New Books purchased by Campbell Library

by Daniel Kipnis on 2020-01-03T15:06:48-05:00 | 0 Comments

Nutrition and Exercise Immunology by David C. Nieman (Editor); Bente Klarlund Pedersen (Editor)

ISBN: 0849307414

Publication Date: 2000-03-29

Like an army of millions ready to defend its territory, the human immune system acts as the body's primary line of defense-a complex network of interacting cells that protects us from pathogens and other foreign substances. But many components of the immune system exhibit change after prolonged, heavy exertion, indicating that it is suppressed and stressed, albeit transiently, following prolonged endurance exercise. For marathon runners, distance swimmers and any other endurance athlete who undergoes repeated cycles of heavy exertion, a weakened immune system could lead to health complications such as respiratory infection. As a result, interest in various nutrient supplements with the potential to counter exercise-induced immunosuppression has grown. Nutrition and Exercise Immunology reviews the link between nutrition and immune function, with special application to athletic endeavor. Written by respected researchers in sports medicine and exercise immunology, this text covers topics such as carbohydrates and the immune response to prolonged exertion; protein, exercise, and immunity; and vitamins, immunity, and infection risk in athletes. It also takes a look at future directions in nutrition and exercise immunology. For sports medicine professionals, dietitians, nutritionists, exercise immunologists, as well as endurance athletes, Nutrition and Exercise Immunology provides an important and in-depth look into this exciting, new area of scientific research.ext covers topics such as carbohydrates and the immune response to prolonged exertion; protein, exercise, and immunity; and vitamins, immunity, and infection risk in athletes. It also takes a look at future directions in nutrition and exercise immunology. For sports medicine professionals, dietitians, nutritionists, exercise immunologists, as well as endurance athletes, Nutrition and Exercise Immunology provides an important and in-depth look into this exciting, new area of scientific research.

Nutrition and the Female Athlete by Katherine A. Beals (Editor)

ISBN: 1439849390

Publication Date: 2013-01-29

Designed to address the nutritional needs of women over the age of 18 who partake in sports on a regular basis, Nutrition and the Female Athlete: From Research to Practice highlights nutritional concerns specific to active women.

Nutrition and Performance in Masters Athletes by Peter Reaburn (Editor)

ISBN: 9780429066122

Publication Date: 2014-10-15

Addresses the Aging Process and Its Effect on Sports PerformanceAge-related changes influence all physiological systems, including those used during exercise and sport.

Nutritional Ergogenic Aids by Ira Wolinsky (Editor); Wolinsky Ira Staff; Judy A. Driskell (Editor)

ISBN: 0203507703

Publication Date: 2004-06-25

Nutritional Ergogenic Aids provides an up-to-date review of what is hypothetical and what is known about the most extensively used nutritional ergogenic aids; dietary supplements to enhance physical and athletic performance.

Sports Nutrition Needs for Child and Adolescent Athletes by Chad M. Kerksick (Editor); Elizabeth Fox (Editor)

ISBN: 9781466579743

Publication Date: 2016-05-06

As the number of child and adolescent athletes continues to increase each year, more children are being exposed to greater training volumes and increasing physical demands¿making the need for nutritional and recovery guidance increasingly important. While massive amounts of empirical research are published each year on responses and adaptations to exercise and nutrition, a relative lack of this data is focused on children and adolescents. Filling this need, Sports Nutrition Needs for Child and Adolescent Athletes explores the optimal sports nutrition needs for the child and adolescent athlete in three, detailed sections. The first section¿Nutritional Foundation¿supplies a comprehensive look at topics that relate to nearly every athlete. It focuses on the need for optimal nutrition in youth athlete populations, highlighting energy, body composition, hydration, and both macro- and micro-nutrient requirements. The second section¿Special Considerations in Child and Adolescent Athletes¿focuses on topics that are more specific. This section includes coverage of the impact of common recreational drugs on exercise performance, steroid use in youth and associated dangers, key elements of working with diabetic and other clinically relevant populations, as well as discussions that relate to overweight and weight-conscious athletes, respectively. The final section¿A Hands-On Approach¿reviews nutritional programs for both child and adolescent athletes. It uses an easy-to-understand approach to discuss and apply situations that can challenge athletes, their parents, and coaches by making sure young athletes are well fueled and recovered for all sporting situations. For the purposes of the research presented in this book, a child athlete is defined as an athlete between the ages of 7 and 12 years while an adolescent athlete is defined as an athlete 13¿17 years of age.

Sports Engineering and Computer Science by Luo Qi (Editor)

ISBN: 1138026506

Publication Date: 2015-04-29

Sports Engineering and Computer Science contains papers presented at the 2014 International Conference on Sport Science and Computer Science (SSCS 2014), held September 16-17, 2014 in Singapore and at the 2014 International Conference on Biomechanics and Sports Engineering (BSE 2014), held October 24-25, 2014, in Riga, Latvia. The contributions have been grouped under the following five headings: Section 1: Education, physical education and training; Section 2: Social sports and sports economy; Section 3: Computer science and applications in sport; Section 4: Materials science; and Section 5: Biomedical. The contents of this volume will prove useful for researchers and practitioners in developing and applying new theories and technologies in Sports Engineering, Sports Science and Computer Science.

