New Jersey - Primary Sources - by Subject (Historical) - Research Guides at Rowan University

NJ Archival & Digital Collections

Digital Jerseyana Collection (NJ State Library)
New Jersey State Library's digital collections. Materials organized into collections and sub-communities.
New Jersey Digital Highway
Digital exhibits and collections from NJ. Hosted by Rutgers University Libraries on behalf of partner cultural heritage organizations
Newark Public Library Digital Collections
Kean University NJ History Project
Non-fiction books and novels that reflect NJ history in the late 19th and early 20th century
Selected Library of Congress Resources for New Jersey
NJ Government Information
New Jersey State Archives
Includes online databases and "imaged collections," as well as a catalog of online and onsite archival materials

New Jersey Digitized Historic Newspapers
Index of all known digitized newspapers in New Jersey. Maintained by New Jersey State Library.

Historical Newspapers: New Jersey Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Image-based digitizations of Asbury Park Press (1905-present), Bergen Record (Hackensack) (1895-present), Courier News (Bridgewater) (1961-present), Courier-Post (Cherry Hill /Camden) (1950-present), The Daily Journal (Vineland) (1925-present), Daily Record (Morristown) (1974-present), Home News Tribune (East Brunswick) (1903-present), and North Jersey Herald News (Passaic) (1872-present). For newspapers still publishing, coverage extends to within days of the current issue.

New Jersey Newspapers (NewsBank)
185 NJ newspapers available through the database NewsBank Access World News
Press of Atlantic City
The Record (Hackensack)

Trenton Times Current and Historical This link opens in a new window
Includes content from the web edition of The Times of Trenton (NJ), 2007-current, and The Trenton Times, 1993-current, as well as fully digitized versions of The Trenton Times, 2018-current, and Trenton Evening Times, 1883-1993.

Frank H. Stewart Collection
Materials from Stewart’s research on colonial events and families in the southern New Jersey and Philadelphia regions and from his own business and personal papers. Primary source materials housed in the University Archives & Special Collections (Campbell Library).
Hollybush Summit Collection
Primary source materials related to the Glassboro Summit and housed in the University Archives & Special Collections (Campbell Library)
Glassboro Summit Collection
Digital collection of materials related to Glassboro State College (now Rowan University), the Hollybush mansion, and Glassboro local history.