This guide includes subject-focused and interdisciplinary resources for Africana Studies. Depending on your research area, you may also find additional Research Guides helpful (e.g., History, Political Science). Librarian Andrea Baer is also available for research and instruction help, whether via email, phone, or web conference.
Below are library resources that provide access to scholarly articles and other resources that are often unavailable on the open web. Please see the Primary Sources page for primary source databases.
If the Libraries do not have access to the article, please submit an interlibrary loan request by clicking the "Go to ILLiad" link on the Interlibrary Loan page.
Finding Articles in Library Databases
If you don't see a Full Text link below the article citation, look for a button labeled "Get it!" This application will check for access to the full text of the article within the library's subscriptions.
If you see a message that we don't have access, choose the Campbell Library Interlibrary Loan Request link to order the article from another library. Often we can get an electronic copy of the article quickly.
Large Interdisciplinary Databases
Humanities & Social Sciences Databases
Use Google Scholar to search for the more scholarly materials that Google has found on the Internet. Add to the power of Google Scholar: link to Rowan University Libraries' resources.
Now when you search in Google Scholar from this browser, your results should link directly to full text of each article, courtesy of Rowan University Libraries.