New Books purchased by Campbell Library

by Daniel Kipnis on 2019-07-18T14:00:01-04:00 | 0 Comments

Physique, Fitness, and Performance by Thomas Battinelli

ISBN: 0849391970

Publication Date: 2007-06-21

Totally revised and updated, this second edition of the well-received Physique, Fitness, and Performance retains the unique integrated approach of its predecessor, examining the relationship of structure to function in human performance. Far surpassing the limited focus of standard exercise and fitness books, it combines the morphological study of physique relative to body structure, body size and body composition with the applied interaction of muscular, cardiovascular, motor, and metabolic system capacities, abilities, and skills developed and acquired through exercise and training programs. Establishing a background and history for the current prevalent interrelationships between physique and physical performance, the book begins by outlining the morphological, physical, motor, and metabolic component areas of study involved in physical training. Part One introduces the study of the structure-function relationships, relating body structure, size, and composition to fitness and physical performance. Part Two and Part Three present an overview of the quantitative and qualitative study of physical and physiological conditioning, motor learning, and motor control, specifically regarding the development of motor skill within general/open loop and specific/closed loop parameter guidelines. It also covers fatigue and its physiological and psychological effects on training processes. Part Four explores nutrition and the utilization of carbohydrates, fats, proteins, water, vitamins, and minerals during physical training. It includes an overview of lipids, lipoproteins, cholesterol, and atherosclerosis; dietary goals and guidelines; and risk factors relating to heart disease and obesity within health and fitness parameter guidelines. Finally, extensive appendices present the pertinent figures, tables, and forms used in evaluation and programming. Including chapter summaries, glossaries, and references, as well as detailed and extensive appendices for measurement, assessment, and nutrient intake guidelines, Physique, Fitness, and Performance, Second Edition provides a unique extended research base for exercise physiology professionals.

Structure and Function of the Musculoskeletal System by James Watkins

ISBN: 0880116862

Publication Date: 1998-11-24

With Structure and Function of the Musculoskeletal System,respected functional anatomy authority James Watkins delivers the first book that integrates anatomy and biomechanics to describe the intimate relationship between structure and function. Drawing from his 23 years of international teaching and research experience, Dr. Watkins creates a unique text that thoroughly explores the biomechanical characteristics of musculoskeletal components and the response and adaptation of these components to the physical stress imposed by everyday activities. In Part I, Dr. Watkins develops the concept of the musculoskeletal system as a machine capable of generating and transmitting forces. Part IIexamines the functional anatomy of the muscular and skeletal systems, while Part IIIaddresses musculoskeletal response and adaptation to loading. Structure and Function of the Musculoskeletal Systempresents: -(mechanical concepts and principles that underlie human movement and the basic structure and function of the musculoskeletal system; -functional anatomy of the musculoskeletal system featuring chapters on the skeleton, connective tissues, the articular system, joints of the axial skeleton, joints of the appendicular skeleton, the neuromuscular system, and forces in muscles and joints; -mechanical characteristics of musculoskeletal components; -structural adaptation of the musculoskeletal system; and -etiology of musculoskeletal disorders and injuries. The information contained in this book is essential for students and practitioners interested in understanding the workings of a healthy musculoskeletal system. This book uses an open learning model, featuring chapter overviews, key terms, and learning objectives. The book is also packed with excellent illustrations, diagrams, and conceptual models. Students new to anatomy or biomechanics will benefit from the book's reader-friendly structure featuring an instructive glossary that runs parallel to the text and its use of applied examples, summaries, review questions, references, and an extensive subject index.

