Complete Tutorial List
Below is a list of various tutorials for programs we have here at the DSC, as well as, tutorials for Rowan University specific services.
Adobe Acrobat Tutorials
- Acrobat Pro: Reduce File Size of PDF This tutorial shows how to reduce the file size of a pdf.
- Acrobat Pro: Create PDF files using other file formats Acrobat Pro can convert image and text file to PDF. The software can also use image and text files to create multiple page pdf documents.
- Acrobat Pro: Converting PDF into a Searchable Document A step-by-step tutorial in converting a PDF to a searchable document.
- Acrobat Pro: Optical Character Recognition (OCR) for Research, Learning, and Accessibility This video tutorial, by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, introduces users to the OCR (Optical Character Recognition) feature in Acrobat Pro DC. The software can be used to quickly convert scanned documents to text, increasing the speed of research and learning, and making the files more ADA accessible for those using screen readers.
- Acrobat Pro: Creating a Digital Form Learn how to create a digital form using Acrobat Pro.
- Acrobat: Signing a Digital Form A step-by-step tutorial showing you how to sign a PDF form.
Adobe Photoshop Tutorials
Adobe Expres (Formerly named Spark) Tutorials
Adobe Expres (Formerly named Spark) Tutorials- 01-Adobe Express: Getting Started How to get started designing media with Adobe Spark
- 02-Adobe Express: Creating a Project How to create a project using Adobe Spark
- 03-Adobe Express: Creating a webpage How to create a webpage
- 04-Adobe Express: How to Share your Designs on Social Media How to Share your Designs on Social Media
- Adobe Express: How to Create an Instagram Post How to Create an Instagram Post
- Adobe Express: How to Create a Brand for your Adobe Spark Account How to Create a Brand for your Adobe Spark Account
- Adobe Express: How to Make a Photo Collage How to Make a Photo Collage
Creating a Video Project Using Free Web-based Editing Software
Creating a Video Project Using Free Web-based Editing Software- 01-Getting Started: Creating a Video Project Using Free, Web-Based Video Editing Software This video tutorial, by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, introduces users to creating videos using the free, web-based video edition software ClipChamp. The software can be used to easily and quickly create student projects and instructional video for online or blended learning. This specific video provides guidance on getting started with the software including creating and account and organizing your files and folders.
- 02-Logging In to ClipChamp: Creating a Video Project using Free, Web-Based software This video tutorial, by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, introduces users to creating videos using the free, web-based video edition software ClipChamp. The software can be used to easily and quickly create student projects and instructional videos for online or blended learning. This specific video is the second of the series and provides guidance on creating an account and logging into the system.
- 03-The Interface and Uploading Files: Creating a Video Project using Free, Web-Based software This video tutorial, by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, introduces users to creating videos using the free, web-based video editing software ClipChamp. The software can be used to easily and quickly create student projects and instructional video for online or blended learning. This specific video is the third of the series and introduces viewers to ClipChamp's interface and how to load image, video, and audio files into the system.
- 04-Beginning the Process of Editing: Creating a Video Project using Free, Web-Based Software This video tutorial, by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, introduces users to creating videos using the free, web-based video editing software ClipChamp. The software can be used to easily and quickly create student projects and instructional video for online or blended learning. This specific video is the fourth of the series and introduces viewers to the beginning process of editing. This includes adding files to the timeline, adjusting photos, video, and audio, and moving files.
- 05-Audio, Text, Transitions, and Exporting: Creating a Video Project using Free, Web-based software This video tutorial, by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, introduces users to creating videos using the free, web-based video editing software ClipChamp. The software can be used to easily and quickly create student projects and instructional video for online or blended learning. This specific video is the final tutorial of the series and introduces viewers adding text and transitions, adjusting audio, and exporting a video so that it can be uploaded to a service like YouTube.
Google Drive Tutorials
- Google Drive - Accessing and Uploading Files This tutorial shows you how to access and upload files to your Rowan University Google Drive.
- Google Drive - Compress Files This tutorial shows you how to compress files on your Rowan University Google Drive.
- Google Forms - Create a Form This tutorial shows you how to build a Google Form and create a sheet of your collected data.
- Google Slides - Create Slide Presentation This tutorial shows you how to build a Google Slide presentation
- Google Slides - Edit a Slide Presentation This tutorial shows you how to edit a Google Slides presentation.
- Google Calendar- How to Create an Event in Google Calendar Google Calendar is an organizational tool that allows users to schedule and share events. This tutorial will focus on how to create an event using Google Calendar.
- Google Calendar- Changing the Color of a Google Calendar Event Google Calendar is an organizational tool that allows users to schedule and share events. This tutorial will focus on how to create an event using Google Calendar.
