researchers with a variety of perspectives. The database includes over 1000 titles, with the majority available in full text.
Sociological Abstracts (1952-current) This link opens in a new window
Links to research articles in sociology.
Index to publications in the fields of sociology, social sciences and related disciplines from 1952 to the present. (ProQuest). Click the Get-It button to link to full text, when available.

Literature and Art

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in a broad range of academic disciplines.
Coverage includes the full text from volume 1, number 1 through the current date in some cases or, more often, up to a period of embargo from six months to five years depending on the arrangements with the title's vendor.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Links to articles on language and linguistics, rhetoric, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, & dramatic arts.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals & series, as well as book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international, and includes titles and full-text links from J-STOR and Project Muse, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis. This resource also contains hundreds of thousands of subject names and terms.

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

Psychology

MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine database of biomedical literature, on the ProQuest platform.
MEDLINE on this service contains over 6 million citations and abstracts, providing unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature. Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine. Updated weekly.
PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles and other literature in psychology.
Resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations; it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Extensive links to biomedical articles.
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scientific journal articles with data on who has cited them.
Web of Science® provides immediate data on who has cited research papers, covering over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.

History

These databases include secondary sources such as journal articles and book chapters. For primary sources, use the Find Primary Sources page of this guide.

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Links to scholarly articles covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in world history outside North America.
Abstracts and some full text of journal articles, citations to books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding North America) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in a broad range of academic disciplines.
Coverage includes the full text from volume 1, number 1 through the current date in some cases or, more often, up to a period of embargo from six months to five years depending on the arrangements with the title's vendor.

Politics, Law, and Justice

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Collection of documents on international affairs from wide variety of sources.
Resources on international affairs covering more than 180 research institutes, publishers, government agencies, e-books and journals worldwide. Also includes working papers, policy briefs, and case studies. Includes maps, data and stats compiled by the Economist Intelligence Unit, the world’s foremost provider of country, industry and management analysis for about 201 countries.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in the field of criminal justice.
Contains more than 200,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
Criminal Justice Database (1981 - current) This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine and news articles in criminal justice.
Comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals. The database provides research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. The database includes abstract and indexing for 250 titles, with more than 100 available in full-text. Also Searchable through ProQuest Central.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes law journal articles, the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports, all national constitutions, 18th & 19th century books, all United States treaties, the Federal Register, and CFR.
complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR from inception
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Articles, papers and reports on international public affairs topics.
PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914 with several similar databases which over the years have been merged to create the current version. The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.
WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Database of sources for news and legal information.
Campus Research is an easy-to-use online research service that provides college and university students with access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources. Includes the New Jersey Administrative Code

Philosophy and Religion

Atla Religion Database with AtlaASerials This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from major religion and theology journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles in a broad range of academic disciplines.
Coverage includes the full text from volume 1, number 1 through the current date in some cases or, more often, up to a period of embargo from six months to five years depending on the arrangements with the title's vendor.
Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and books in philosophy.
Covers scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to search for the more scholarly materials that Google has found on the Internet. Add to the power of Google Scholar: link to Rowan University Libraries' resources.

From the Google Scholar home page, click the button in the top left with three horizontal lines:
Select Settings.
In the Settings area, click the option in the left navigation that says Library links.
In the search box marked Show library access links for (choose up to five libraries):, search for Rowan University.
An option should appear below the search box that reads "Rowan University - FullText@RowanUniversity" with a check-box next to it. Click the check-box so it is selected.
Click Save in the lower right.

Now when you search in Google Scholar from this browser, your results should link directly to full text of each article, courtesy of Rowan University Libraries.