The Athlete's Clock by Thomas W. Rowland (Editor)

ISBN: 0736082743

Publication Date: 2011-04-15

The Athlete's Clock: How Biology and Time Affect Sport Performance offers an engaging, interdisciplinary consideration of some of the most compelling questions in sport and exercise science. This unique text takes a broad look at the physiological clock, offering students, researchers, coaches, and athletes a unique approach to understanding how various aspects of time affect sport performance. The Athlete's Clock explores the ways in which time and its relationship to athletic effort can optimize sport performance. Readers can investigate challenging questions such as these: *If physiological responses to training vary rhythmically throughout the day, what is the optimal time of day for training? *If a coach thinks that a high stroke count leads to a better time in a particular swim event, should the athlete go with it? Or is it better to stick to a more intuitively normal cadence? *Do endurance athletes consciously control their pacing, or are they under the control of unconscious processes within the central nervous system? *In what ways do aging and rhythmic biological variations over time control athletic performance? *Can athletes use cognitive strategies to subdue or overcome limits imposed by biological factors out of their control? Readers will find information on the mechanisms by which time influences physiological function--such as running speeds and muscle activation--and how those mechanisms can be used in extending the limits of motor activity. Chapter introductions cue readers to the ideas addressed in the chapter, and sidebars throughout present amusing or unusual examples of sport and timing within various contexts. In addition, take-home messages at the end of each chapter summarize important findings and research that readers may apply in their own lives. Addressing one of the most intriguing questions in sports, a conversational interview with athlete development expert, anthropologist, and sport scientist Bob Malina covers the timely topic of sport identification and talent development. The interview is an engaging discussion of how and when talent identification should take place and how talent development for young, promising athletes might proceed. The text also considers how time throughout one's life span alters motor function, particularly in the later years. The Athlete's Clock: How Biology and Time Affect Sport Performance blends physiological, psychological, and philosophical perspectives to provide an intelligent and whimsical look at the effects of timing in sport and exercise. This text seeks to provoke thought and further research that look at the relationship between biology, time, and performance as well as an understanding of and appreciation for the intricacies of human potential.

Energetics of Human Activity by W. A. Sparrow

ISBN: 0880117877

Publication Date: 2000-05-15

Energetics of Human Activityprovides a detailed, contemporary discussion of the efficiency of movement from a multidisciplinary perspective. The text explores the process by which humans optimize their energy expenditure in learning and controlling movements. As the first collaborative text that focuses on the energetics of motor coordination and control, Energetics of Human Activityis written by 24 international researchers in the movement sciences, including noted experts from the fields of psychology, physiology, and biomechanics. This presents the reader with a broad range of opinions and research findings. Collectively, the chapters discuss three topics of interest from a movement economy perspective: individual differences, motor learning, and the control of action. The hypothesis that minimization of metabolic energy expenditure is a universal constraint on the structure of emerging movement patterns is also presented by three movement subdiscipline perspectives. These approaches include the mechanics of human motion, the physiological cost of meeting task demands, and the effects of practice on performance. Each chapter provides a systematic basis for examining metabolic energy expenditure, presents the research findings that support the contention that energy expenditure regulates the development of movement patterns, and makes valuable suggestions to stimulate future research. The text also contains more than 100 figures that are clear and easy to interpret, making the information simple to understand. Energetics of Human Activity is a unique text that provides a complete perspective on metabolic energy expenditure from various disciplines. It is an invaluable resource for movement science professionals.

The Psychology of Skill by Phillip D. Tomporowski

ISBN: 0275975932

Publication Date: 2003-02-28

People are captivated by observations of skilled human behavior in arenas such as sports, arts, and dance. Methods to advance the skills of novices have been created since the earliest days of humankind. Recent scientific progress in understanding learning processes have led Tomporowski to conclude that skilled behavior reflects a dynamic interaction among physiological structures of the body, cognitive processes of the mind, and the motivational processes of the human spirit. This multidisciplinary approach describes how skills are learned and performed, as well as why skills are critical to the survival of individuals and the cultures in which they live. Skill learning is evaluated in the context of theories of life-span psychology and the notion that humans are confronted with a series of tasks as they develop, mature, and age. People's ability to meet and overcome challenges presented by these developmental tasks depends on requisite skills that are acquired over years of training. Success or failure can profoundly affect an individual's life path trajectory. The skills we learn at various periods across the life span play a role in how we view ourselves and our society in general.

