Instrument and Voice Guides

This research guide helps you search and browse for books and scores for your main instrument (listed on list on the left)

Each page for your individual instrument starts with the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each instrument, allowing you to browse the shelves of the library.

• The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items.
• For printed music, each call number describes a musical genre or performing ensemble, which is then organized alphabetically by the composer's last name. 
• Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.

The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library.

• Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance.
• The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.

The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. These include almost all of the books starting with ML and some books starting with MT. Check with a librarian or a library assistant to see where your resources might be located.

(Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.)

Use these call numbers to browse for music for your instrument!

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see the full classification schedule.

These subject headings help you search our collections by precise genres and instrument combinations. Use these in advanced searches using subject headings in Library Search to see our holdings or WorldCat to see what is available through other libraries.

Bell, William, and R. Winston Morris. Encyclopedia of Literature for the Tuba. New York:Charles Colin, 1967. PAC Ref. ML 128.T 8 B4 1967

Gray, Harold Ross. “Music for Solo Tuba with Orchestra: A Discussion of Important Works and Annotated Bibliography.”D.M.A. thesis, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1994.

Morris, R. Winston, and Perantoni, Daniel. Guide to the Tuba Repertoire: The New Tuba Source Book. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2006. PAC Ref. ML 128.T8 T8 2006