Research Guides: Instrument and Voice Guides: Trumpet

How to Use this Guide

This research guide helps you search and browse for books and scores for your main instrument (listed on list on the left)

Each page for your individual instrument starts with the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each instrument, allowing you to browse the shelves of the library.

The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items.
For printed music, each call number describes a musical genre or performing ensemble, which is then organized alphabetically by the composer's last name.
Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.

The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library.

Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance.
The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.

The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. These include almost all of the books starting with ML and some books starting with MT. Check with a librarian or a library assistant to see where your resources might be located.

(Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.)

Call Numbers for Trumpet Music

Use these call numbers to browse for music for your instrument!

M85–M89	Trumpet or cornet alone:
M85	Collections (different composers)
M86	Original works: collections (one composer)
M87	Original works: separate
M88	Arrangements: collections (one composer)
M89	Arrangements: separate works
M260–M261	Trumpet or cornet with piano accompaniment:
M260	Collections
M261	Separate works
M288–M289	Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds):
M288	Collections
M289	Separate works
M290–M291	Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
M296–M297	Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument
M315–M319	Piano and two wind instruments
M320–M324	Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
M335–M339	Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
M355–M359	Three wind instruments
M360–M364	Three stringed and wind instruments
M375–M379	Three wind and plucked instruments

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see the full classification schedule.

Concertos and similar pieces:

M1030	Trumpet or cornet with orchestra, full scores
M1030.5	Cadenzas for such works
M1031	Trumpet or cornet with orchestra, piano reductions
M1130	Trumpet or cornet with string orchestra, full scores
M1130.5	Cadenzas for such works
M1131	Trumpet or cornet with string orchestra, piano reductions

Studies and methods:

MT440	General works
MT442	Systems and methods
MT443	Teaching pieces
MT444	Instructive editions
MT445	Studies and exercises
MT446	Orchestral studies
MT447	Two trumpets
MT448	Self-instructors

Subject Headings for Trumpet Music

These subject headings help you search our collections by precise genres and instrument combinations. Use these in advanced searches using subject headings in Library Search to see our holdings or WorldCat to see what is available through other libraries.

Solo trumpet music:	sonatas (trumpet); suites (trumpet); variations (trumpet); etc.; trumpet music
Trumpet and piano music:	rondos (trumpet and piano); sonatas (trumpet and piano); suites (trumpet and piano); variations (trumpet and piano); etc.; trumpet and piano music
Duets:	trumpet music (trumpets (2)) horn and trumpet music; trombone and trumpet music; tuba and trumpet music; flute and trumpet music; etc.
Trios:	brass trios (horn, trombone, trumpet) (or other combinations) wind trios, wind trios (flute, horns (2)), [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]
Quartets:	brass quartets [various combinations]; also suites [various combinations of brass instruments]; variations [various combinations of brass instruments]; etc. wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]; also suites, variations, etc. Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.
Trumpet and Orchestra:	concertos (trumpet) concertos (trumpet) — solo with piano trumpet with orchestra concertos (trumpet with string orchestra) rondos (trumpet with orchestra), etc.

Call Numbers for Books about the Trombone

Ref. ML128 .T78	Trumpet bibliographies
ML960	General works
ML961	Construction
ML963	Music and playing

Selected Bibliography

Bate, Philip. The Trumpet and Trombone: An Outline of Their History, Development, and Construction. London: E. Benn, 1966. ML960 .B38

Carnovale, Norbert A., and Paul F. Doersken. Twentieth-Century Music for Trumpet and Orchestra. United States: Brass Press, 1975. PAC Ref. ML 128.T78 C34 1975

Koehler, Elisa. Dictionary for the Modern Trumpet Player. Lanham, MD: Rowman and Littlefield, 2015.

Koehler, Elisa. Fanfares and Finesse: A Performer’s Guide to Trumpet History and Literature. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2014.

Wallace, John, and Alexander McGrattan. The Trumpet. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2012.