Injury Prevention and Rehabilitation for Active Older Adults by Kevin P. Speer

ISBN: 9780736040310

Publication Date: 2005-02-23

With the rise in active participation in sports and exercise by older people, Injury Prevention and Rehabilitation for Active Older Adults is both timely and instructive. It explores the issues involved in working with active older adults, providing a valuable resource to help sports medicine professionals prevent, diagnose, and treat injuries for this growing population. Geared toward those working with active seniors--from competitive and recreational athletes to fitness enthusiasts--Injury Prevention and Rehabilitation for Active Older Adults contains the information to help practitioners -strengthen their understanding of general issues in sports medicine for active seniors; -explore prevention of, and determine treatment for, specific injuries; -apply to their own practice the knowledge of specialists experienced in working with older populations; and -implement and supervise appropriate conservative therapies. Injury Prevention and Rehabilitation for Active Older Adults was written by a team of specialists with extensive experience in treating active seniors. While it emphasizes conservative treatment over surgery, it also guides readers in knowing when to refer a client to a surgeon, how to prepare a client for what might happen when referred, and what type of surgery might be indicated. Therapists and trainers will strengthen their ability to explain their basis for both treatment and referral. Part I focuses on a variety of issues in sports medicine for active seniors, including senescent changes in the musculoskeletal system, exercise testing and prescription, and factoring the kinetic chain into prevention and therapy. Flexibility, stretching, and massage for older people are also covered, as are nutrition, nutritional supplements, and pharmacology. Part II, organized by anatomical areas, delves into specific injuries and conditions in active seniors. This approach helps readers easily locate regional musculoskeletal problems and identify appropriate rehabilitation procedures. These regions include the shoulder, elbow, hand and wrist, spine, hip, knee, and foot and ankle. Common injuries, conditions, and treatments are explored in each area. Accompanying photos and illustrations supplement the text, showing stretches for all parts of the body, exercises for both injury prevention and rehabilitation, diagnostic techniques (including special tests and best X-ray positions) and various treatment options. The result is a reference that facilitates understanding of the issues involved in preventing and treating injuries in active older people and in helping them recover and return to full activity as soon as possible.

Measurement in Pediatric Exercise Science by David Docherty (Editor)

ISBN: 0873229606

Publication Date: 1995-12-28

>Measurement in Pediatric Exercise Science> provides a unique combination: standardized lab protocols for assessing anthropometric and physiological attributes in children and complete information on field assessments of pediatric fitness. With this book, researchers and clinicians will find in a single reference everything they need for evaluating pediatric populations.Written by prominent international leaders in the field for the Canadian Society for Exercise Physiology (CSEP), this valuable text describes and critically evaluates a wide range of measurement techniques. In Parts I and II contributors focus on physical and physiological assessment:--Anthropometry-Body composition-Maturation-Anaerobic performance-Aerobic performance-Muscular strength and enduranceEach chapter in these two sections--introduces the measurement area;-discusses the significance of collecting the data;-discusses the developmental characteristics of the measurement variable; and-reviews the tests and protocols used most often, including guidelines and recommendations for standardizing the techniques used with pediatric populations.Whenever possible, the book includes normative standards to allow researchers to compare their subjects with others.After a complete evaluation of assessment techniques, Part III discusses measuring physical activity and critically analyzes the field tests and batteries that are used to test fitness levels in children. Batteries from the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and Europe are considered and evaluated for their validity and reliability. Also, with the guidance of Canadian Society of Exercise Physiology (CSEP), one contributor provides recommendations for specific international standards.>Measurement in Pediatric Exercise Science> is an important reference for exercise scientists, pediatric sports medicine specialists, and pediatricians. It`s also suitable as a text for upper-division undergraduate courses in growth and development and for graduate courses that focus on collecting and interpreting physical and physiological data on pediatric groups.

Laboratory Manual for Exercise by Isaacs Payne

ISBN: 1621590461

Publication Date: 2016-10-19

Laboratory Manual for Exercise Physiology, Exercise Testing, and Physical Fitness is a comprehensive text that will provide students with meaningful lab experiences--whether they have access to sophisticated laboratories and expensive equipment, or they are looking for procedures that can be done without costly materials. It will be a useful resource as they prepare for a career as an exercise science professional, athletic trainer, coach, or physical educator. The more than 40 labs cover seven major components of physical fitness. They are practical and easy to follow, consisting of a clear, logical format that includes background information, step-by-step procedures, explanatory photographs, sample calculations, norms and classification tables, and worksheets. Lab-ending activities and questions provide additional opportunities to practice the procedures and explore issues of validity, reliability, and accuracy. Readers will find this manual a valuable tool in learning to apply physiological concepts and to perform exercise tests, as well as an essential resource for any career involving physical fitness and performance testing.

