Research Guides: Egyptology: The Study of Ancient Egypt: Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspaper Databases

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Articles from select Canadian newspapers.
This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s and 1980s.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
News, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes historical coverage from 1959-1989.
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage begins in 1990.
Historical Newspapers (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper digital archive of many significant U.S. and some international newspapers dating back to the 18th Century.
Historical Newspapers: New Jersey Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Image-based digitizations of New Jersey historical newspapers, including Asbury Park Press (1905-present), Bergen Record (Hackensack) (1895-present), Courier News (Bridgewater) (1961-present), Courier-Post (Cherry Hill /Camden) (1950-present), The Daily Journal (Vineland) (1925-present), Daily Record (Morristown) (1974-present), Home News Tribune (East Brunswick) (1903-present), and North Jersey Herald News (Passaic) (1872-present). For newspapers still publishing, coverage extends to within days of the current issue.
Miami Herald Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage from the Miami Herald from 1982 to present and its blogs from 2003 to present.
Also includes images from 1911 through 1982.
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Articles from a large collection of newspapers worldwide. Includes both older and current coverage. Click "A-Z Source List" for a full list of publications and publication dates.
NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international sources, including The Washington Post, Miami Herald, Philadelphia Inquirer, Trenton Times, USA Today, London Times, The Economist China Daily (Beijing).
Philadelphia Inquirer (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Access to the Philadelphia Inquirer (1860 -2001).
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Access to the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette and predecessors (1786-2003).
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
News articles from regional business publications.
Daily updates provide comprehensive full text for regional business publications.
San Francisco Chronicle: Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Articles from 1869 to present day, This newspaper covers the San Francisco Bay Area in California.
Sunday Times Historical Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Archive of the London newspaper The Sunday Times 1822 - 2016.
Thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large.
Times-Picayune Collection With Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
American newspaper published in New Orleans, Louisiana, from 1837 to present.
U.S. Newsstream (1980-current) This link opens in a new window
Articles from newspapers and news content sites worldwide.
Provides access to full text of newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Backfiles for most newspapers are included, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and additional features. Includes New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles.