It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This reference work attempts to give a systematic coverage of the archaeology of this region from the earliest finds of the Palaeolithic period through to the fourth century AD. Over several years this venture has resulted in more than four hundred, alphabetically arranged, signed entries with contributions drawn from Europe, North America, Egypt, Israel and Australia. The material has been compiled by an international team of scholars in the field. The volume opens with an introduction focusing on the definition and scope of Egyptian archaeology, factors of site preservation and other background material to the carrying out of archaeological activity in the region. This is followed by a chronology of prehistoric periods and dynasties which provides a constant point of reference for the material which follows. Thirteen historical overviews then map the history of archaeology in Egypt (and Nubia) from the Palaeolithic to the Roman period.
Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt goes far beyond the records of archaeology to make available what we know about the full social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000 year civilization. The Encyclopedia offers the most complete picture available of ancient Egyptian civilization, from the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE. Here is the Egyptian world in illuminating, accessible detail: art, architecture, religion, language, literature, trade, politics,everyday social life and the culture of the court. Of special interest is the coverage of themes and issues that are particularly controversial--such as the new theories of the origins of complex society in the Nile Valley, new discoveries about Greco-Roman Egypt, and new developments in literature,religion, linguistics and other fields, including the debates about Egypt's African legacy. Extensively illustrated with photographs, line drawings, and maps, the Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt is designed for the widest possible access, serving students, teachers, and scholars in fields ranging from Near East archaeology and classics to ancient art, architecture, history, language andreligion, as well as general readers fascinated by a world that remains--even today--incompletely mapped.
This is a study of the procurement and processing of raw materials employed by the ancient Egyptians over the five millennia of the Predynastic and Pharaonic periods (c.5500-332 BC). During this time, not only were there variations in the preferred materials for particular types of artefacts, but also gradual processes of technological change, and the industries of the Chalcolithic period were complemented and sometimes superseded by the innovations of the Bronze and Iron Ages. Among the topics covered are stone quarrying, the building of temples and pyramids, techniques for preserving meat, fish, and poultry, glass and faience, the baking of bread, brewing of beers, preparation of oils and perfumes, and the mummification of humans and animals. Each chapter has been written by one or more specialists, drawing not only on conventional Egyptological skills but also on expertise in the natural sciences as applied to archaeological data.
Thotweb présente une liste de fiches synthétiques sur les différents aspects de l'histoire et de la civilisation égyptienne. Ces notices, chaque mois plus nombreuses, sont rédigées en exclusivité par des chercheurs.
Use of this encyclopedia requires you to register with an Open ID account (e.g.gmail). The UCLA Encyclopedia of Egyptology is an international cooperative project to provide high quality peer reviewed information on ancient Egypt. It is a resource in development and will grow steadily.(source:website)