Training in Neurorehabilitation by Sabine Lamprecht; Hans Lamprecht

ISBN: 9783132415850

Publication Date: 2018-01-24

Training in Neurorehabilitation The importance of physical therapy for neurological disease cannot be underestimated. Stroke, for example, is the second leading cause of death worldwide, and its global effect is considerable, based on disability-adjusted life years. With an aging population, the risk of stroke increases exponentially with age, and accordingly, the number of patients increases as well. It follows that specially tailored neurorehabilitation regimens are crucial in helping patients return to the workplace and maintain their independence. This concise and practical work, created by authors with decades of experience in the practice and teaching of physical therapy, serves that purpose well, with its emphasis on the targeted use of training equipment to match the patients' exact needs. Key Features: Concise, practical, and goal-oriented Provides expert guidance in creating individualized training regimens with the goal of training and enhancing endurance, strength, and balance An emphasis on types of equipment and instructions for their use, tailored specifically the individual needs of patients All training exercises are well illustrated for optimal understanding Author team with more than 30 years' experience in practice and teaching of physical therapy Lamprecht's Training in Neurorehabilitation is certain to be an essential reference for all students and practitioners in physical therapy involved in the treatment of patients with neurological disorders.

Motor Skills in Childhood and Its Development from an Animated Physical Education: Theory and Practice by Pedro Gil Madrona

ISBN: 1536138827

Publication Date: 2018-06-22

In the stage of infant education, children find in their own body and movement the main way of getting in touch with their surroundings, thereby acquiring knowledge about the environment where they are growing up and developing. Undoubtedly, the progressive discovery of the body itself as a source of feelings and sensations, exploring the different possibilities of action and body functions will constitute the necessary experiences upon which children's thoughts are being built. Besides, affective relationships established in situations of psychomotor education, and particularly through gameplay, will be essential for children's emotional development.In this sense, this book is focused on justifying the necessary presence of physical education in infant education as well as showing a pedagogical proposal based on an attractive and entertaining motor intervention for children at this stage. This book contains concepts and assumptions about the psychomotor development such as the different motor skills and how to work them, the body scheme and the concepts of time and space and an explanation of how to work them in infant education. Concerning the importance of perceptions and sensations in this educational stage and from a practical point of view, it offers a teaching proposal to improve them. Additionally, this book not only details motor skills, but also explains how to work social, emotional and cognitive skills in an integrated way because the physical education in infant education is the best way to achieve this. Moreover, this book highlights the importance of motor games and the different kinds of games which can be used in infant education. With this in mind, the authors can make use of the games as a tool to improve the teaching-learning process and to make the learning visible. Furthermore, it offers different methodological strategies to improve the motricity in infant education taking into account different factors such as the materials or environments which can be used to develop motor education. This book is essential, owing to the fact that it provides examples which show how psychomotor storytelling, learning corners, workshops and projects based on action and adventure spaces can be worked in a classroom.From the authors' point of view, professionals working in the field of infant childhood psychomotor skills may know and recognize the value of the proposals shown here so that they can teach other professionals to be more critical regarding their practice, increasing concerns about the development of motor skills - physical education in infant education in its systematic form - which, without any doubt, will result in children's higher levels of welfare and health with regards to their own construction of the reality which surrounds them.

Children's Active Transportation by Richard Larouche

ISBN: 0128119314

Publication Date: 2018-06-22

Children's Active Transportation is a rigorous and comprehensive examination of the current research and interventions on active transportation for children and youth. As the travel behaviors of these groups tend to be highly routinized, and their mobility faces unique constraints, such as parental restrictions, mandatory school attendance, and the inability to drive a motor vehicle before late adolescence, this book examines the key factors that influence travel behavior among children and youth, providing key insights into lessons learned from current interventions. Readers will find a resource that clearly demonstrates how critical it is for children to develop strong, active transportation habits that carry into adulthood.

