How to Use this Guide
This research guide helps you search and browse for books and scores for your main instrument (listed on list on the left)
Each page for your individual instrument starts with the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each instrument, allowing you to browse the shelves of the library.
- The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items.
- For printed music, each call number describes a musical genre or performing ensemble, which is then organized alphabetically by the composer's last name.
- Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.
The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library.
- Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance.
- The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.
The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. These include almost all of the books starting with ML and some books starting with MT. Check with a librarian or a library assistant to see where your resources might be located.
(Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.)
Call Numbers for Orchestra and Band Music
| M1000–M1075 | Orchestra (including chamber orchestra) |
| M1000 | Collections (original and arranged compositions or a variety of forms) |
| M1001 | Symphonies |
| M1002 | Symphonic poems |
| M1003 | Suites & variations (including separately published suites from operas, ballets, etc.) |
| M1004 | Overtures (including separately published opera preludes, entr’actes, and overtures) |
| M1005–1041 | Solo instrument with orchestra (arranged by instrument) |
| M1042 | Concertos for orchestra |
| M1045–1049 | Pieces: general, marches, dances |
| M1060–1070 | Arrangements |
| M1075 | Potpourris, fantasies, etc. |
|
M1100–M1160 |
String orchestra |
| M1100 | Collections (original and arranged compositions or a variety of forms) |
| M1101 | Symphonies |
| M1102 | Symphonic poems |
| M1103 | Suites & variations (including separately published suites from operas, ballets, etc.) |
| M1104 | Overtures (including separately published opera preludes, entr’actes, and overtures) |
| M1105–1141 | Solo instrument with orchestra (arranged by instrument) |
| M1142 | Concertos for string orchestra |
| M1145–1149 | Pieces: general, marches, dances |
| M1160 | Arrangements |
| M1200–M1268 | Band |
| M1200 | Collections (original and arranged compositions or a variety of forms) |
| M1201 | Symphonies |
| M1202 | Symphonic poems |
| M1203 | Suites & variations (including separately published suites from operas, ballets, etc.) |
| M1204 | Overtures (including separately published opera preludes, entr’actes, and overtures) |
| M1205–1241 | Solo instrument with band (arranged by instrument) |
| M1242 | Concertos for band |
| M1245–1249 | Pieces: general, marches, dances |
| M1260 | Arrangements |
Call Numbers for Books about Orchestra and Band Music
Literature on orchestra music
| Ref. ML128.O5 | Bibliographies of orchestra music |
| ML1200 | General |
| ML1202–1208 | By period |
| ML1210–1251 | By region or country |
| ML1254–1270 | Forms and types (symphony, suite, overture, concerto, etc.) |
Literature on band music
| Ref. ML128.O5 | Bibliographies of orchestra music |
| ML1299–1354 | General |
Orchestral and Band music—studies and methods
| MT70–71 | Instrumentation and orchestration |
| MT85 | Conducting, score reading and playing |
| MT125, 130 | Analysis and appreciation |
| MT730 | Techniques |
| MT733–733.6 | Band |
Subject Headings
These subject headings help you search our collections by precise genres and instrument combinations. Use these in advanced searches using subject headings in Library Search to see our holdings or WorldCat to see what is available through other libraries.
orchestral music
orchestral music, arranged
string orchestra music
concertos
concertos, arranged
concertos (chamber orchestra)
concertos (orchestra)
concertos (string orchestra)
overtures
overtures, arranged
overtures (chamber orchestra)
overtures (orchestra)
overtures (string orchestra)
overtures (string orchestra), arranged
symphonic poems
symphonic poems (chamber orchestra)
symphonic poems (string orchestra)
symphonies
symphonies, arranged
symphonies--excerpts
symphonies (chamber orchestra)
symphonies (chamber orchestra), arranged
symphonies (chamber orchestra)--excerpts
symphonies (string orchestra)
symphonies (string orchestra), arranged
symphonies (string orchestra)--excerpts
suites (orchestra), etc.
Selected Periodicals
School Band and Orchestra (2009-present)
Selected Bibliography
Accessible Orchestral Repertoire: An Annotated Guide for Community and School Orchestras by
Accessible Orchestral Repertoire is a reference volume for conductors who lead non-professional symphonic orchestras, offering practical and insightful commentary on music appropriate for intermediate and advanced youth, community, and collegiate orchestras. Modeled on and complimentary to Daniels' Orchestral Music, this book serves as a repertoire and programming resource for youth, academic, and community orchestras. The works included in this book are a combination of well-known warhorses and lesser known gems--clear favorites for young or amateur players and as well as more challenging pieces. Functioning like an annotated bibliography, the book contains entries on individual works including information about the composer, instrumentation, movement length, and publisher. Each entry also features notes regarding the particular pedagogical, stylistic, logistical, and technical strengths and challenges of the specific work. Accessible Orchestral Repertoire will help every conductor in the process of selecting repertoire that will both feature and enrich any individual non-professional ensemble for which thoughtful and strategic programming is required.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9781442275799Publication Date: 2020-06-15
The New Winds of Change: The Evolution of the Contemporary American Wind Ensemble and its Music by
(Meredith Music Resource). A new and expanded version of the first two Winds of Change volumes containing much new information about wind band/ensemble literature, important conferences, concerts and events from the 19th century through 2015.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 9781574634747Publication Date: 2018-08-01
The Band Music Handbook: A Catalog of Emerging Band Repertoire by
The Band Music Handbook: A Comprehensive Catalog of Band Repertoire presents professional, college, community, and school band directors with an essential tool for discovering and selecting appropriate repertoire. Christopher M. Cicconi presents a wide-ranging catalog of band music composed in the past twenty-five years. From the work of John Adams to Ellen Taaffe Zwilich, the music cataloged includes works appropriate for all ages and skill levels. Each work listed includes date of origin, duration, exact instrumentation, and publisher. A number of appendixes further classify the repertoire by composer, title, and duration and offer a detailed list of publishers, a bibliography for further reading, and a comprehensive march list. Following the model of the best-selling Daniels' Orchestral Music, The Band Music Handbook puts the information that band conductors, directors, and musicians need right at their fingertips. It is also an essential tool for future music educators and instrumental music education students seeking assistance in repertoire selection.
Call Number: Available ONLINEISBN: 1442268646Publication Date: 2017-02-01