Advanced Neuromuscular Exercise Physiology by Phillip Gardiner

ISBN: 9780736074674

Publication Date: 2011-03-30

Advanced Neuromuscular Exercise Physiology uses a mix of biochemistry, molecular biology, neurophysiology, and muscle physiology to provide a synthesis of current knowledge and research directions in the field. The first text devoted solely to the topic, Advanced Neuromuscular Exercise Physiology assists readers in identifying current directions in research and new avenues for exploration. Recognizing the rapid changes occurring in the field of neuromuscular exercise physiology, the text provides readers with a foundation of knowledge while detailing the most recent findings. Though the text is written at an advanced level, the author succeeds at making the content accessible. Analyses of research findings and research applications are highlighted in special sidebars. Detailed illustrations and graphs assist readers in understanding research findings. Chapter summaries also help readers determine the key issues presented for each topic. The author draws attention to a variety of important topics in the field, beginning with a discussion of motor unit types, muscle blood flow, and metabolic pathways in control of metabolism, including a special discussion of the effects of type 2 diabetes. Next, the topic of fatigue is discussed. The author explains possible peripheral and central contributors to fatigue. Chapters 6 and 7 focus on whole-body endurance training, including the effects of aerobic endurance training on the protein profiles of muscle fibers and on the central nervous system. Of particular interest is the applicability of research information to the exercise rehabilitation of individuals with compromised nervous system function, such as spinal cord injury, other trauma, and neuromuscular diseases. The final chapters are devoted to resistance training, including the phenotypic responses of muscles to isometric, slow isotonic, lengthening, and plyometric training. An overview of the effects of resistance training on the nervous system is offered along with clinical applications. Within the dynamic field of neuromuscular exercise physiology, ideas of how nerves and muscles collaborate during acute and chronic exercise are continually evolving. Advanced Neuromuscular Exercise Physiology offers an authoritative perspective of current research in the field as it seeks to encourage discussion, further study, and new research directions. Human Kinetics' Advanced Exercise Physiology Series offers books for advanced undergraduate and graduate students as well as professionals in exercise science and kinesiology. These books highlight the complex interaction of the various systems both at rest and during exercise. Each text in this series offers a concise explanation of the system and details how each is affected by acute exercise and chronic exercise training. Advanced Neuromuscular Exercise Physiology is the third volume in the series.

Science in the Arena by Blane Baker

ISBN: 9781643271774

Publication Date: 2019-01-15

The arena of sport is filled with marvelous performances and feats that, at times, seem almost beyond belief. As curious onlookers, we often wonder whether or not athletes will reach certain peaks and what determines their limits of athletic performance. Science, with its emphasis on theoretical development and experimental results, is uniquely equipped to answer these kinds of questions. Over the past two decades, I have been asked innumerable questions related to how science can provide these kinds of insights. Science in the Arena is written as an outgrowth of those interactions with the primary goal of communicating useful and understandable scientific explanations of athletic performance.

Measurement of Human Locomotion by Vladimir Medved

ISBN: 142003698X

Publication Date: 2000-12-21

The importance of measurements for the proper assessment of human locomotion is increasingly being recognized. The fields of application encompass both healthy and pathological locomotion as encountered in rehabilitation medicine, orthopedics, kinesiology, sports medicine, and the like.

The Exercising Female by Jacky J. Forsyth; Claire-Marie Roberts

ISBN: 0815391986

Publication Date: 2018-10-09

The Exercising Female: Science and Its Application is the first book to provide students, researchers, and professionals with an evidence-based reference on the exceptional scientific issues associated with female participation in sport and exercise. Based on the latest research, and treating women as a unique population, the book seeks to critically evaluate current debates, present the science underpinning female sport and exercise performance, and inform applied practice for the exercising female. Featuring contributions from leading scientists from around the world, and adopting a multidisciplinary approach--from exercise physiology, endocrinology, and biochemistry to psychology, biomechanics, and sociology--the book includes chapters on topics such as: Exercise and the menstrual cycle, contraception, pregnancy, motherhood, and menopause. Body image, exercise dependency, the psychology of sports performance, and homophobia in female sport. The Female Athlete Triad, bone health, musculoskeletal injury, and breast biomechanics. Nutritional requirements for the exercising female, immune function and exercise, and cardiovascular health. Filling a considerable gap in book literature around the science of female sport and exercise, this is crucial reading for any student studying female sport and exercise science, researchers of female sport, and any coach, sport scientist, strength and conditioning coach, sport psychologist, physician, or physiotherapist working with female athletes.

Emergency by American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) Staff

ISBN: 9780763744052

Publication Date: 2006-06-06

Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured, Ninth Edition is the center of an integrated teaching and learning system that will help define the future direction of EMS education. It combines comprehensive medical content with dynamic new features and interactive technology to better support instructors and to help prepare students for the field. An interactive skills DVD is also packaged free with each copy of the text.

Add a Comment

Library Research for Exercise Science