U.S. Government - Primary Sources - by Subject (Historical)

Databases

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,000 journals and the Congressional Record.
Complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR from inception.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents for U.S. national security topics.
Contains a comprehensive collection of primary documents including declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.
Historic Documents This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents from 1972 forward in U.S. government and politics.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a broad range of previously classified U.S. federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Includes sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies.
Covers major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond.
Heritagequest This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, convenient research guides, interactive census maps.

ProQuest Congressional
The most comprehensive online resource for congressional publications and legislative research, dating back to the 1800s.

U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO)
The GPO produces and distributes information products and services for all three branches of the Federal Government.
FDsys
The U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress catalog contains 17 million catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections.
National Archives and Records Administration Immigration Records
Cornerstone Documents
Foreign Relations of the United States
Official record of major US foreign policy decisions that have been declassified. Produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian. Search within the volumes or by administration.