- Google Calendar- Adding Guests to Google Calendar Google Calendar is an organizational tool that allows users to schedule and share events. This tutorial will focus on how to create an event using Google Calendar.
iMovie Tutorials
- 01-Creating a Video Project Using iMovie: Getting Started This video tutorial, by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, introduces users to creating videos using iMovie, a free video editing application by Apple. This easy to use software can help you quickly create student projects and instructional videos for online or blended learning. This specific video tutorial introduces learners to iMovie's interface and importing media files.
- 02-Creating a Video Project Using iMovie: Importing Files and Introducing Tools This video tutorial, by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, introduces users to creating videos using iMovie, a free video editing application by Apple. This easy to use software can help you quickly create student projects and instructional videos for online or blended learning. This specific video tutorial is the second in the series and introduces learners to importing media files and using iMovie's tools such as adding titles and transitions, cropping media, and adding text.
Mac (OSX) Tutorials
- Screenshots - Taking Screenshots with a MacintoshLearn how to take screenshots with an Apple computer.
- Use the Camera on a Mac to Take a High Quality PhotoThis is a tutorial on using the camera on a Macintosh computer to take quick high quality pictures objects for research or class projects.
Microsoft Excel Tutorials
- Excel: Memorizing and Recognizing Basic Functions and Formulas This tutorial will teach you to recognize some basic Excel functions/formulas.
- Excel: How To Use A Formula/ Function Formulas/functions are a big component to Excel. Knowing the shortcuts for those will help make your excel assignment much easier to complete.
- Excel: How To Sort Data Being able to efficiently store your data is very useful in Excel. Knowing this skill helps you organize your data and finish your project faster.
- Excel: How To Convert Data Into A Chart/Graph Converting your data into a chart/graph is helpful for any school projects or assignments. Doing this is made easier with this tutorial.
- Excel: How To Fix An Excel Error Message Dealing with error messages in Excel can be quite frustrating. This tutorial will help break down and explain a few of the most common Excel error messages.
PowerPoint and Online Learning Tutorials
- 01-PowerPoint: Recording an Audio Voice-over Lecture using PowerPoint Created by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, this video tutorial introduces users to producing audio, voice-overs for PowerPoint lectures. These lectures can be saved as a video that can be used for online learning within Canvas, Blackboard, and MOODLE learning management systems. The video also shares tips on recording audio within PowerPoint and provides advice on microphones.
- 02-PowerPoint: Exporting an Audio Voice-over Presentation to a Video File Created by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, this video tutorial introduces users to exporting an audio, voice-over presentation using PowerPoint. Instructors can use this technique to save course lectures as a video file, which can them be uploaded to a learning management systems such as Canvas, Blackboard, or MOODLE. Students can also use this technique to share video course presentations. This tutorial also includes a demo on how to compress videos using the free VLC media player.
- 03-PowerPoint: Sharing Lecture Video for Online Learning using Canvas Created by the Rowan University Libraries Digital Scholarship Center, this video tutorial introduces users to sharing a PowerPoint video lecture for online learning using Google Drive and Canvas. The tutorial shows the step-by-step process of linking a video file on Google Drive with the Canvas learning management system. The same technique can be used to link audio files.
Microsoft Word Tutorials
| Free, Online Image Editing
| Free, Online Image Editing- 01-Brightness and Contrast: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to adjusting the brightness and contrast of photos.
- 02-Using Levels: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application, that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to adjusting the brightness and contrast of photos using the Levels menu.
- 03-Adjusting Levels and Vibrancy: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to adjusting the brightness and contrast of photos using the Levels and Vibrancy menus.
- 04-Adjusting Levels and Color Cast: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to adjusting the brightness, contrast, and color of photos using the Levels and Color Balance menus.
- 05-Adjusting Photos using Curves: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to adjusting photos using Curves. Mar 31, 2020 Add Box - Column 1 Add Box - Column 2 Add Bottom Box Last Updated: Mar 31, 2020 10:52 AMURL: https://libguides.rowan.edu/DSC Print PageLogin to LibApps Report a problem.Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Anthropology, Art, Computer Science, Education, English, Environmental Science, Geography, History, Journalism, Management/Entrepreneurship, Marketing/MIS, Mathematics, Music, New Media, Philosophy, Public Relations & Advertising, Radio, Television, and Film, Religion, Sociology, Writing Arts Tags: 3D Printing, Adobe Creative Cloud, Augmented Reality, Creativity, Digital archive, Digital Learning, digital media projects, Digital Media Services, digital research projects, Digital Scholarship, Innovative Technology, Instructional Design, Media Services, mobile app development, Software assistance, Video Editing, Web design, workshops
- 06-Levels and Color Balance: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to adjusting photos using Levels and the Color Balance menu.
- 07-Adjusting a Warm Color Cast: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to correcting a warm color cast.
- 08-Temperature and Tint: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to correcting a color using the Temperature & Tint menu.
