Complete Resource List
Below is the complete resource list for information related to digital scholarship, copyright, public domain, fair use, and digital media archives.
Accessibility
Learn About Creating ADA Accessible Digital Files
The below resources provide information on making your content ADA accessible.
- LinkedIn Learning Course: Digital Accessibility for the Modern WorkplaceThis resource is a LinkedIn Learning course that is only available for Rowan University students and staff. You will need to login using your Rowan Login. This course provides short videos about accessibility for work environments, including introduction to common disabilities, challenges, and tips.
- LinkedIn Learning Course: Creating Accessible PDFsThis resource is a LinkedIn Learning course that is only available for Rowan University students and staff. You will need to login using your Rowan Login. This course provides step-by-step videos on how to create ADA accessible digital files using Word, PowerPoint, and InDesign. The course also provides an introduction to understanding ADA accessibility.
- Creating Accessible PDFs with Adobe Acrobat Pro DCThis is a recorded webinar tutorial by the University of Alabama on how to use Adobe Acrobat Pro DC to create PDFs that are accessible to people with disabilities.
- Creating Accessible Word DocumentsThis is a recorded webinar tutorial by the University of Alabama on how to create Microsoft Word documents that are accessible to people with disabilities.
- Creating Accessible PowerPoint PresentationsThis is a recorded webinar tutorial by the University of Alabama on how to create Microsoft PowerPoint presentations that are accessible to people with disabilities.
- Creating Accessible PDFs with Adobe InDesign CCThis is a recorded webinar tutorial by the University of Alabama that introduces using InDesign and Acrobat to create an accessible PDF.
List of Accessibility Checkers
- WebAim's Contrast Color CheckerThis website will help you test the colors used in your file or project.
- Accessibility CheckerThis website allows users to enter a website and test its accessibility. Accessibility Checker will let you know if the website is compliant and tips on how to fix it.
- WAVE Accessibility ToolThe WAVE accessibility tool allows you to test a website and see errors, and alerts. You can then use this information to fix the site structure.
- Microsoft Built-in Accessibility CheckerThis resource provides directions on how to use the built-in accessibility checker within Word and PowerPoint applications.
- Create and Verify PDF AccessibilityThis resource provides steps to make and check a PDFs accessibility.
Learn About Copyright and Public Domain
The following list of resources provides information regarding copyright, fair use, and public domain laws. Please keep in mind that laws change quickly and that "legal information is not legal advice."
- Copyright.govThis is the official website for the United States Copyright Office. The site provides a wide variety of information related to copyright laws, access to online systems to research copyright records, registering a copyright, and resources for instructors and students to better understand fair use in education.
- The Public Domain SherpaThis comprehensive copyright and public domain resources is written using everyday language. The resource provides a variety of information on when a creation enters the public domain. The resource includes a public domain calculator/diagram and copyright information regarding books, maps, photos, sheet music, and soundrecordings.
- Trademarks: Public Domain SherpaA general guide related to trademarks.
- Publicity or Privacy Rights: Public Domain SherpaThis guide shares information related copyright and publicity or privacy rights.
- Copyright Timeline: A History of Copyright in the United StatesCompiled by the Association of Research Libraries, this resource provides a timeline of the evolution of United States copyright law.
- Rowan University Libraries Fair Use and Copyright GuideA list of additional resources concerning copyright and fair us.
Best Practices for Working with Copyright, Public Domain, and Fair Use.
- Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Online VideoThis resource, by Center for Media and Social Impact, provides a copyright and fair use "code of best practices" for media artists, film makers, students, and instructors who are interested in making online videos.
- Code of Best Practices and Fair Use for the Visual ArtsThis is a comprehensive resource to help visual artists understand copyright and fair use laws. Topics include information regarding making art, using online museum resources, and teaching art and history.
- The Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Academic and Research LibrariesThis resource provides a detailed explanation of fair use and best practices within an academic research library.
Free public domain, stock photography, or royalty-free media collections
The following is a list of resources that provide free access to creative commons, public domain, and royalty-free photos, videos, or audio that can be used in digital projects. (Free music archives are listed below) However, when using this material please cite the source.
- Agricultural Research Service (US Government)A government collection of photos of agricultural scenes including farms, animals, insects, and crops, such as fruits and vegetables.
- Farm Security Administration/Office of War Information Color PhotographsThis is the Library of Congress collection of photographs created by government photographers working for the Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information from 1935 to 1945. This collection includes material from Glassboro, Bridgeton, Seabrook, and other Southern New Jersey communities.
