Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Instrument and Voice Guides

This guide is designed to help you find scores and resources in the Performing Arts Collection, Campbell Library, and online for and about your instrument or voice

How to Use this Guide

This research guide helps you search and browse for books and scores for your main instrument (listed on list on the left)

Each page for your individual instrument starts with the Library of Congress classification system for books and scores relevant to each instrument, allowing you to browse the shelves of the library.

The classification system uses call numbers to place items on a physical shelf, and items are also given multiple subject headings, a controlled language that describes the contents of items. For printed music, each call number describes a musical genre or performing ensemble, which is then organized alphabetically by the composer's last name. Subject headings are used for searching in catalogs and databases, while call numbers are useful for finding materials and browsing physical shelves.

The Performing Arts Collection can be found on the Second Floor of Campbell Library. Here, you will find all of the scores, CDs, and most of the reference books (encyclopedias, special music dictionaries, catalogs, and introductory research books), and some of the books on music education and performance. The Performing Arts Collections houses all of the items with call numbers starting with just the letter M, all of the scores and most of the books starting with MT, and some books starting with ML.

The Fourth Floor of Campbell Library contains the majority of our books on music history, music performance, music education, the music industry, and music therapy. These include almost all of the books starting with ML and some books starting with MT. Check with a librarian or a library worker to see where your resources might be located.

Sub-pages under each tab also offer selected primary and secondary source bibliographies.

If you need more help, please ask the Performing Arts Librarian.

Classification Numbers for Saxophone Music

M105–M109  Saxophone alone:
     M105      Collections (more than one composer)
     M106      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M107      Original works: Separate works
     M108      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M109     Arrangements: Separate works
 M268–M269  Saxophone with piano accompaniment:
     M268      Collections
     M269      Separate works
 M288–M289  Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds):
     M288      Collections
     M289      Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M296–M297  Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument
 M315–M319  Piano and two wind instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
 M355–M359  Three wind instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M375–M379  Three wind and plucked instruments

 

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see the full classification schedule.

Concertos and similar pieces:

 M1034.S4  Saxophone with orchestra, full scores
 M1034.5 .S4  Cadenzas for such works
 M1035.S4  Saxophone with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1134.S4  Saxophone with string orchestra, full scores
 M1134.5 .S4  Cadenzas for such works
 M1135.S4  Saxophone with string orchestra, piano reductions

     

Saxophone studies and methods:

 MT500  General works
 MT502  Systems and methods
 MT503  Teaching pieces
 MT504  Instructive editions
 MT505  Studies and exercises
 MT506  Orchestral studies
 MT507  Two saxophones
 MT508  Self-instructors
 MT510  Other instruments of the saxophone family

Subject Headings for Saxophone Music

(for subject searches in Library Search or WorldCat)

Solo saxophone music: sonatas (saxophone)suites (saxophone)variations (saxophone); etc.; saxophone music
Music for saxophone and piano: rondos (saxophone and piano)sonatas (saxophone and piano)suites (saxophone and piano)variations (saxophone and piano); etc.; saxophone and piano music
Duets: saxophone music (saxophone (2))

bassoon and saxophone musicflute and saxophone musichorn and saxophone musicoboe and saxophone musichorn and saxophone music; etc.

Trios: woodwind trios (saxophone, oboe, flute)

(or other combinations)

wind trios [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]; e.g., wind trios (saxophone, trombone, trumpet)

Quartets: woodwind quartets[various combinations];

also suites [various combinations of instruments]; variations [various combinations of instruments]; etc.

wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations];

also suitesvariations, etc.

Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.

Saxophone and Orchestra: concertos (saxophone)

concertos (saxophone) — solo with piano

saxophone with orchestra

rondos (saxophone with orchestra)

Search Music Scores

Selected Bibliography

Cottrell, Stephen. The Saxophone.  New Haven: Yale University Press, 2012. Available Online

Fridorich, Edwin. "The Saxophone: A Study of its Use in Symphonic and Operatic Literature." Ed.D. thesis, Columbia University, 1975. 

Hemke, Fred. “The Early History of the Saxophone.” D.M.A. thesis, University of Wisconsin, 1975. 

Ingham, Richard (ed.). The Cambridge Companion to the Saxophone. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1998. 

Londeix, Jean-Marie, and Bruce Ronkin. A Comprehensive Guide to the Saxophone Repertoire, 1844-2003. Cherry Hill, NJ: Roncorp, 2003. PAC Ref. ML 128.S247 L62 2003

Skinner, Douglas D. The Saxophone Handbook: A Complete Guide to Tone, Technique, Performance and Maintenance.  Boston, MA: Berklee Press, 2013. PAC MT 500 S628S3

Classification Numbers for Books about the Saxophone

Ref. ML128 .S247  Saxophone bibliographies
 ML975  General works
 ML976  Construction
 ML978  Music and playing