- 09-Saturation & BW: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to convert a color photo into a black and white photo using the Saturation menu. The tutorial also shows an example of using Levels and the History pallet.
- 010-Black and White + Dodge and Burn: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial quickly introduces users to converting a color photo to a black and white photo, then using the Dodge and Burn tools to adjust parts of the photograph.
- 011-Color Replacement Tool: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial quickly introduces users to using the Color Replacement Tool.
- 012-Cropping, Rule of Thirds: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial quickly introduces users to cropping a photo using the rule of thirds.
- 013-Crop and Straighten: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial quickly introduces users to using the Crop Tool to straighten a photograph.
- 014-Fixing Perspective: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial quickly introduces users to fixing the perspective in a photo.
- 015-Rotating an Image: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial quickly introduces users to rotating an image.
- 016-Clone Tool: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using the Clone Tool.
- 017-Clone and Healing Tools: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using the Clone and Healing Tools.
- 018-Restore a photo #1: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to restoring a photo using healing and clone tools.
- 019-Restoring a Photo #2: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing: Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to restoring a photo using healing and clone tools.
- 020-Filter Effects #1: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using some of the filters effects available in Pixlr.
- 021-Filter Effects #2: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using some of the filters effects available in Pixlr.
- 022-Using Filters #1: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using some of the filters in Pixlr.
- 023-Using Filters #2: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using some of the filters in Pixlr.
- 024- Blur Background: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using the Blur tool to blur the background on an image.
- 025-Blur Filters: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using the Blur filters.
- 026-The Sharpen and Clarity Filters: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using the Sharpen and Clarity filters.
- 027-Crop and Sharpen Filter: Pixlr Free, Online Image Editing Similar to Photoshop, Pixlr is a a free, online image editing application that can be used for course projects, used in online learning, or to simply edit your collection of family and creative photographs. This short tutorial introduces users to using the final stage of editing and image, sharpening the photo.
Rowan University Account Tutorials
- Canvas Tutorials for Instructors This page provides easy access to a YouTube Playlist of the Canvas LMS most used video tutorials for instructors.
- Canvas: How to Log In This tutorial shows you how to log into Canvas.
- Canvas: Introduction to the Canvas Interface This tutorial provides a basic introduction to the Canvas interface.
- Canvas: How to Check Grades This tutorial shows you how to check your grades in Canvas.
- Canvas: How to Join Zoom Call This tutorial shows you how to join a Zoom call within Canvas.
- Canvas: How to Message a Professor This tutorial shows you how to message your professor in the Canvas Learning management system.
- Canvas: How to Submit an Assignment This tutorial shows you how to submit an assignment in the Canvas Learning Management System.
- Canvas: How to View Recorded Lectures This tutorial shows you how to view recorded lectures.
Wikipedia Guide
- Wikipedia Guide: Creating and Editing Pages A step-by-step guide in creating and Editing Wikipedia pages.
Scalar Digital Humanities Publishing Tutorials
Scalar Digital Humanities Publishing
Scalar, is an open-source Digital Scholarship and Digital Humanities platform that can be used to develop interactive course projects and long-form multi-modal documents that include text, images, video, audio, and metadata. The following video tutorials introduce instructors and students to using Scalar in their courses and creative projects.
- 01 - Getting Started With Scalar: Digital Humanities Publishing This video tutorial introduces Scalar, an open-source Digital Scholarship and Digital Humanities platform which can be used to develop interactive course projects and long-form multi-modal documents that include text, images, video, audio, and metadata. The system can also easily access content in many well-known digital archives, such as the Internet Archive and Hathi Trust digital library.
- 02 - Creating a Scalar Project: Introduction to the Dashboard and Interface This video tutorial introduces Scalar's dashboard and interface. The Scalar software is a web-based open-source Digital Scholarship and Digital Humanities platform used to develop interactive projects, course projects, and long-form multi-modal documents that include text, images, video, audio, and metadata. This video introduces users to the options in Scalar's dashboard and interface. Topics covered include the My Account, Book Properties, Book Users, Sharing, Pages, Media, and Import and Export tabs within Scalar. The video also introduces users to the tools and many of the menus in Scalar's interface.
- 03 - Organizing a New Scalar Project Planning and organization is the first step when creating a Scalar project. It is essential to plan your project before you start work. This plan includes deciding on the chapters or sections of your project, developing the content you need to complete the project, and how you will organize your digital files.
Free Training Library for the Rowan Community
Access to
Linked In Learning is an online training library provided by Rowan University Libraries at no cost to Rowan employees and students. The system includes 24/7 online access to the entire library of over 16,000 training videos for learning subjects such as Adobe Photoshop, Excel, Coding, Canvas, and even many business topics.
The courses and tutorials can be viewed anywhere you have internet access, and there are videos for all skill levels.
> > Access to Linked In Learning
(Use Rowan login to enter)