Library Renovations
Due to Phase 2 of our renovation, Campbell Library’s Floors 1, 2, & 3 are now closed. The 5th Floor Faculty Offices are open, and the 4th Floor Dreamscape Learn will launch soon. Please visit the Campbell Library Renovation site for details.
Canvas Tutorials
- Foundations of Learning Management Systems A video series presenting an in introduction to Learning Management Systems through Rowan University Library's Linkedin Learning.
- Getting Started with Canvas Video Tutorial Series Video series on using Canvas through Rowan University Library's LinkedIn Learning.
- Canvas: Quick tutorial for Instructors This page provides easy access to a YouTube Playlist of the Canvas LMS most used video tutorials for instructors.
- Canvas: Quick tutorial on how to log In This tutorial shows you how to log into Canvas.
- Canvas: Quick tutorial to the Canvas Interface This tutorial provides a basic introduction to the Canvas interface.
- Canvas: Quick tutorial on how to check grades This tutorial shows you how to check your grades in Canvas.
- Canvas: Quick tutorial on how to join a Zoom Call in Canvas This tutorial shows you how to join a Zoom call within Canvas.
- Canvas: Quick tutorial on how to message a professor in Canvas This tutorial shows you how to message your professor in the Canvas Learning management system.
- Canvas: Quick tutorial on how to submit an assignment in Canvas This tutorial shows you how to submit an assignment in the Canvas Learning Management System.
- Canvas: Quick tutorial on how to view recorded lectures in Canvas This tutorial shows you how to view recorded lectures.
Creating Video Projects
Creating a Video Project Using Free Web-based Editing Software
Creating a Video Project Using Free Web-based Editing Software- 01-Getting Started: Creating a Video Project Using Free, Web-Based Video Editing Software This video tutorial, by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, introduces users to creating videos using the free, web-based video edition software ClipChamp. The software can be used to easily and quickly create student projects and instructional video for online or blended learning. This specific video provides guidance on getting started with the software including creating and account and organizing your files and folders.
- 02-Logging In to ClipChamp: Creating a Video Project using Free, Web-Based software This video tutorial, by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, introduces users to creating videos using the free, web-based video edition software ClipChamp. The software can be used to easily and quickly create student projects and instructional videos for online or blended learning. This specific video is the second of the series and provides guidance on creating an account and logging into the system.
- 03-The Interface and Uploading Files: Creating a Video Project using Free, Web-Based software This video tutorial, by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, introduces users to creating videos using the free, web-based video editing software ClipChamp. The software can be used to easily and quickly create student projects and instructional video for online or blended learning. This specific video is the third of the series and introduces viewers to ClipChamp's interface and how to load image, video, and audio files into the system.
- 04-Beginning the Process of Editing: Creating a Video Project using Free, Web-Based Software This video tutorial, by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, introduces users to creating videos using the free, web-based video editing software ClipChamp. The software can be used to easily and quickly create student projects and instructional video for online or blended learning. This specific video is the fourth of the series and introduces viewers to the beginning process of editing. This includes adding files to the timeline, adjusting photos, video, and audio, and moving files.
- 05-Audio, Text, Transitions, and Exporting: Creating a Video Project using Free, Web-based software This video tutorial, by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, introduces users to creating videos using the free, web-based video editing software ClipChamp. The software can be used to easily and quickly create student projects and instructional video for online or blended learning. This specific video is the final tutorial of the series and introduces viewers adding text and transitions, adjusting audio, and exporting a video so that it can be uploaded to a service like YouTube.
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning is an online training library provided by Rowan University Libraries at no cost to Rowan employees and students. The system includes 24/7 online access to the entire library of over 21,000 training videos for learning subjects such as Adobe Photoshop, Excel, Coding, Canvas, Teaching and Learning, and even many business topics.
The courses and tutorials can be viewed on a computer or mobile device, and there are videos for all skill levels.
- LinkedIn Learning: Login Page Learn how to log into Rowan University's LinkedIn Learning.
- Quick tutorial on getting started with LinkedIn Learning at Rowan University. This tutorial provides information on logging into and getting started with LinkedIn Learning.
- Comprehensive course on how to Use LinkedIn Learning (LinkedIn Learning Course) A comprehensive video course on how to use LinkedIn Learning.
- Teaching with LinkedIn Learning (LinkedIn Learning course) An in-depth video series introducing how to teach with LinkedIn Learning.
- LinkedIn Learning: Building and Sharing a Collection or Playlist for a Course Learn to create the LinkedIn Learning Collection feature to develop collections of courses and videos on a specific topic, which can be used to organize and share content with your students.
- Share or Assign a LinkedIn Learning Course This tutorial introduces how to share or assign a LinkedIn Learning video or course.
- Troubleshooting LinkedIn Learning Login Issues This tutorial walks you through fixing login issues and where to find tech support.
Pixlr: Free Online Image Editing
| Free, Online Image Editing
| Free, Online Image Editing- 01-Brightness and Contrast: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to adjusting the brightness and contrast of photos.
- 02-Using Levels: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application, that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to adjusting the brightness and contrast of photos using the Levels menu.
- 03-Adjusting Levels and Vibrancy: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to adjusting the brightness and contrast of photos using the Levels and Vibrancy menus.
- 04-Adjusting Levels and Color Cast: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to adjusting the brightness, contrast, and color of photos using the Levels and Color Balance menus.