Physical Activity and Health Promotion in the Early Years by Hannah Brewer (Editor); Mary Renck Jalongo (Editor)

ISBN: 3319760041

Publication Date: 2018-06-29

This book focuses on improving well-being among young children. It provides a theoretical base explaining why physical activity is important, and offers practical strategies for increasing health and well-being in early childhood settings. It takes ancient wisdom on the mind and body connection, applies it to the youngest children, and supports it with current empirical and international evidence--all with an eye toward improving wellness across the lifespan. The many topics discussed in the book include children's motor skills, movement, interaction, physical literacy, the use of video games, dog ownership, developmental delays, as well as strategies to improve physical activities in the classroom and broader contexts. In recent years, children's health has become a priority worldwide. Topics such as "screen time" "sedentary behavior" and "childhood obesity" have become important issues everywhere- in the news, in schools, in community and commercials settings, and among health care providers. Limiting sedentary behavior, increasing physical activity, and maintaining a nutritious diet are three fundamental needs during early childhood. Preschool years are a time when children begin to explore the world around them, and develop more vivid understandings of their surroundings. As this book shows, the early years may be the best time to teach wellness concepts and assist young children in establishing healthy lifestyle habits.

Game Changers by João Medeiros

ISBN: 9781408708460

Publication Date: 2018-10-23

In Game Changers we meet the coaches and sports scientists who rethink how sport is analyzed and understood, how athletes train and perform under pressure. In Liverpool in the 1980s, a motley group - a mathematician, a physiologist, a psychologist and a former Olympic basketball player - began to pioneer new ways of tracking performance. Over the decades that followed, performance analysis came of age, becoming an essential component of any elite team, from NBA champions Golden State Warriors to English Premier League title contenders Manchester City to America's Cup high-performance sailing teams. Using a hybrid of scientific method and trial-and-error, scientists have uncovered the tenets of accelerated learning, the mechanics of physiological adaptation, the organizational principles behind elite teams, the understanding of how hormones and environment affect performance. These discoveries are not confined to athletic endeavors - they are universal and reveal what it takes to win not only in sports, but are applicable across a wide range of disciplines, including business, leadership and education.

Beyond Nature and Nuture in Psychiatry by Maccabe

ISBN: 0415373018

Publication Date: 2018-07-25

Advanced Statistics for Kinesiology and Exercise Science is the first textbook to cover advanced statistical methods in the context of the study of human performance. Divided into three distinct sections, the book introduces and explores in depth both analysis of variance (ANOVA) and regressions analyses, including chapters on: preparing data for analysis; one-way, factorial, and repeated-measures ANOVA; analysis of covariance and multiple analyses of variance and covariance; diagnostic tests; regression models for quantitative and qualitative data; model selection and validation; logistic regression Drawing clear lines between the use of IBM SPSS Statistics software and interpreting and analyzing results, and illustrated with sport and exercise science-specific sample data and results sections throughout, the book offers an unparalleled level of detail in explaining advanced statistical techniques to kinesiology students. Advanced Statistics for Kinesiology and Exercise Science is an essential text for any student studying advanced statistics or research methods as part of an undergraduate or postgraduate degree programme in kinesiology, sport and exercise science, or health science.

