World History - Primary Sources - by Subject (Historical)

Databases

Global Commodities This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history.
Global Commodities brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials about the Nineteenth Century.
Includes books, newspapers, periodicals, diaries and personal letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps and musical scores.

Web Resources

Early Modern Resources
Broad category of resources providing online access to primary source material: digital editions (full-text transcriptions); image collections of texts and documents; images of artworks, artifacts, and maps; databases containing summary information about sources; anthologies of personal selections or transcriptions. (source: website)
United Nations
The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945. It is currently made up of 193 Member States. The mission and work of the United Nations are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter.(source:website)
more...less...
The UN system, also known unofficially as the "UN family", is made up of the UN itself and many affiliated programmes, funds, and specialized agencies, all with their own membership, leadership, and budget. The programmes and funds are financed through voluntary rather than assessed contributions. The Specialized Agencies are independent international organizations funded by both voluntary and assessed contributions.(source:website)
Trans-Atlantic Slave Voyages Database
The Voyages website itself is the product of two years of development by a multi-disciplinary team of historians, librarians, curriculum specialists, cartographers, computer programmers, and web designers, in consultation with scholars of the slave trade from universities in Europe, Africa, South America, and North America. It contains information on more than 35,000 slave voyages
UNESCO World Digital Library
Primary source materials from 192 countries
Wilson Center Digital Archive: International History Declassified
The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy.
World Digital Library
Thousands of items covering the span of time since the beginning of the human record. Search by place, time, topic, type of item, or institution.