- The Library of Congress Digital CollectionA comprehensive resource that includes a wide variety of historical and culturally significant photography, documents, maps, and other material related to the United States.
- United States Antarctic ProgramA photo collection for images related to the continent of Antarctica.
- National ArchivesThis is a comprehensive resource that includes US government related photos, documents, audio and video recordings. This collection includes documents and recordings related to Glassboro, NJ, including the Glassboro Summit and President Ronald Reagan's visit to Glassboro High School.
- Gateway to Astronaut Photography of EarthThis is a searchable resource that include a wide range of images of Earth. The user can search by location.
- NASA collectionNASA's collection of historically important photos (using Flickr).
- New York Public Library's Digital CollectionThis collection holds approximately 900,000 images, documents, and other material, most of which can be downloaded and freely used.
- Open PhotoOpen Photo provides free access to a large collection of photos from around the world, including architecture, animals, nature, people, places, landscapes, waterscapes, plants, etc. The site utilizes a share-alike license.
- US Fish and Wildlife Service Digital LibraryThis resource includes thousands of images related to fish and wildlife in the United States. The collection includes photos, illustrations, documents, maps, and videos.
- US Geological Survey Earth Science ArchiveThis extensive collection of public domain material holds more than 500,000 still photographs, slides, glass plate slides, negatives, and sketches dating from the 1870s and taken by USGS scientists as part of their field studies. The collection includes landscapes, towns, people, artifacts, earthquakes, glaciers, railroads, etc.
- Wikimedia CommonsWikimedia Commons is a media public domain media archive that provides freely-licensed educational media content.The archive includes photos, audio, and video.
- The Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive provides access to millions of free books, movies, photos, documents, software, music, websites, and more.
- Morgue FileThis community-based free photo archive was developed for creative professionals, students, and teachers to use in their work. The phrase "morgue file" is a collection of old files and notes made by criminal investigators and newspaper reporters.
- Pexels ArchiveThe Pexels is a free photo archive that can be used for a wide range of creative projects. The collection includes animals, people, scenery, plants, buildings, etc.
- VidevoVidevo provides both free and paid content. The service includes access to photos, video, sound effects, and music.
Audio and Music Archives
This list provides access to the most popular online audio and music archives that offer free audio clips, sound files, or music. These websites might require you to create an account. Students and instructors can use these websites to locate media for their digital projects, course assignments, or blended and online learning.
- The Free Music ArchiveA free resource of public domain music. The site includes a wide range of full song recordings.
- Open Music ArchiveThis resource provide access to a wide variety of recordings that are believed to be in the public domain.
- Free SoundsFreesound offers a large collection audio clips, snippets, samples, and recordings that can be used within digital projects. The collection includes free sound files from animals, music, nature, traffic, and more.
- Sound BibleThis online resource offers a large and eclectic collection of free sound files that can be used in digital projects and films.
- Zap SplatAnother great resource for free audio files that can be used in student projects. The website offers over 60,000 clips.
Font and Typeface Collections
The following is a list of font and typeface collections that can be used to build digital projects - website, print design, multimedia design, film and video - course assignments, or with online or blended learning. The files can be downloaded and then installed on your personal computer or mobile device.
- DafontDafont provides a diverse and extensive list of free fonts that can be used for student projects and course assignments.
- Font SquirrelThis resources offers a large and diverse collection of free fonts that can be used for commercial project, personal digital projects, course assignments, or digital scholarship projects. The site offers a font identifying tool that can help you match your font.
- Google FontsGoogle fonts can be used for website design, print design, motion graphics, and video projects. The fonts can also be embedded into an online website developing environment such as WordPress, Joomla, Tumblr, Squarespace, and Wix. Google Fonts include several categories including serif, san-serif, handwriting, and display typefaces.
- Open Font LibraryA free resource that includes approximately 1,000 downloadable fonts.
Free Training Library for the Rowan Community
Access to
Linked In Learning is an online training library provided by Rowan University Libraries at no cost to Rowan employees and students. The system includes 24/7 online access to the entire library of over 16,000 training videos for learning subjects such as Adobe Photoshop, Excel, Coding, Canvas, and even many business topics.
The courses and tutorials can be viewed anywhere you have internet access, and there are videos for all skill levels.
> > Access to Linked In Learning
(Use Rowan login to enter)