Genetics Primer for Exercise Science and Health by Stephen M. Roth

ISBN: 0736063439

Publication Date: 2007-05-02

Genetics Primer for Exercise Science and Health is the first text dedicated to the basic concepts of genetics in relation to the broad range of topics in exercise science and health. Author Stephen M. Roth, PhD, makes the content comprehensible for readers who are unfamiliar with genetics without sacrificing the foundational and critical understanding necessary for interpreting research findings and incorporating genetics into research programs. Genetics Primer for Exercise Science and Health maintains a practical focus and addresses common concerns when preparing to study genetics, such as how to use online search tools to identify existing research literature and how to identify and select candidate genes using genome databases. Through this text, readers will discover these concepts: -The basics of DNA and genetics as they relate to health, physical activity, and sport -Specific skills and strategies for interpreting and applying genetics findings in research -How genetics research may affect sport performance training and clinical practice -The ethical issues raised by genetics in society and sport Special focus sections are incorporated throughout the text, providing expanded discussions of interesting topics in each chapter. Students see examples of how the principles described in the book have played out in real-life research, and they receive explicit instructions on planning and interpreting genetics research. Pedagogical aids such as summaries, key terms, and review questions also make this text ideal for efficient learning. Part I presents readers with the basic biology and genetics information they need in order to understand and apply the information to exercise science. Part II explores the research and design methods that will help readers interpret and apply their findings. Part III addresses some of the current research findings in the area of genetics in exercise and health and discusses current issues in the field, including the potential for misuse of new genetic technologies and the ethics involved in gene doping. Genetics Primer for Exercise Science and Health is the second volume in Human Kinetics' Primers in Exercise Science Series, which provides students and professionals with a nonintimidating basic understanding of the science behind its topic and, where appropriate, how that science is applied. These books are written by leading researchers and teachers in their respective areas of expertise. The authors present in an easy-to-understand manner the essential concepts in dynamic, complex areas of scientific knowledge. The books in the series are ideal for researchers and professionals who need some background in an unfamiliar scientific area. The books also function as accessible basic references for those who will be returning to the material often. This particular book adds a health dimension to the exercise science focus of the series, with discussions on disease- and health-related information. Genetic research will play an important role in the future practice of exercise science and health, requiring students and professionals to have this basic knowledge for success in their careers. Through its practical presentation of current and basic topics, Genetics Primer for Exercise Science and Health makes the case for more universities to introduce genetics courses to their curricula. Having the essential topics of genetics in a single, practical introductory text will facilitate the work of instructors, students, and professionals.

Creative Fitness by Henry B. Biller

ISBN: 0865693250

Publication Date: 2002-05-30

Biller integrates research about exercise, nutrition, and health within an applied developmental psychological framework. Readers are presented with ways of making fitness an enjoyable and positive force in their daily lives. Although a major focus is on how to get in shape, Biller's primary mission is to encourage a healthy lifestyle that enriches self-awareness and personal growth. The goal is not just to facilitate physical fitness, but to enhance overall life satisfaction. The book's uniqueness, accordingly, lies in its ability to help individuals develop a creative, playful approach to fitness in all spheres of their lives. While some readers are just beginning to think about fitness because of a desire to lose weight and improve their appearance, others are more interested in refining their athletic skills or achieving a greater balance in their daily activities. Dedicated exercisers often are striving for new routines and ways to prevent burnout. Many parents, moreover, are searching for activities to help their children, as well as themselves, become more fit. Older individuals are especially likely to be concerned about staying healthy and avoiding physical dependence as they age. Biller speaks to all these concerns--and all these groups--by providing an approach to getting in shape that enriches self-understanding and mental vitality.

Measurement and Evaluation in Physical Education and Exercise Science by Alan C. Lacy; Douglas N. Hastad

ISBN: 0321103025

Publication Date: 2002-08-14

Bridging the gap between theory and practice, this book provides a practical approach to measurement and evaluation techniques used in K-12 school physical education programs and in exercise science settings.

The Science of Figure Skating by Jason D. Vescovi (Editor); Jaci L. VanHeest (Editor)

ISBN: 9781138229860

Publication Date: 2018-04-25

The Science of Figure Skating is the first book to provide an evidence-based and comprehensive reference for the scientific underpinnings of this complex Olympic sport, where early specialization presents unique challenges for coaches and athletes alike. Drawing on cutting-edge research and featuring contributions from leading academics and practitioners, the book covers key topics of health, training and high performance in figure skating, including: Physiological demands Nutrition and hydration Training methods Psychology and mental performance Novel issues relating to performance such as travel and jet lag Technological innovation Effectively and succinctly applying theory to practice, The Science of Figure Skating is a valuable resource on integrating sport science concepts into training and performance. It is essential reading for any applied sport science student or researcher with an interest in winter sports, and coaches, sport science officers, nutritionists or clinicians involved in figure skating.

