Skip to main content

Instrument and Voice Guides

This guide is designed to help you find scores and resources in the Performing Arts Collection, Campbell Library, and online for and about your instrument or voice

How to Use this Guide

This research guide contains the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each main tab (bassoon, horn, etc.). 

The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items. Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.

The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library. Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance. The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.

The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. These include almost all of the books starting with ML and some books starting with MT.Check with a librarian or a library worker to see where your resources might be located.

Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.

If you need more help, please ask the Performing Arts Librarian.

Classification Numbers for Bassoon Music

M75–79  Bassoon or contrabassoon alone:
     M75  Collections (more than one composer)
     M76  Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M77  Original works: Separate
     M78  Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M79  Arrangements: Separate works
 M253–254  Bassoon or contrabassoon with piano accompaniment:
     M253  Collections
     M254  Separate works
 M288–M289  Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds):
     M288  Collections
     M289  Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M296–M297  Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument
 M315–M319  Piano and two wind instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
 M355–M359  Three wind instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M375–M379  Three wind and plucked instruments


Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see the full classification schedule.

 

Concertos and Similar Pieces

 M1026  Bassoon with orchestra, full scores
 M1026.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1027  Bassoon with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1126  Bassoon with string orchestra, full scores
 M1126.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1127  Bassoon with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Studies and methods

 MT400  General works
 MT402  Systems and methods
 MT403  Teaching pieces
 MT404  Instructive editions
 MT405  Studies and exercises
 MT406  Orchestral excerpts and studies
 MT407  Two bassoons
 MT408  Self-instructors
 MT 412  Contrabassoon
 MT 415  Sarrusophone

Subject Headings for Bassoon Music

 (for subject searches in Library Search or WorldCat)

Solo bassoon music:

sonatas (bassoon)suites (bassoon)variations (bassoon); etc.; bassoon music

Bassoon and piano music:

rondos (bassoon and piano)sonatas (bassoon and piano)suites (bassoon and piano)variations (bassoon and piano); etc.; bassoon and piano music

Duets:

bassoon music (bassoons (2))

clarinet and bassoon musicflute and bassoon musichorn and bassoon musicoboe and bassoon musichorn and bassoon music; etc.

Trios:

woodwind trios (bassoon, oboe, flute) (or other combinations)

wind trios [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations] e.g., wind trios (bassoon, clarinet, trumpet)

trios [various combinations of instruments] e.g., trios (viola, bassoons (2))trios (bassoon, trumpet, percussion)

Quartets:

woodwind quartets[various combinations];

also suites [various combinations of instruments]; variations [various combinations of instruments]; etc.

wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations];

also suitesvariations, etc.

Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.

Bassoon and Orchestra:

concertos (bassoon)

concertos (bassoon) — solo with piano

bassoon with orchestra

concertos (bassoon with string orchestra)

rondos (bassoon with orchestra), etc.

Search Music Scores

Selected Bibliography: Music, Writings

Jansen, Will. The Bassoon: Its History, Construction, Makers, Players and MusicBuren: Frits Knuf, 1978. PAC ML 950 J35 B17

Langwill, Lyndesay G. The Bassoon and Contrabassoon. London: E. Benn,1965. ML950.L29

Lehman, Paul R. The Harmonic Structure of the Tone of the BassoonSeattle: Berdon, 1965.

Wilkins, Wayne. The Index of Bassoon Music Including the Index of Baroque Trio SonatasMagnolia, AR: The Music Register, 1976. PAC Ref. ML 128.B26 W5 1976

Classification Numbers for Books About the Bassoon

 ML950  General works
 ML951  Construction
 ML953  Music and playing

Selected Periodicals

Selected Internet Resources

International Double Reed Society

http://www.idrs.org