Skip to Main Content
Campbell Library

Instrument and Voice Guides

This guide is designed to help you find scores and resources in the Performing Arts Collection, Campbell Library, and online for and about your instrument or voice

How to Use this Guide

This research guide helps you search and browse for books and scores for your main instrument (listed on list on the left)

Each page for your individual instrument starts with the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each instrument, allowing you to browse the shelves of the library.

  • The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items.
  • For printed music, each call number describes a musical genre or performing ensemble, which is then organized alphabetically by the composer's last name. 
  • Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.

 

The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library.

  • Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance.
  • The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.

 

The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. These include almost all of the books starting with ML and some books starting with MT. Check with a librarian or a library assistant to see where your resources might be located.

 

(Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.)

Call Numbers for Horn Music

Use these call numbers to browse for music for your instrument!

M80–M84  Horn alone:
     M80      Collections (more than one composer)
     M81      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M82      Original works: Separate
     M83      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M84      Arrangements: separate works
 M255–M259  Horn with piano accompaniment:
     M255      Collections (more than one composer)
     M256      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M257      Original works: Separate
     M258      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M259      Arrangements: Separate works
 M288–M289  Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds):
     M288      Collections
     M289      Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M296–M297  Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument
 M315–M319  Piano and two wind instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
 M355–M359  Three wind instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M375–M379  Three wind and plucked instruments

 

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see the full classification schedule.

Concertos and similar pieces:

 M1028  Horn with orchestra, full scores
 M1028.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1029  Horn with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1128  Horn with string orchestra, full scores
 M1128.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1129  Horn with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Horn Studies and Methods:

 MT420  General works
 MT422  Systems and methods
 MT423  Teaching pieces
 MT424  Instructive editions
 MT425  Studies and exercises
 MT426  Orchestral studies (excerpts)
 MT427  Two horns
 MT428  Self-instructors

Subject Headings

These subject headings help you search our collections by precise genres and instrument combinations. Use these in advanced searches using subject headings in Library Search to see our holdings or WorldCat to see what is available through other libraries.

Solo horn music: sonatas (horn); suites (horn); variations (horn); etc.; horn music
Horn and piano music: rondos (horn and piano); sonatas (horn and piano); suites (horn and piano); variations (horn and piano); etc.; horn and piano music
Duets:

horn music (horns (2))

horn and trumpet music; horn and trombone music; horn and tuba music; flute and horn music; etc.
Trios:

brass trios (horn, trombone, trumpet)

(or other combinations)

wind trios, wind trios (flute, horns (2)), [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]
Quartets:

brass quartets [various combinations];

also suites [various combinations of brass instruments]; variations [various combinations of brass instruments]; etc.

wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations];

also suites, variations, etc.

Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.
Horn and Orchestra: concertos (horn)

concertos (horn) — solo with piano

horn with orchestra

rondos (horn with orchestra), etc.

Search Music Scores

Call Numbers for Books about the Horn

 Ref. ML128 .T78  Horn bibliographies
 ML955  General works
 ML956  Construction
 ML957  Music and playing

Selected Bibliography

Fasman, Mark J. Brass Bibliography: Sources on the History, Literature, Pedagogy, Performance, and Acoustics of Brass Instruments. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1990. PAC Ref. ML 128.B73 F3 1990

Gregory, Robin.The Horn: A Comprehensive Guide to the Modern Instrument & its Music. 2nd ed.London: Faber & Faber; New York: F. A. Praeger 1969. ML955.G7 1969b

Janetzky, Kurt, and Bernhard Bruchle.The Horn. Trans. James Chater.London:Batsford; Portland, OR: Amadeus Press, 1988. ML955.J313 1988

Reynolds, Verne. The Horn Handbook. Portland, OR: Amadeus Press, 1997. PAC MT 420 R466H6

Selected Periodicals