- 05-Adjusting Photos using Curves: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to adjusting photos using Curves. Mar 31, 2020 Add Box - Column 1 Add Box - Column 2 Add Bottom Box Last Updated: Mar 31, 2020 10:52 AMURL: https://libguides.rowan.edu/DSC Print PageLogin to LibApps Report a problem.Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Anthropology, Art, Computer Science, Education, English, Environmental Science, Geography, History, Journalism, Management/Entrepreneurship, Marketing/MIS, Mathematics, Music, New Media, Philosophy, Public Relations & Advertising, Radio, Television, and Film, Religion, Sociology, Writing Arts Tags: 3D Printing, Adobe Creative Cloud, Augmented Reality, Creativity, Digital archive, Digital Learning, digital media projects, Digital Media Services, digital research projects, Digital Scholarship, Innovative Technology, Instructional Design, Media Services, mobile app development, Software assistance, Video Editing, Web design, workshops
- 06-Levels and Color Balance: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to adjusting photos using Levels and the Color Balance menu.
- 07-Adjusting a Warm Color Cast: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to correcting a warm color cast.
- 08-Temperature and Tint: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to correcting a color using the Temperature & Tint menu.
- 09-Saturation & BW: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to convert a color photo into a black and white photo using the Saturation menu. The tutorial also shows an example of using Levels and the History pallet.
- 010-Black and White + Dodge and Burn: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial quickly introduces users to converting a color photo to a black and white photo, then using the Dodge and Burn tools to adjust parts of the photograph.
- 011-Color Replacement Tool: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial quickly introduces users to using the Color Replacement Tool.
- 012-Cropping, Rule of Thirds: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial quickly introduces users to cropping a photo using the rule of thirds.
- 013-Crop and Straighten: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial quickly introduces users to using the Crop Tool to straighten a photograph.
- 014-Fixing Perspective: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial quickly introduces users to fixing the perspective in a photo.
- 015-Rotating an Image: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial quickly introduces users to rotating an image.
- 016-Clone Tool: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using the Clone Tool.
- 017-Clone and Healing Tools: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using the Clone and Healing Tools.
- 018-Restore a photo #1: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to restoring a photo using healing and clone tools.
- 019-Restoring a Photo #2: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing: Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to restoring a photo using healing and clone tools.
- 020-Filter Effects #1: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using some of the filters effects available in Pixlr.
- 021-Filter Effects #2: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using some of the filters effects available in Pixlr.
- 022-Using Filters #1: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using some of the filters in Pixlr.
- 023-Using Filters #2: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using some of the filters in Pixlr.
- 024- Blur Background: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using the Blur tool to blur the background on an image.
- 025-Blur Filters: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using the Blur filters.
- 026-The Sharpen and Clarity Filters: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using the Sharpen and Clarity filters.
- 027-Crop and Sharpen Filter: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using the final stage of editing and image, sharpening the photo.
PowerPoint and Online Learning Tutorials
PowerPoint and Online Learning Tutorials
- PowerPoint Quick Start and Tips A video tutorial from Rowan's free LinkedIn Learning to help you get started with PowerPoint.
- PowerPoint Essential Training A comprehensive video tutorial introduction to PowerPoint from Rowan's free LinkedIn Learning.
- PowerPoint: Make Your Presentations Stand Out A video tutorial that shares tips on how to make great PowerPoint presentations that stand out. This is a video tutorial available through Rowan's LinkedIn Learning.
- 01-PowerPoint: Recording an Audio Voice-over Lecture using PowerPoint Created by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, this video tutorial introduces users to producing audio, voice-overs for PowerPoint lectures. These lectures can be saved as a video that can be used for online learning within Canvas, Blackboard, and MOODLE learning management systems. The video also shares tips on recording audio within PowerPoint and provides advice on microphones.
- 02-PowerPoint: Exporting an Audio Voice-over Presentation to a Video File Created by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, this video tutorial introduces users to exporting an audio, voice-over presentation using PowerPoint. Instructors can use this technique to save course lectures as a video file, which can them be uploaded to a learning management systems such as Canvas, Blackboard, or MOODLE. Students can also use this technique to share video course presentations. This tutorial also includes a demo on how to compress videos using the free VLC media player.
- 03-PowerPoint: Sharing Lecture Video for Online Learning using Canvas Created by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, this video tutorial introduces users to sharing a PowerPoint video lecture for online learning using Google Drive and Canvas. The tutorial shows the step-by-step process of linking a video file on Google Drive with the Canvas learning management system. The same technique can be used to link audio files.
Teaching Online
- Teaching Online (LinkedIn Learning Course) An in-depth video series that introduces how to teach online. The course shares different methods, technologies, and an overview of synchronous and asynchronous learning.
- E-Learning Essentials and Instructional Design (LinkedIn Learning Course) This series shares how to design engaging eLearning content that connects with a diverse set of participants.
- Foundations of Accessible Learning (LinkedIn Learning Course) This course introduces accessibility and fairness in E-Learning. It provides strategies and best practices to keep your classroom open and meaningful for all.
- Create an Engaging Online Learning Environment (LinkedIn Learning Course) This video series shares tips to promote student success in an online course, such as creating an engaging online learning environment.
Free Training Library for the Rowan Community
Access to
Linked In Learning is an online training library provided by Rowan University Libraries at no cost to Rowan employees and students. The system includes 24/7 online access to the entire library of over 21,000 training videos for learning subjects such as Adobe Photoshop, Excel, Coding, Canvas, and even many business topics.
The courses and tutorials can be viewed anywhere you have internet access, and there are videos for all skill levels.
> > Access to Linked In Learning
(Use Rowan login to enter)