Psychoneuroendocrinology of Sport and Exercise by Felix Ehrlenspiel (Editor); Katharina Strahler (Editor)

ISBN: 1138795763

Publication Date: 2014-07-17

Psychoneuroendocrinology is the study of the interaction between hormones, the brain and human behaviour. This is the first book to examine psychoneuroendocrinology in the context of sport and exercise, offering a comprehensive review of current research and assessment techniques and highlighting directions for future research. The book explores the links between hormones and behaviour, and draws important conclusions for how their study will aid in the understanding of the bidirectional link between sport and behaviour, central to the psychology of sport and exercise. It presents the key hormones that underpin behaviour in a sporting context, including the description of their physiologic mechanisms and behavioural effects. The book reports benchmark standards for the assessment and analysis of hormonal influences of behaviour in sport, and examines practical issues and contexts such as emotional state, overtraining and stress. Psychoneuroendocrinology in Sport and Exercise is a breakthrough text that will be of interest to all advanced students and researchers working in the psychology and physiology of sport and exercise.

Computer Science in Sport by Arnold Baca (Editor)

ISBN: 1138695149

Publication Date: 2016-05-31

Computers are a fundamentally important tool in sport science research, sports performance analysis and, increasingly, in coaching and education programmes in sport. This book defines the field of ¿sport informatics¿, explaining how computer science can be used to solve sport-related problems, in both research and applied aspects. Beginning with a clear explanation of the functional principles of hardware and software, the book examines the key functional areas in which computer science is employed in sport, including: knowledge discovery and database development data acquisition, including devices for measuring performance data motion tracking and analysis systems modelling and simulation match analysis systems e-learning and multimedia in sports education Bridging the gap between theory and practice, this book is important reading for any student, researcher or practitioner working in sport science, sport performance analysis, research methods in sport, applied computer science or informatics.

Paediatric Biomechanics and Motor Control by Mark De Ste Croix (Editor); Thomas Korff (Editor)

ISBN: 0203851218

Publication Date: 2013-03-01

Paediatric Biomechanics and Motor Controlbrings together the very latest developmental research using biomechanical measurement and analysis techniques and is the first book to focus on biomechanical aspects of child development. The book is divided into four main sections - the biological changes in children; developmental changes in muscular force production; developmental changes in the biomechanics of postural control and fundamental motor skills and finally the applications of research into paediatric biomechanics and motor control in selected clinical populations. Written by a team of leading experts in paediatric exercise science, biomechanics and motor control from the UK, the US, Australia and Europe, the book is designed to highlight the key implications of this work for scientists, educators and clinicians. Each chapter is preceded by a short overview of the relevant theoretical concepts and concludes with a summary of the practical and clinical applications in relation to the existing literature on the topic. This book is important reading for any sport or exercise scientist, health scientist, physical therapist, sports coach or clinician with an interest in child development or health. of the practical and clinical applications in relation to the existing literature on the topic. This book is important reading for any sport or exercise scientist, health scientist, physical therapist, sports coach or clinician with an interest in child development or health.

Proceedings of the 3rd International Colloquium on Sports Science, Exercise, Engineering and Technology 2016 (Icosseet 2016) by Norasrudin Sulaiman (Editor); Shariman Ismadi Ismail (Editor); Rahmat Adnan (Editor)

ISBN: 9811067716

Publication Date: 2018-10-12

This proceedings volume explores a range of sports-related topics, including sports science, exercise, sports engineering and technology, in contributions prepared by respected experts and presented at the 3rd International Colloquium on Sports Science, Exercise, Engineering and Technology (ICoSSEET2016). The goal of the conference was to bring together researchers and practitioners from academia and industry to address current challenges in various sports-related areas, and to establish vital new collaborations. The topics covered can be primarily divided into (1) Sports Science and Exercise, (2) Sports Engineering and Technology Application, and (3) Sports Industry and Management.

Add a Comment

Library Research for Exercise Science